• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Aug 27, 2002
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 360 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 360

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    For me, the greatest Coldplay album and one of the best of the decade. Possibly the coldplay album with the most piano. Songs like "Green eyes", "clocks", "a rush of blood to the head", "the scientist" or "politik" are top class melodic rock. I would only delete the song "god put a smile up on your face". Here they don't sound like first era Radiohead at all as they did on their fantasticFor me, the greatest Coldplay album and one of the best of the decade. Possibly the coldplay album with the most piano. Songs like "Green eyes", "clocks", "a rush of blood to the head", "the scientist" or "politik" are top class melodic rock. I would only delete the song "god put a smile up on your face". Here they don't sound like first era Radiohead at all as they did on their fantastic first album. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    I don't even know hot describe how much I love this record. This album is the sole reason I started listening to Coldplay as a serious listener and even considering them as one of my favourite bands. Chris Martin's vocals and Jonny Buckland's electric guitar are terrific. Whenever I listen to the title track of the album, I always feel like I'm climbing a hill and it's so cold and I needI don't even know hot describe how much I love this record. This album is the sole reason I started listening to Coldplay as a serious listener and even considering them as one of my favourite bands. Chris Martin's vocals and Jonny Buckland's electric guitar are terrific. Whenever I listen to the title track of the album, I always feel like I'm climbing a hill and it's so cold and I need to make some decisions. Believe me, but I actually used to be a Coldplay hater but that's before I listened to songs like "In My Place", "Politik", "A Rush of Blood to the Head", "Green Eyes" and "Warning Sign". I can easily call it my most favourite Coldplay album. Expand
  3. BenjaminBunny
    Jun 8, 2004
    6
    Damn. Just when I thought I found a new band to hate ("Parachutes," the worst album Catherine Wheel never recorded) this album comes along and makes me like them. Well, in the same way I like 80s-era U2, which is to say it's listenably pretty--as long as you don't pay too much attention to the lyrics it sounds okay. Not that I'd actually own it.
  4. musicLover
    Oct 17, 2002
    0
    Bought the album - Can I get a refund ???
  5. MultipleMiggs
    Sep 2, 2002
    5
    Calvin listens to 4 songs and decrees a 10? Thank god there will be people who actually listen CRITICALLY to this album and realize that, while there is some great songwriting going on, there are few if any original ideas presented.
  6. Frank
    Sep 20, 2002
    3
    really bland stuff and so damn middle of the road. The amount of acclaim this record is getting shows how boring music critics are. At least Travis had the decency to do a humorous video clip.
  7. ErwinK.
    Sep 30, 2002
    2
    Yes. Music for bedwetters.
  8. Bk
    Jan 3, 2005
    0
    over rated!
  9. SusanB
    Sep 13, 2005
    3
    Mediocre at best, dull and lifeless at worst. The occasional good track, i.e. The Scientist, is cancelled out by the overwhelming blandness of the album as a whole. Uninventive, unemotional and overated
  10. Jazzy
    Nov 12, 2002
    2
    Comparisons to U2 and Radiohead are bound to happen when you have fans that have their head stuck that far up their arses. Every song on this album sounds like it has been created through some Let's-try-and-sound-like-Radiohead-but-with-a-bit-of-Jeff-Buckley-thrown-in-but-lets-try-not-to-be-so-self-conscious-about-it-formula. Lyrically piss-weak, Martin has nothing interesting to Comparisons to U2 and Radiohead are bound to happen when you have fans that have their head stuck that far up their arses. Every song on this album sounds like it has been created through some Let's-try-and-sound-like-Radiohead-but-with-a-bit-of-Jeff-Buckley-thrown-in-but-lets-try-not-to-be-so-self-conscious-about-it-formula. Lyrically piss-weak, Martin has nothing interesting to say. Yyyyaaawwwnnn!!!! Expand
  11. VinceP.
    Sep 16, 2002
    5
    I gave it a 5 only to don't give him a 0. Hated it. How can bands like Flaming Lips, Primal Scream, The Bees...., be considered worst then this guys. Forget this guys. Listen to The Bees, I am Kloot, etc.
  12. Melissa
    Sep 4, 2002
    0
    100% facade.
  13. DaveD.
    Sep 8, 2002
    4
    I'm a huge fan of brit-pop and of Coldplay's former album, "Parachute", but I just can't understand the universal acclaim of this album. I bought it before I read any reviews, and I thought it was a horribly repetitive, inspireless work. The lyrics are incredibly tepid and sound like a singer whose just filling in repetitive rhythms with cliched lyrics and spoiled imagery. I'm a huge fan of brit-pop and of Coldplay's former album, "Parachute", but I just can't understand the universal acclaim of this album. I bought it before I read any reviews, and I thought it was a horribly repetitive, inspireless work. The lyrics are incredibly tepid and sound like a singer whose just filling in repetitive rhythms with cliched lyrics and spoiled imagery. It sounds as if they're trying to sound like Doves's "Lost Souls", creating pop music that builds upon sonic landscapes, but can't find enough interesting ideas that can fill out a four minute song. Listening to this album back to back with Radiohead's past few sonic excursions, I realized Coldplay really is just a wannabe in every respect. I now know that I shouldn't have expected as much from their last meisterwork, "Parachutes". Coldplay is little more than Oasis deciding to steal the sound of Radiohead and Jeff Buckley instead of The Beatles, and the day will come when they matter just as little to the current pop landscape as the horrid imitative brats Oasis. A year ago I was hoping for only the best for Coldplay, but they have lost one fan because of this album. Hopefully next time, they'll write some songs that were created from inspired imagination instead of the awkward formulas that dominate this album. Expand
  14. DomS.
    Aug 10, 2003
    5
    When it's good, it's pretty mediocre. When it's bad, it's still pretty mediocre. P.S. Ignore the lyrics. They will induce seizures. it makes you wonder how Gwyneth Paltrow can handle Chris Martin's "sweet little nothings" in her out-of-his-league ear.
