X&Y

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2005
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 627 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 627

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 5, 2011
    3
    Coldplay's tendency to water down their albums with mediocre filler is most apparent on this album. While a cohesive, unified sound can work quite well in some cases, it hurts Coldplay here. This comes off as a timid effort from a band that has an aversion to genuine risk-taking.
  2. ag
    Jun 9, 2005
    0
    my previous interest in coldplay was based soley upon the song "the scientist." a little trite perhaps, particularly compared to what i normally listen to, but screw it, i loved the song. loved loved loved. bought that album, enjoyed 3 or 4 cuts almost as much, but generally felt the album was pretty spotty, which is forgiveable with such great songs thrown in. No forgiveness on this one, my previous interest in coldplay was based soley upon the song "the scientist." a little trite perhaps, particularly compared to what i normally listen to, but screw it, i loved the song. loved loved loved. bought that album, enjoyed 3 or 4 cuts almost as much, but generally felt the album was pretty spotty, which is forgiveable with such great songs thrown in. No forgiveness on this one, though. I moderately enjoyed the single and the first cut on the album, but the rest simply felt like a band who couldn't hit the songwriting side of the barn, so they dressed up all of the songs with typical coldplay things to the max. all the falsetto you can handle, as many spooky ambient synths as their recording gear let them fit (thanks, eno), and that same freaking guitar line and sound OVER and OVER; and they do this for a whole hour! it's the sound of a band missing the mark, of frustration. and, to me, that's frustrating, too, when i've seen the highs this band is capable off. Expand
  3. Craig
    Jun 11, 2005
    0
    wow, this has got to be the most over hyped album of ALL TIME. I have listened to it twice and have failed to get ANYTHING from it. It's a boring piece of crap and not one song did anything for me. 4-5 of the songs are shameless rip offs of Clocks, with that same plodding rhythm/bass line combo. Crappy melody the first time and crappy the next 5 times. The rest of the songs are wow, this has got to be the most over hyped album of ALL TIME. I have listened to it twice and have failed to get ANYTHING from it. It's a boring piece of crap and not one song did anything for me. 4-5 of the songs are shameless rip offs of Clocks, with that same plodding rhythm/bass line combo. Crappy melody the first time and crappy the next 5 times. The rest of the songs are boring piano songs with NO melody. And when i say NO melody i mean nothing. Please don't waste your money on this drivel. Expand
  4. SarahM
    Jun 6, 2005
    3
    I just cannot get into this album, no matter how much I want to. It's background music, my mind just wanders away. As a fan I'm feeling a bit let down. I expected more, I expected a step forward. This does not feel like that. The glimmer of a highlight: "Fix You".
  5. probiotic
    Jun 7, 2005
    2
    bland, unoffensive, takes very little risks. a huge step backwards for this band that started with so much promise.
  6. JerryK
    Jun 7, 2005
    1
    Another insipid collection of downer tunes to play with your lame art house girlfriend (or boyfriend). Lighten up, boys - life's short - have some fun.
  7. MartinL
    Jun 9, 2005
    0
    What a pile of gick,only good if you want to jump off a building.
  8. bobby
    Jun 9, 2005
    1
    yawn....zzzzzzz.....
  9. JamesF
    Aug 27, 2005
    3
    I usually try to provide a little more explanation than this when I reject a record, but this was just really really really boring. It doesn't really invite any further scrutiny. The second CD was better.
  10. Kenny
    Sep 3, 2005
    3
    This is a huge disapointment. The lyrcis are so crappy and they're all cliches (Every step that you take/Could be yourbiggest mistake/It could bend or it could break/ But that's the risk that you take). Pure crap! And the transition into a more electronic style is pathetic (prob trying to be compared again with Radiohead). They should stick with they're old stuff.
  11. JessK
    Jun 10, 2005
    0
    Yuck! You will immediately forget this album after hearing. THE most pedestrian stuff I've heard in a while.
  12. jessp
    Jun 18, 2005
    0
    i love so much colplay but this new album is horrible i don't like because is too seem at them old albums
  13. MorganC
    Jun 26, 2005
    3
    This album could be called "Coldplay Takes No Chances" or "Empty, Slice-of-Life Platitudes" and the the single that's a total rehash of "Clocks" is unforgiveable.
  14. KatyK
    Jun 20, 2005
    0
    What an ugly piece of work. Yikes!
