Write Me Back - R. Kelly
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 91
    Kelly's party-host earnestness is far more infectious than his three-way scenarios ever were.
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    80
    Although the flagrantly throwback Motown numbers are a bit warmed over, the album shines when Kelly blends his old-school approach with his modern club killa persona.
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    He delivers deceptively subtle music that retains all of the singer's seductive charms and inimitable style.
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    Write Me Back won't totally please R Kelly fans who crave the silly pleasures of Trapped In The Closet, but it is without doubt an excellent record.
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    His relaxed intonation shows a talent that doesn't need to be stretched to the limit to produce its best work.
  6. 80
    For all his production skills, he remains first and foremost a vocal stylist of considerable ability.
  7. Jun 26, 2012
    75
    The lived-in uplift of Write Me Back finds him at a perfect sweet spot of nostalgia and modern skill.
  8. Jun 25, 2012
    75
    Listeners may find themselves toggling between questioning Kelly's sincerity and admiring his facility as a producer and singer.
  9. Jul 10, 2012
    70
    Sometimes the best results, though, come when Kelly drops the exercise completely.
  10. 70
    With the release of his 11th studio album, Write Me Back, Kelly has found a balance between both sensibilities, and forged an album that's a definitive career landmark.
  11. Jun 29, 2012
    70
    The duology of Love Letter and Write Me Back has been his most soulful and inspired work since Chocolate Factory.
  12. Jun 27, 2012
    70
    Write Me Back proves that Kelly's mode throughout Love Letter was no fluke.
  13. Jun 26, 2012
    70
    It's virtuoso pastiche – but Kelly's Seventies are freakier than your dad's.
  14. Jul 3, 2012
    67
    Write Me Back isn't groundbreaking, even for Kelly, but the territory it does cover is glossy and confetti-strewn.
  15. Jul 2, 2012
    65
    Kelly seems to have breezed through the writing and recording process here, and there's a fine line between breezy and half-assed.
  16. Jul 27, 2012
    60
    If you're it the mood for a trawl through R&B's greatest hits delivered on R. Kelly's own terms, if not always in his own style, that's just how you'll like it. [Aug 2012, p.101]
  17. Jun 28, 2012
    40
    This-porridge-is-just-right uptempo mush.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    I wanted to review this R Kelly cd before reviewing his new one, Black Panties This cd is a ten out of ten for me old school R&B, rhythmic,I wanted to review this R Kelly cd before reviewing his new one, Black Panties This cd is a ten out of ten for me old school R&B, rhythmic, sing a long, fun, and wonderful vocals it is one of my favorite, uplifting cd's. Full Review »
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    8
    Na atual situação do mercado fonográfico, me refiro particularmente ao lado artistico, ver um artísta se manterNa atual situação do mercado fonográfico, me refiro particularmente ao lado artistico, ver um artísta se manter fiel ao que ele é de verdade é edificante. E ver que essa escolha resulta em um trabalho como em Write Me Back do cantor R. Kelly é maravilhoso.

    Conhecido nos anos '90 principalmente com o mega sucesso I Believe I Can Fly, R.Kelly não apenas se mantém fiel ao R&B que o fez famoso, mas faz um visita ao passado do soul music em um álbum excepcional. Aqui ele busca suas influências no R&B dos anos '70 misturando com um pouco de pop para dar liga em algumas canções mais agitadas. Com sua produção em todas as músicas ele continua a mostrar seu talento como produtor ao criar canções com batidas já ouvidas, mas em nenhum momento deixa elas datadas ou moderninhas demais. Eu poderia ouvir Ray Charles, Stevie Wonder, Aretha Franklin e até mesmo Michael Jackson gravando algumas das canções nas décadas passadas ou mesmo nos dias de hoje. R.Kelly é um cantor exemplar. Mesmo longe de genialidades vocais ele consegue um desempenho sólido, poderoso e alguns momentos excepcionas. Sempre falando de amor e como compositor de todas as canções (apenas três tem compositores adicionais), ele poderia ter indo mais fundo em outros assuntos que fizeram o estilo uma arma de conscientização social. Contudo, a várias canções com letras ótimas que combinadas com a produção refinada de R.Kelly resultam em canções memoráveis como em Love Is (com forte influência da canção Love is in the Air), All Rounds On Me com toques de rock soul, a romântica When a Man Lies, a genial Fool for You e no single Feelin' Single (resenha a seguir). Quem disse que bons tempos não voltam? Ok, eles não voltam, mas podem ser lembrados da melhor maneira.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    Album that definitely matches up to his other albums providing a solid overall album. Contains the classic loves songs everyone enjoys alongAlbum that definitely matches up to his other albums providing a solid overall album. Contains the classic loves songs everyone enjoys along with under control party songs. Full Review »