• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: May 15, 2009
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 278 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 278

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BryanM
    Jun 11, 2009
    3
    There are no new ideas here. Everything has been rehashed from old albums, and their lyrics are more vague and directionless than before. American Idiot was overrated, but still worth listening to. This is essentially a B-sides compilation of American Idiot, presented as the anthem collection of the century. There are a few tracks worth listening to, but I cannot recommend this album to There are no new ideas here. Everything has been rehashed from old albums, and their lyrics are more vague and directionless than before. American Idiot was overrated, but still worth listening to. This is essentially a B-sides compilation of American Idiot, presented as the anthem collection of the century. There are a few tracks worth listening to, but I cannot recommend this album to anybody but the Top 40 worshiping masses. Expand
  2. BRaftis
    Jul 3, 2009
    0
    Boring. Anti-Climactic. It seems as thgoug Green Day didn't even try to make the songs work half as well with each other as they did on American Idiot. It gets better the more you listen to it but not much. I gave it a zero for as large a drop as possible on my vote to lower the average rating...this album should be at about a 6.
  3. Brandon
    May 20, 2009
    3
    This album is very disappointing. It feels like they're just rehashing the same thing all over again. Compared to American Idiot, this is far inferior. And the irony of the title of the album coupled with its borrowing from influences long dead is just unsettling. There seems to be no direction, no boldness and most of all, no hooks. They could do so much better, and it's This album is very disappointing. It feels like they're just rehashing the same thing all over again. Compared to American Idiot, this is far inferior. And the irony of the title of the album coupled with its borrowing from influences long dead is just unsettling. There seems to be no direction, no boldness and most of all, no hooks. They could do so much better, and it's disheartening to see all the critics and the public largely kissing their collective asses undeservedly. Very disappointing. Expand
  4. CraigE
    Oct 2, 2009
    0
    This music is total crap. I can't understand why all you IDIOT's would think this deserves a 10. It is simpy & cli.che ridden and sounds as if it was created with no thought. Maybe they like it so much because the recording co. is speading alot of payola around. There is good music out there, its just not on the radio. Wise up you stupid sponges and broaden your listening to This music is total crap. I can't understand why all you IDIOT's would think this deserves a 10. It is simpy & cli.che ridden and sounds as if it was created with no thought. Maybe they like it so much because the recording co. is speading alot of payola around. There is good music out there, its just not on the radio. Wise up you stupid sponges and broaden your listening to music outside of what the recording industry wants you to . Expand
  5. MichaelC
    May 16, 2009
    0
    Green Day has lost complete focus and direction. This isn't even Green Day. They need to drop the make up, and the demographic of 12 year old rich girls who are angry at their parents. Furthermore, rolling stone gave this a 90 and Merriweather post pavilion only got a 70 from them? Total faith lost in rolling stone.
  6. JalexD
    May 18, 2009
    0
    I'm sure I'll come to think of this record as deserving of a better score than the one I'm giving it now. But listening to it now, all I can think about is how Green Day seem to be trying too hard to make a repeat performance of 'American Idiot.' After spending a considerable amount of time between making new music, I expected the band to return with something I'm sure I'll come to think of this record as deserving of a better score than the one I'm giving it now. But listening to it now, all I can think about is how Green Day seem to be trying too hard to make a repeat performance of 'American Idiot.' After spending a considerable amount of time between making new music, I expected the band to return with something fresh. And if '21st Century Breakdown' had been released as a companion piece to their previous record in 2005, I could probably appreciate this. Anyhow, as it stands now, I don't feel like I'm hearing anything new, or particularly exciting, so here's hoping the next one is better. Expand
  7. JamesR
    May 22, 2009
    3
    Are you kidding? Who are you people who think it is "masterful" and "ambitious." It's a hollow, rehash of a great album... Nothing to say, but speaks anyway. Terrible.
  8. RyanS
    May 24, 2009
    0
    This album is exactly the same as before. Furthermore, it is tiring, repetitive and nothing new. Green Day repeated the formula of the previous album and has not brought anything new. The sound "emo" band that continues to influence will only please some fans.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. The performances are blandly professional, because any major-label rock band of Green Day's abilities could shit this stuff out in their sleep, and emotionally inert. This is the crafting of a modern epic as a dreary day-job routine.
  2. 21st Century Breakdown is far from a bad album, and, like Idiot, will likely be the best release this year from such a popular band.
  3. It could have easily gone any of several wrong ways, but Green Day's punk has long since been tempered with pop's most attractive attributes, and 21stCentury Breakdown, like its predecessor, is unapologetically accessible and relentlessly exhilarating.