  15. HollisH
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    If by saying: "This is the album we've all been waiting for..." You really mean: "Here's a boring album for you! Please don't buy it!" Or: "I waited for 15 years to hear my father tell me he loved me and all I got was this stupid album." Then I would agree with you;.
  16. Carrie
    Jun 7, 2005
    3
    I am pretty disappointed. None of the magic is there. Its a tired re-hash ... as if they were struggling to remember what made them great. They sound uninspired ... almost as if they were boring themselves, even, in the studio. I miss Parachutes.
  17. JenniN.
    Jun 7, 2005
    2
    I just bought it today...loved the other two albums...this one is BAD. The one exception is "Speed of Sound." The other songs are def. reworked 80's music (hints of New Order) but are redone in a monotonous, redundant fashion with predictable lyrics. I was going to buy tix to their concert for this Sept., but I think I have changed my mind. Not worth the $17... :(
  18. ElliottM
    Jun 8, 2005
    2
    This album is concrete evidence that Coldplay are only capable of turning a small number of ideas into songs. From the first listen to 'Speed of Sound,' I was sure I was listening to an alternate version of 'Clocks;' the piano melodies were just TOO similar to be different songs entirely. Sadly, I was wrong. Furthermore, the rest of the album is just as derivative: This album is concrete evidence that Coldplay are only capable of turning a small number of ideas into songs. From the first listen to 'Speed of Sound,' I was sure I was listening to an alternate version of 'Clocks;' the piano melodies were just TOO similar to be different songs entirely. Sadly, I was wrong. Furthermore, the rest of the album is just as derivative: "X&Y" more than anything showcases Coldplay ripping off of Coldplay. A very disappointing, even irritating album. Expand
  19. LeoS.
    Jun 8, 2005
    0
    Anyone, and I do mean ANYONE who gave this album a score over 3 has not yet heard the album. It's so bad that it doesn't exist.
  20. PaulK
    Jun 8, 2005
    3
    This album is unflappable and repititous; not Coldplay's best by far. There are little dynamic undertakings, the lyrics are poorly thought out and do not match the tone of the music. Listen to Parachutes or even Rush of Blood and you will find much more of that. Perhaps even some of their EPs! Alas, Coldplay has let this listener down, at least this time.
  21. sedm
    Jun 9, 2005
    3
    b sides
  22. JamesH
    Jul 6, 2005
    0
    X&Y = ZZzzzz very disapointed with this album it is sooo sooo boring.
  23. BobS
    Aug 16, 2005
    2
    If coldplay's head gets any bigger people are going to have evacuate from the island. This cd is awful. The coldplay genre is lame , unexciting , and dying quickly. Once Chris martin hits puberty then maybe the band will be able to mature.
  24. EmilyM.
    Aug 29, 2005
    0
    I agree with Bob S. The lead singer sounds like someone just kicked him in the nuts. His voice is like nails on a chalk board and Coldplay's lyrics are cheesey and some just don't make any sense! Hopefully, coldplay will die out.
  25. PhilT
    Sep 19, 2005
    2
    This album is cliched, sentimental and formulaic. The more I listen the more annoyed I become. This isn't the greatness it should/could have been.
  26. JessR
    Jun 6, 2005
    0
    Utter crapola. Thanks for nothing, guys.
  27. craphead
    Jun 6, 2005
    0
    I don't even have have to listen to this crappy band to know that they suck, and generic brit pop, and the only reason they're being successful is because mtv and the media is pushing this crap and its pre-emptive hail as the band of our time is total utter bs, why does crappy music have to be made? Why?
  28. ElvisP
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    Uninspiring, boring, and trite. Another greedy corporate rock puppet.
  29. JohnB
    Jun 7, 2005
    3
    Skullcrushingly dull album, I'm afraid. Martin's lyrics have gone from oblique to bonecrushingly obvious, and matters are made worse by the thick layers of bombast added to every song. Yow. Supposedly they wrote sixty songs for this album. Martin presumably still knows how to write a song. Perhaps in the rejected ones there's an interesting album.
  30. IanH
    Jun 8, 2005
    3
    Not as good as rush of blood to the head
  31. abern
    Jul 24, 2005
    0
    They are being touted to be the next U2 of the new generation....thats correct...just like the veteran counterparts without any hesitation they could be their three albums and call it X & Y and nobody will see the difference...the same formula...grand, lush and boring...if they are a good band they should come up with good ideas than recycle the same shit. dissappointing
  32. RobL
    Sep 7, 2005
    0
    There is nothing worse than boring music, and Coldplay is bordom distilled. Perhaps the most absurdly overblown band in history.
