Young the Giant

Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Dec 7, 2011
    60
    There's an unquestionably seductive flow about Young the Giant's debut that's sure to lure in many wandering postmodern rock children, looking for alternatives beyond the same old blockbuster bands name-checked above.
  2. Mojo
    Aug 26, 2011
    60
    California five-piece coming soon to a stadium near you. [Sept. 2011, p. 100]
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    60
    Young the Giant are aiming for big things and they come close.
  4. Q Magazine
    Aug 19, 2011
    60
    Their debut presents tuneful, superior indie rock and bittersweet lyricism. [Sep 2011, p.119]
  5. Jul 28, 2011
    50
    Unfortunately, it's generally downhill all the way thereafter, as it becomes rapidly apparent that Young The Giant have banged out all their best songs early on and rapidly run out of ideas.
  6. Mar 2, 2011
    50
    The 12 songs on Young the Giant are well-written, well-arranged, and well-performed. It's all good material and decently catchy, but there isn't much that sets Young the Giant apart.
  7. Aug 29, 2011
    40
    Sometimes they sound like an anaemic Coldplay; at others they're a sweatier version of the Shins.
  8. Uncut
    Aug 18, 2011
    40
    Beefy but unremarkable debut album. [Sep 2011, p.105]
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. May 20, 2011
    8
    Young The Giant's debut album is wondrous. Sameer Gadhia's vocals are beyond amazing. The whole album is a pop sensation. Every track isYoung The Giant's debut album is wondrous. Sameer Gadhia's vocals are beyond amazing. The whole album is a pop sensation. Every track is catchy and you'll be humming them for quite sometime. All In All, Young The Giant's Debut album have a couple pop masterpieces. The rest are exceptional. B+ Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2017
    9
    I don't get why the critic review is so low, this is a great album. songs like cough syrup and apartment are unforgettable and Sameer's vocalsI don't get why the critic review is so low, this is a great album. songs like cough syrup and apartment are unforgettable and Sameer's vocals are superb Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    This album may not be for most people, but I personally have appreciated what this album had to offer. I mostly enjoyed the songs Garands, MyThis album may not be for most people, but I personally have appreciated what this album had to offer. I mostly enjoyed the songs Garands, My Body, and Apartment but all are worth a listen. I would not recommend this album for people that enjoy genres of the hardcore, electronic, or rap category but it is an awesome buy for people who are looking for a more mellow tune. I cant wait for Mind Over Matter. Full Review »