Yellow & Green - Baroness
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 2 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    I love Red album and Blue record. New stuff is different, but as good as older records. Best songs: Take my bones away, Psalms Alive, The Line Between
  2. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    I am absurdly pleased with this album. The songs flow together beautifully and balance the dynamics of heavy and melodic to perfection. Only a fool would pigeon hole this band as metal after the metamorphosis that was Red and Blue. They are musicians that are evolving as they learn about themselves, the world, and what it means to grow. They are far from stale and have not gone soft.I am absurdly pleased with this album. The songs flow together beautifully and balance the dynamics of heavy and melodic to perfection. Only a fool would pigeon hole this band as metal after the metamorphosis that was Red and Blue. They are musicians that are evolving as they learn about themselves, the world, and what it means to grow. They are far from stale and have not gone soft. They have simply taken the next step too many musicians these days are afraid to make. Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This album took me a few listens, because I was expecting some more of the same Baroness that I know and love. Overall, it is a very mellow record for them. Baizley has certainly cleaned up the vocals, and the backing vocals stand out a lot more. There are some very nice instrumental moments, some great heavy moments, but overall it is a very enjoyable listen. In a year where I've been letThis album took me a few listens, because I was expecting some more of the same Baroness that I know and love. Overall, it is a very mellow record for them. Baizley has certainly cleaned up the vocals, and the backing vocals stand out a lot more. There are some very nice instrumental moments, some great heavy moments, but overall it is a very enjoyable listen. In a year where I've been let down by a lot of albums that I've been looking forward to, this does not disappoint. Just buy it, crank it up, and enjoy the ride. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2012
    6
    Some nice metal moments and trademark neo-medieval ballads scattered throughout, but runs out of steam somewhere near the end of the first disk. I don't care that Baroness has moved even further from their.metal roots, in fact, it's their innovative transgression of metal boundaries that makes them so great. But too much of this album sounds like uninspired 90s alternative. It's betterSome nice metal moments and trademark neo-medieval ballads scattered throughout, but runs out of steam somewhere near the end of the first disk. I don't care that Baroness has moved even further from their.metal roots, in fact, it's their innovative transgression of metal boundaries that makes them so great. But too much of this album sounds like uninspired 90s alternative. It's better than a lot of crap that will be released this year, but by Baroness standards, I'd say it's a disappointment. Expand
  5. Sep 13, 2012
    8
    All I can say is two albums for the price of one. While I only liked two songs on the Green Album I loved every song on the yellow album, making it another success in my opinion. If the two albums were released separately I'd have a different opinion but seeing as they coupled the two I really like the new album(s).
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    This is by no means a bad album. In fact, it's quite an enjoyable listen. Above anything, I found it...simply....odd. There are many contrasting and/or conflicting ideas happening, often times within a single track. Baizley has gone many new places vocally, singing beautifully clean in some places, and nearing his trademark howl in others. Baroness' dueling guitars still remain prevalentThis is by no means a bad album. In fact, it's quite an enjoyable listen. Above anything, I found it...simply....odd. There are many contrasting and/or conflicting ideas happening, often times within a single track. Baizley has gone many new places vocally, singing beautifully clean in some places, and nearing his trademark howl in others. Baroness' dueling guitars still remain prevalent and welcome, but they are often used in the strangest of places. Often times, it seems as if they were added just because the band felt obligated to add some pizzazz to an otherwise simple hard rock tune. Overall, the Yellow/Green formula works moderately well, but there are a few red flags flying at places down the road. Expand
  7. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    At first listen, Yellow & Green seems to have the essence of a slightly muddled and anomalous experimental creation when compared to the previous servings of Baroness, and it will be a flavour that some diehards won't like or expect. Some experimental sounds just stay experimental no matter how many times you listen, Storm Corrosion as one classic example. But gradually, the more youAt first listen, Yellow & Green seems to have the essence of a slightly muddled and anomalous experimental creation when compared to the previous servings of Baroness, and it will be a flavour that some diehards won't like or expect. Some experimental sounds just stay experimental no matter how many times you listen, Storm Corrosion as one classic example. But gradually, the more you listen to Yellow & Green, experimental actually gives way to invention, artistry and purpose, and suddenly it becomes a ripened sound that gives the impression that Baroness have blended and bottled all of their previous work, and stored it away in a dark cellar, and just waited for it to age, mellow and mature before opening it. Yellow & Green is a full bodied, rich and flavoursome album that gives the listener an audible delicacy, that leaves behind a lingering bittersweet aftertaste that definitely has you coming back for another swig. Yellow & Green. Best served with time. Expand
  8. Aug 2, 2012
    2
    While this double album was easily the most anticipated release of this year, Yellow and Green fizzled like stale sprite.Some call this style progressive, mellow and other words that just mask what this album really is.
    It is a boring mediocre record from a great band, it reeks of filler, guidance of production and Nickelback influenced **** rock.I habe the double vinyl pre release and
    While this double album was easily the most anticipated release of this year, Yellow and Green fizzled like stale sprite.Some call this style progressive, mellow and other words that just mask what this album really is.
    It is a boring mediocre record from a great band, it reeks of filler, guidance of production and Nickelback influenced **** rock.I habe the double vinyl pre release and while the layout and artwork are supreme...
    That doesn't justify the total lack of rock inside said package.I am bothered by the fact that this polished turd of an album was ever considered a good idea from anyone in the Baroness camp. Maybe the other guys were too afraid to speak up in fear they would also be replaced? All in all its the greatest rock n roll swindle in quite some time.
    Expand
  9. Sep 25, 2012
    6
    While this album will probably win more new fans than lose old ones, it no doubt lacks the "metal" appeal of Red and Blue. Somewhat bloated as a double album, one gets the feeling that there's a bit of filler watering down what could have been a much stronger single album. Compared to the vocal muscle and guitar madness on songs like "Isaak" and "Rays of Pinion," a song like "March toWhile this album will probably win more new fans than lose old ones, it no doubt lacks the "metal" appeal of Red and Blue. Somewhat bloated as a double album, one gets the feeling that there's a bit of filler watering down what could have been a much stronger single album. Compared to the vocal muscle and guitar madness on songs like "Isaak" and "Rays of Pinion," a song like "March to the Sea" sounds like Nickelback. And though I thought I'd never have to mention these two bands in the same sentence, I sadly just did. Baroness is still "good," but no longer "great." Expand
  10. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very bold direction for the band, but one I absolutely adore. Yellow begins with a slow, instrumental medley, followed by the major single Take My Bones Away, which kicks you onto the floor with it's power. Cocainium starts mellow but turns into one of the grooviest things you've ever heard. Yellow ends with Eula, a 7 minute affair of bliss, almost making you want to cry at the end. Green starts off with the powerful Green Theme and Board up the House, before dissolving into pure beauty on MTNS., Foolsong, Collapse and Psalms Alive. Stretchmaker fuzes in country elements (don't scream just yet, it sounds amazing). The Line Between gives one last kick before If I Forget Thee, Lowcountry seals off the 75 minute double album with a whisper. Definitely in my top 10 albums of all time. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Aug 16, 2012
    70
    Yellow & Green is an ambitious sprawl of music from a band willing to reinvent themselves with each album.
  2. 90
    The band resorts to an 18-set record simply because everything is indisputably necessary and furthermore, solid gold.
  3. Aug 9, 2012
    80
    You can't deny how interesting some of these dynamic post-rock explorations are.