Zonoscope - Cut Copy
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    Consistency/innovative/dance-rock inspiring electro pop. Cut Copy is 3 for 3 on career albums and Zonoscope adds a great topping to the trilogy of musical euphoria. If you were expecting In Ghost Colours part 2 with hit after hit, CC responded with this new record full of organic new sounds and they passed with flying colours.
  2. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    More dance and less rock than previous albums, but I think this is the best cut copy album yet, and well worth a listen. They won't lose any old fans with this album, and I think they will gain new fans as well. Only complaint is some songs go very long with little change in the repetition, but all the better to dance to at your end of the world party right?
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    Is this as good as "In Ghost Colours"? No. But that in no way means that this is a bad release by any means. There most definitely is a 80's synth vibe going on and I think they hit the mark for the most part. It's tough for a sophomore album to stand out when the debut release was so strong but that being said I think they hit the nail on the head.
  4. Apr 26, 2011
    9
    doesn't have the rock/dance feel that made 'In Ghost Colors' so good but an awesome album in its own right. A lot of depth and so many good songs with great progression.
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    You'll be mindblowed since the first note of "Need You Now" and the effects' fade-out on the epic "Sun God". These songs are more drawn to the experimentalism from Animal Collective, but it still got some great dance songs, such as "Blink And You'll Miss The Revolution" and "Corner Of The Sky". But the pop songs are worth mentioning too, like "Alisa" and "Where I'm Going".
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. May 2, 2011
    60
    Take Me Over makes a misplaced attempt at funk, which grates slightly, but it's hard to dislike the well tuned synths and dreamy choruses of tracks such as Hanging Onto Every Heartbeat. [Apr 2011, p.101]
  2. Apr 13, 2011
    40
    This is departure lounge pop--antiseptic, pleasant, with Photoshopped pics of exotic locales scattered around, but none of the hedonism of actually being there. [May 2011, p.82]
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    72
    Cut Copy thrives when the ingredients are simple: melody, voice and its influences interpreted.