Yours Truly - Ariana Grande
Yours Truly Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 221 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut release for the Nickelodeon actress from Victorious and Sam & Cat was produced by Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds and includes guest appearances from Big Sean, Mac Miller, Mika, and the Wanted's Nathan Sykes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 91
    One of the most purely enjoyable albums of the year, powered by her lithe, Broadway-honed voice and a canny exploitation of her most "adult" indulgence: nostalgia.
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    86
    Ariana Grande's debut LP is a surprisingly varied affair for a 20-year-old Nickelodeon star with a devastatingly strong voice.
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    80
    Thankfully, Grande has the chops to pull it off, and Yours Truly makes the most of her talent.
  4. Sep 12, 2013
    80
    Minor missteps aside, Yours Truly is ultimately an impressive debut for Grande.
  5. 75
    This might be the most inviting pop record of 2013, with a bubbly ebullience that makes even its most familiar moves feel fresh.
  6. Yours Truly is more tempered and less likely to put you in a beaming state of catatonia.
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    65
    Yours Truly is a very safe record. Mostly written by two of R&B's most mawkish hawkers, Babyface and Harmony Samuels, it’s built on cliché and tradition, and written professionally to a fault.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 63
  2. Negative: 5 out of 63
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Ariana Grande first debut is spetacular, a strong album with great songs and Ariana's powerful voice make this one of the best album I everAriana Grande first debut is spetacular, a strong album with great songs and Ariana's powerful voice make this one of the best album I ever listening this year so far. Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    This is the best album of her! My favorite of all out there! I can not believe her powerful voice, is perfect!

    This album means a lot to
    This is the best album of her! My favorite of all out there! I can not believe her powerful voice, is perfect!

    This album means a lot to me, I don't know what to say, just feel. This album should be an inspiration to others, because they could never do anything like this.

    She's the best, I'm completely addicted to all the songs on this album, it really deserves all he could with the album!

    Best ones: Honeymoon Avenue, Tattooed Heart, Lovin 'It, The Way and Better Left Unsaid.
    Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Amazing! I loved the songs: Honeymoon Avenue, Right There ft. Big Sean, Better Left Unsaid, Piano, Lovin' It, and You'll Never Know. I alsoAmazing! I loved the songs: Honeymoon Avenue, Right There ft. Big Sean, Better Left Unsaid, Piano, Lovin' It, and You'll Never Know. I also liked Popular Song ft. Mika, Baby I, The Way, and Daydreamin'. Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2013
    9
    First off yes we get it she sounds like Mariah Carry. So don't even try to start your review with she can't sing.
    No she is no Demi Lovato
    First off yes we get it she sounds like Mariah Carry. So don't even try to start your review with she can't sing.
    No she is no Demi Lovato but yes Yours Truly is better then DEMI.

    Baby I, Piano, The Way, Honeymoon Avenue, Lovin' It, Right There, Popular Song, Almost is Never Enough, Tattooed Heart, basically every song but Better Left Unsaid are great, Yes it can sound the same after a while, but that doesn't mean they get terrible after a while. If I had to name my top 10 albums of 2012. Yours Truly, will definitely be in there probably the top 5. She and Zendaya are 2 surprising delights of this year. Yes you need to by this.
    Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    Ariana's debut album Yours Truly is truly impressive. From its incredible production to Ariana's strong vocals, this album is a winner.Ariana's debut album Yours Truly is truly impressive. From its incredible production to Ariana's strong vocals, this album is a winner. Personal favorite song: Honeymoon Avenue. Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Seu álbum debut é um R&B e pop viciantes. Soube fazer boas músicas, só não escolheu os melhores singles. Mas isso não tira a qualidade dessa obra-prima. Expand
  7. May 10, 2014
    1
    Mariah Carey. Regardless of who inspires you, one artist who copies another to the T, should not be considered an artists. Mariah Carey hasMariah Carey. Regardless of who inspires you, one artist who copies another to the T, should not be considered an artists. Mariah Carey has the most unique voice in modern pop music history and should not have been touched. Ariana Grande virtually robbed Mariah. Its not acceptable, unless pop culture blinds you, as it does the great majority (pop culture IS bias and prejudice [it matters not if one is commoner, president, professional, etc]). More so, MUSIC is much more than just vocals, and Arianas music is nothing special. Considering every aspect, then, Arianas music is a 4 or 5 of ten at best. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews