Wrecking Ball - Bruce Springsteen
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    The most despairing, confrontational and musically turbulent album Bruce Springsteen has ever made.
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    100
    Wrecking Ball is a work of commanding range and masterful execution.
  3. 100
    [Wrecking Ball is] unquestionably his most potent album so far this century.
  4. It's protest music, damn right about moral abstractions rather than those finely limned characters good little aesthetes get gooey about, and for me a cathartic up.
  5. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    More than anything, Wrecking Ball is a record with heart.
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    90
    He's never sounded quite so bitter as he does on Wrecking Ball.
  7. The musicianship and songwriting is easily on par with Magic and exceeds the output on Working On A Dream, and as a whole, Wrecking Ball stacks up considerably with The Rising, which to this day I consider a top-5 Springsteen album.
  8. Mar 6, 2012
    90
    The richest, most dynamic album to the legend's name in decades.
  9. 90
    Bruce Springsteen's Wrecking Ball is that rare release that manages to fulfill, defy, and exceed expectations all at once.
  10. Mar 5, 2012
    90
    Message aside and from a purely musical standpoint, the new album is Springsteen's most enjoyable and freshest-sounding in ages.
  11. Apr 26, 2012
    89
    Wrecking Ball spins Springsteen's most focused work since 2002's The Rising and most defiant and hooky since 1984's Born in the U.S.A.
  12. Mar 6, 2012
    83
    At its best, Wrecking Ball follows the model of 2006's ramshackle hootenanny, We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions, where Springsteen took dusty folk songs and blew them the hell out to the cheap seats.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. MES
    Mar 7, 2012
    10
    I've followed Springsteen from many years and admittedly liked his earlier records more than his recent ones. Magic represented a return to form. Working on a Dream was one step back (Lead off with 'Outlaw Pete'? Really?). But he's taken two strong steps forward with Wrecking Ball. These are very substantial songs. Beautifully crafted. He's experimenting with some interesting new sounds and perhaps, as been suggested by others, borrowing from Arcade Fire who admit to having borrowed from him. Perhaps there's something to musical incest. Nonetheless, this album requires at least four listenings before its magic hits you like a, well, like a wrecking ball. Powerful stuff. Full Review »
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Bruce Springsteen made a great record, I like the music, the lyrics and the fact that is always pushing himself to try something new in is music. Thanks Bruce see you soon!!!! Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    This is the liveliest "solo" Springsteen album I have heard. Nice mixture of his recent "Seeger Sessions" influences mixed into his E Street sound. Reading the lyrics,once can see where the perception that this is an angry album comes from. I also think it is ultimately a hopeful one. Will be looking forward to seeing these songs being played by the E Street Band. They will be missing Tom Morello's masterfulplaying but I am confident Nils Lofgren and Bruce will fill in the gaps! I would rank this in his top 5, along with (in no order) Darkness, Tunnel of Love, Born to Run, and the Live LP! Full Review »