Wrecking Ball

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2012
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
Buy On
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    60
    Wrecking Ball feels cumbersome and top heavy, Springsteen sacrificing impassioned rage in favor of explaining his intentions too clearly.
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    59
    The production isn't a disaster, but most of the stylistic flourishes can feel gimmicky or, at worst, like dry history lessons... There's also the tugging sense that Springsteen and Aniello are trying to cover up some of the album's lackluster songwriting.
  3. Mar 1, 2012
    60
    Wrecking Ball could've been great but was derailed by unnecessary gimmicks.
  4. Mar 6, 2012
    40
    Written from the perspective of a demolished stadium, it's broad and disappointingly simple, wallowing in cheap nostalgia and chummy good feelings.
  5. Mar 5, 2012
    60
    If that presentation doesn't always hit the mark, the sentiment behind it often does, and the album never completely derails.
  6. 60
    It's got plenty of ups and downs.
  7. 60
    You want this record to sell by the barrowload, but you might not actually want to play it that often.
  8. Wrecking Ball is an album that will reinforce most everyone's preexisting opinion of The Boss, whether they be good or bad.
  9. Wrecking Ball is as surgical as a ball of pig-iron on a swinging chain.
  10. Mar 5, 2012
    50
    He's written some resonant songs. But he lost his nerve as a coproducer, going for stadium bombast instead of the unadorned grit these stories of hard times demand.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 6 out of 26
  1. MES
    Mar 7, 2012
    10
    I've followed Springsteen from many years and admittedly liked his earlier records more than his recent ones. Magic represented a return toI've followed Springsteen from many years and admittedly liked his earlier records more than his recent ones. Magic represented a return to form. Working on a Dream was one step back (Lead off with 'Outlaw Pete'? Really?). But he's taken two strong steps forward with Wrecking Ball. These are very substantial songs. Beautifully crafted. He's experimenting with some interesting new sounds and perhaps, as been suggested by others, borrowing from Arcade Fire who admit to having borrowed from him. Perhaps there's something to musical incest. Nonetheless, this album requires at least four listenings before its magic hits you like a, well, like a wrecking ball. Powerful stuff. Full Review »
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Bruce Springsteen made a great record, I like the music, the lyrics and the fact that is always pushing himself to try something new in isBruce Springsteen made a great record, I like the music, the lyrics and the fact that is always pushing himself to try something new in is music. Thanks Bruce see you soon!!!! Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    This is the liveliest "solo" Springsteen album I have heard. Nice mixture of his recent "Seeger Sessions" influences mixed into his EThis is the liveliest "solo" Springsteen album I have heard. Nice mixture of his recent "Seeger Sessions" influences mixed into his E Street sound. Reading the lyrics,once can see where the perception that this is an angry album comes from. I also think it is ultimately a hopeful one. Will be looking forward to seeing these songs being played by the E Street Band. They will be missing Tom Morello's masterfulplaying but I am confident Nils Lofgren and Bruce will fill in the gaps! I would rank this in his top 5, along with (in no order) Darkness, Tunnel of Love, Born to Run, and the Live LP! Full Review »