  33. JohnN
    May 16, 2006
    3
    My God this may be the most boring sleep inducing album ever after the excellent Rush of blood to the head they release this rubbish on the world and like U2 and the RHCP no matter how bad it is people will still pretend they like it and anyone who gives it a 10 is a stone cold lying to themselves.
  34. sedm
    Jun 15, 2005
    1
    b sides
  35. Thom
    Jun 22, 2005
    0
    Blender give this 100 and then give Foo Fighters 60 and claim they are dull, Blender, you really suck big time.
  36. tsuede
    Jul 18, 2005
    0
    worst album of the year . so boring . chris martin's not a good song writer . all songs copy of U2 , mercury rev and radiohead .
  37. TFletcher
    Aug 14, 2005
    1
    I can sum up X&Y in six words: an imitation of U2 and Radiohead. John Buckland is the biggest rip off I think I've ever heard. He's just capitalising off a sound The Edge perfected over many years. This whole album is a load of boring shite. "Fix You" is the worst song of this year, by far. Don't buy this album, it's a waste of money. "Twisted Logic" and "X&Y" are I can sum up X&Y in six words: an imitation of U2 and Radiohead. John Buckland is the biggest rip off I think I've ever heard. He's just capitalising off a sound The Edge perfected over many years. This whole album is a load of boring shite. "Fix You" is the worst song of this year, by far. Don't buy this album, it's a waste of money. "Twisted Logic" and "X&Y" are probably just about the only good songs on it. If you want to buy some good albums, pick up "The Unforgettable Fire" by U2 (this is the album Coldplay have been trying to recreate on AROBTTH and X&Y) "Achtung Baby" by U2, "The Bends" by Radiohead, and "OK Computer" by Radiohead. These are actually GOOD albums. Don't be fooled by the imitators. Coldplay are nothing more than a bland version of U2 and Radiohead combined. Can't believe everyone's falling for the act. Expand
  38. RBrown
    Mar 14, 2006
    3
    passive. Would be sleep inducing if it weren't irritatingly whiny.
  39. JK
    Dec 19, 2005
    0
    GACK!!!!! i hate coldplay... 100% yawn-fest.... k thats all
  40. ixata
    May 6, 2007
    3
    typical coldplay sound, very ambitious butnever reaches its goal. and martin's voice is just too painful, all the falsettos, and stuffs.. speed of sound is the only bright moment here.. others, shud be made renditions instead
  41. IbanL
    Oct 5, 2006
    0
    Unforgivably bad. They try to exploit the same modus operandi over and over again, showing that they've got run out of ideas, if they someday had any. Avoiding this could be a great idea.
  42. ErwinK
    Jun 7, 2007
    2
    Just plain dreary. Alternative musak. There is no way they are going to topple U2 - U2 have at least totally re-invented themselves a number of times. Coldplay have moved nowhere in almost ten years... their music still sounds like Starbucks.
  43. Jun 21, 2011
    2
    Before this album, I was a massive Coldplay fan. This was a HUGE disappointment! Fame clearly went to their heads and they thought they could release any sappy nursery rhyme and the world would eat it up. Unfortunately, that's what happened. Honestly, I can't tell if they were trying too hard or too little with this album.

    I've come back to this album several times, months apart, and
    Before this album, I was a massive Coldplay fan. This was a HUGE disappointment! Fame clearly went to their heads and they thought they could release any sappy nursery rhyme and the world would eat it up. Unfortunately, that's what happened. Honestly, I can't tell if they were trying too hard or too little with this album.

    I've come back to this album several times, months apart, and get nauseous with all but two tracks: White Shadows and Speed of Sound. Those are more what I expected from the album, earning it the two points I give it. No I didn't give up hope on Coldplay, and think they've redeemed themselves with 'Viva la Vida'. Let's only hope that 'The Bakery' delivers, as well ...
    Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Blender
    100
    [Coldplay] have made their masterpiece. [Jun 2005, p.112]
  2. Confident, bold, ambitious, bunged with singles and impossible to contain, ‘X&Y’ doesn’t reinvent the wheel but it does reinforce Coldplay as the band of their time.
  3. They have chosen to opt for the standard formula: it's elegiac, mid-tempo, stadium-friendly ballads all the way.