User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    3
    "Young Folks" is a fabulous track: wonderful instrumentals, great vocals, and one of the catchiest choruses I've ever heard. Unfortunately, nothing else on this album comes anywhere close to matching that elite standard.
  2. OrlandoC
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    Wow! OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!! Such a great album.
  3. caitiee
    May 14, 2007
    10
    such a great album, all songs are uniquely capturing of the heart and soul. when u turn on this album, a new you is created. And youll love who youll become.
  4. GavinJ
    Feb 15, 2007
    9
    I think this is a great example of how indie pop should be. While not only able to sing along to the songs, most of them will be playing on your iPod for a long time such as Young Folks and Amsterdam.
  5. MarcH
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    Such an awesome album. You'll fall in love with it. I was actually expecting this to get a higher rating. This is a 'best of the year' contender, hands down.
  6. mikef
    Mar 3, 2007
    2
    mark me down in the music omh critic's "bored to tears" column (at risk of recalling h. danger's "...if you're bored then..." line), why all the hub-bub, bub? musical equivalent of effixor. christ, what i wouldn't do for a cup of coffe - or some musical stimulation -would make a short list. jump over to field music's town tones and hear the cuppa joe, moe.
  7. Sharif
    Mar 4, 2007
    5
    An album that uses its simplicity to convince you that its brilliant. After a month you realize the simplicity renders it boring and lackluster upon closer listen.
  8. SeanP.
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    So far to me, the best of 2007, although that may soon change when i get the new Arcade Fire which comes out tomorrow. But still, an excellent indie-rock album with solid arrangements and melodies, and most importantly, cohesion and consistency to reward an uninterrupted listen.
  9. BobbyG
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Mesmerizing!
  10. Cables
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    an early contender for album of the year. it exceeds the hype and expectations. you need to hear this album.
  11. AdilsonB
    Jun 11, 2007
    9
    A wonderful disc. Easy melodies and soft vocals with creativity and some good innovations. I just can't stop listening to...
  12. AidanM
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    An album of the year, as Dusted said, "there
  13. WillC
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    I love the single 'Young Folks' and when I purchased the album it was not a disappointment. An inch perfect pop record. I lovethe innocence of it all, top band.
  14. Alex
    Feb 15, 2007
    9
    This one grows on you very nicely. Its nice to finally have something to listen to from this year.
  15. ToddW
    Feb 23, 2007
    8
    Take a pinch from Interpol - minus the pathos and apathy - a dash from Crowded House, and a kickass rhythm section (Bjorn and John) and you get Writer's Block. This is the first stand up and take notice album of the year, a bright shiny penny in a pile of used and retreaded coins that make up most of the musical Sewerstream today. Peter Moren's vocals can be thin at times, but Take a pinch from Interpol - minus the pathos and apathy - a dash from Crowded House, and a kickass rhythm section (Bjorn and John) and you get Writer's Block. This is the first stand up and take notice album of the year, a bright shiny penny in a pile of used and retreaded coins that make up most of the musical Sewerstream today. Peter Moren's vocals can be thin at times, but there's enough in each of PB@J's arrangements to keep even the most nihilistic hipster happy nitpicking for hours. All three of these guys get involved in the writing, which makes the rhythm section stand out, as it must on all good rock offerings. It has an 60's feel with a contemporary sound. Why is most of the best music today being made outside of this country? I don't mind as long as these guys don't get a writer's block. Expand
  16. Brendan
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    If you don't consider this catchy as all hell, then you are in a comatose state and should proceed to wake yourself up.
  17. JDawg
    Feb 27, 2007
    9
    Finally, something new. Listen to it a few times and you'll be hooked.
  18. AndyM
    Mar 15, 2007
    8
    The more listens the better this gets - and ive had a least a hundred, just great feel good cd whatever mood your in
  19. PaulC
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    The more I listen to this album the better it gets. I worried that with "Young Folks" they would simply be a one hit song, but this album should be in the top 10 this year.
  20. tonys
    Feb 14, 2007
    9
    the cd has a few stand out songs, but over all the others are good too after a few listens. I really enjoyed it.
  21. [Anonymous]
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    outsanding
  22. KyleN
    Mar 14, 2007
    8
    PB & J have a unique sound
  23. LuisF
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    First time i listened to this album i didn't really like it, now i think is definetly one of 2007 best realeses very powerful album
  24. Mar 23, 2011
    8
    This is good indie pop. Writer's Block has some truly amazing tracks. The opener "Objects Of My Affection" is a wonderful song and the track following it "Young Folks" will instantly grab you with it's whistling solo that's just really catchy. All In All, Peter Bjorn & John come up with some really intricate pop melodies that will not soon escape your head. B+
  25. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    A great all-around album. While some people may think 'Young Folks' overshadows the rest, all of the songs sound are actually very catchy tracks.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Writer's Block is the work of a band at the absolute peak of its writing and performing skill.
  2. An excellent third album from the Swedish trio, Writer's Block should make sure that the group remains in obscurity no more.
  3. The album is laced with spacey, distorted guitar fuzz, delicate '60s pop melodies, groovy basslines and winsome lyrics that coalesce into a unified group of songs from start to finish. [17 Feb 2007]