User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    You'll be mindblowed since the first note of "Need You Now" and the effects' fade-out on the epic "Sun God". These songs are more drawn to the experimentalism from Animal Collective, but it still got some great dance songs, such as "Blink And You'll Miss The Revolution" and "Corner Of The Sky". But the pop songs are worth mentioning too, like "Alisa" and "Where I'm Going".
  2. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    More dance and less rock than previous albums, but I think this is the best cut copy album yet, and well worth a listen. They won't lose any old fans with this album, and I think they will gain new fans as well. Only complaint is some songs go very long with little change in the repetition, but all the better to dance to at your end of the world party right?
  3. Mar 10, 2011
    7
    Well...I had a lot of trouble making it through this album. It's pretty bland/boring, and no one song really jumps out. I suppose it would make good background music (noise) but other than that I think they lack spark and energy.
  4. Jun 20, 2011
    7
    Each song on its own is great but together i think there's a bit too much variation, jumping from one style and influence to another in quick succession. Sure, some of the great records are incredibly variable, but they don't change so abruptly and fuse their influences better than Cut Copy have done. Some superb songs though such as Take Me Over, Where I'm Going, Need You Now and BlinkEach song on its own is great but together i think there's a bit too much variation, jumping from one style and influence to another in quick succession. Sure, some of the great records are incredibly variable, but they don't change so abruptly and fuse their influences better than Cut Copy have done. Some superb songs though such as Take Me Over, Where I'm Going, Need You Now and Blink And You'll Miss A Revolution. Expand
  5. Dec 24, 2011
    7
    This album was Cut copy's next step out of their lets-bring-disco-back phase. Let's just say nostalgia doesn't necessarily mean good. I've always enjoyed Dan Whitford's vocals which persuaded me to purchase this album. I'm not going to say it was great because I only enjoyed the unique synthetic noises used throughout these tracks. I think it's safe to say Cut-Copy was a lot moreThis album was Cut copy's next step out of their lets-bring-disco-back phase. Let's just say nostalgia doesn't necessarily mean good. I've always enjoyed Dan Whitford's vocals which persuaded me to purchase this album. I'm not going to say it was great because I only enjoyed the unique synthetic noises used throughout these tracks. I think it's safe to say Cut-Copy was a lot more experimental with this album in comparison to "In Ghost Colours". Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2011
    4
    After the stellar dance-rock album "In Ghost Colours", I guess they decided to phone this one in. It is so soaked in all the left over, 80's synth garbage (OMD, New Order and Depeche Mode) that no one has bothered to meddle in to this point, leaving the entire venture pretty stale. Certainly there are a few dance-able tracks here and there, yet there is minimal to no rock influences thisAfter the stellar dance-rock album "In Ghost Colours", I guess they decided to phone this one in. It is so soaked in all the left over, 80's synth garbage (OMD, New Order and Depeche Mode) that no one has bothered to meddle in to this point, leaving the entire venture pretty stale. Certainly there are a few dance-able tracks here and there, yet there is minimal to no rock influences this time around and most of all, the tone and tempo of leader singer Whitford's vocals are beyond boring. I've always felt their previous work sounded extremely spontaneous, fun and still provided uniquely interesting structures like no one else; "Zonoscope" shows another side of Cut Copy: unimaginative, non-unique and flat. Better luck next time... Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    Is this as good as "In Ghost Colours"? No. But that in no way means that this is a bad release by any means. There most definitely is a 80's synth vibe going on and I think they hit the mark for the most part. It's tough for a sophomore album to stand out when the debut release was so strong but that being said I think they hit the nail on the head.
  8. Jun 23, 2011
    7
    The album feels forced in a number of areas. One example of this is the presence of tropical percussion instruments in several songs; these instruments end up sounding like clutter in most of the songs they appear in, with one notable exception being "Corner of the Sky." The strongest parts of the album make extensive use of electronic/synth sounds and instruments, while the weakest partsThe album feels forced in a number of areas. One example of this is the presence of tropical percussion instruments in several songs; these instruments end up sounding like clutter in most of the songs they appear in, with one notable exception being "Corner of the Sky." The strongest parts of the album make extensive use of electronic/synth sounds and instruments, while the weakest parts make use of sounds and instruments that are more "organic" (e.g. guitar, tropical percussion instruments, etc.). The best song on the album is "Pharaohs and Pyramids," but "Where I'm Going," "Hanging Onto Every Heartbeat," "Corner of the Sky," and "Sun God" are all relatively strong compared to the other songs on the album. Expand
  9. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    Consistency/innovative/dance-rock inspiring electro pop. Cut Copy is 3 for 3 on career albums and Zonoscope adds a great topping to the trilogy of musical euphoria. If you were expecting In Ghost Colours part 2 with hit after hit, CC responded with this new record full of organic new sounds and they passed with flying colours.
  10. Apr 26, 2011
    9
    doesn't have the rock/dance feel that made 'In Ghost Colors' so good but an awesome album in its own right. A lot of depth and so many good songs with great progression.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. May 2, 2011
    60
    Take Me Over makes a misplaced attempt at funk, which grates slightly, but it's hard to dislike the well tuned synths and dreamy choruses of tracks such as Hanging Onto Every Heartbeat. [Apr 2011, p.101]
  2. Apr 13, 2011
    40
    This is departure lounge pop--antiseptic, pleasant, with Photoshopped pics of exotic locales scattered around, but none of the hedonism of actually being there. [May 2011, p.82]
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    72
    Cut Copy thrives when the ingredients are simple: melody, voice and its influences interpreted.