  15. OsaA
    Dec 9, 2006
    0
    I bought this album because it won a Grammy for album of the year so I thought it most be good and decided to by it at Best Buy. The album sounded good at first, but then I realised that is album was not that great and cannot believe it won a Grammy because it was so safe with not too many great songs. The only song that was most appealing and radio friendly was Clocks, which was about I bought this album because it won a Grammy for album of the year so I thought it most be good and decided to by it at Best Buy. The album sounded good at first, but then I realised that is album was not that great and cannot believe it won a Grammy because it was so safe with not too many great songs. The only song that was most appealing and radio friendly was Clocks, which was about it. I was so disappointed that I sold it on Amazon. If you a person who likes poems and deep storyline music that makes you think this album is for you, but not for me unfortunately. Expand
  16. DR
    Feb 15, 2009
    4
    I remember buying this album when it came out after thoroughly enjoying parachutes and being underwhelmed. Very bland radio friendly stuff. No wonder the backlash against these guys; it started with this album.
  17. ShawnT
    Feb 27, 2003
    0
    worst band and album ever. The songs are sooooo boring!!!!!!!!!
  18. Jan 19, 2011
    0
    Its incredible how the people who give Coldplay zeros give absolutly no reason or justification behind their score, at least no descriptive enough, how about going into detail? Boring? Thats it? You have yet to learn about what it means to grade music, this album is Pink Floyd reincarnate. 473rd greatest album of all time, Too low. These critics are reliable people but people evenIts incredible how the people who give Coldplay zeros give absolutly no reason or justification behind their score, at least no descriptive enough, how about going into detail? Boring? Thats it? You have yet to learn about what it means to grade music, this album is Pink Floyd reincarnate. 473rd greatest album of all time, Too low. These critics are reliable people but people even discredit them without any evidence, so why do we even have a user score if 90% of them are completly bias. Expand
  19. RickS
    Aug 11, 2003
    9
    I must say i have to agree with Matthew S, when people talk and compare bands to zepplin or floyd, they come off sounding as if they know nothing about music... I don't think people understand coldplay's music, in this time of nu-metal, where the only on thats seen is the screaming singer, people forgot what a band sounds like as a whole....Coldplay does this.Plain and simple I must say i have to agree with Matthew S, when people talk and compare bands to zepplin or floyd, they come off sounding as if they know nothing about music... I don't think people understand coldplay's music, in this time of nu-metal, where the only on thats seen is the screaming singer, people forgot what a band sounds like as a whole....Coldplay does this.Plain and simple everyone gets the spotlight.. The guitar is not over done like so many bands but it goes along with a certain mood(something like fleetwood mac). The bass goes quite good with martin's voice.. I did however find the drums to be a little boring, i'll agree with Ali M on that...But overall Coldplay is one of the most talented and unique bands out there....... Expand
  20. DaveV.
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    God put a smile upon your face - More like Coldplay put a smile on my face. Outstanding
  21. IreneL.
    Sep 2, 2002
    10
    "A Rush of Blood..." prove Coldplay's prowess and seemingly unlimited talent. Truly hummable and accessable melodies serve as a facade to a much more thoughtful and tension-filled core.
  22. scottg
    Jan 7, 2003
    10
    this is a truly superb follow up to parachutes. the album takes coldplay to another level this album will rock any venue in the uk but may find it hard in the states. keep up the good work lads
  23. TomM
    Aug 10, 2004
    10
    Great album. As good as parachutes. Very pleasantly surprised
  24. BujarR
    May 14, 2005
    10
    Well....shortly.BEST ALBUM OF ALL TIMES!
  25. JackMB
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    This is a great album, which will grown on you with time. It's different if not better to Parachutes. However, this can only be given a 9, as after listening to X&Y this is clearly inferior.
  26. EshopjV.
    Jul 17, 2007
    7
    In retrospect, looking back from '07 gives enough hindsight that Coldplay's second effort with "A Rush Of Blood to the Head", is nothing more than just lush-laden melodies akin to eating flavoring, in that while they are by all means delicious, they lack much nutritional value to actually be considered "good". Now by all means that dosen't mean this album is just another In retrospect, looking back from '07 gives enough hindsight that Coldplay's second effort with "A Rush Of Blood to the Head", is nothing more than just lush-laden melodies akin to eating flavoring, in that while they are by all means delicious, they lack much nutritional value to actually be considered "good". Now by all means that dosen't mean this album is just another piece of garbage to be cast aside. With the opening track "Politik", we are cast into a dense world of alternating loud and quiet. "Clocks" cyclic nature and hypnotic tune, does a comendable job of yanking in the listener. "The Scientist", as aft-mentioned, is probably one of the most well-constructed pop songs of our time so far thanks to its simplistic yet yearning tune. However, when one is confronted to actually "look deeper" into the album, it is akin to diving off a twelve foot. platform to a two foot pool. Most of the lyrics are about love, which is however trite in its usage, still a comendable subject. If only it weren't the same story for almost every single track on the whole damn album. Even "Politik"'s meaning is almost misguided and hazy unless you bothered to read the CD booklet, at which point it becomes rather banal in its execution. Previous comments comparing this to "Floyd" are probably the most jarring comparrisons I have ever heard. (With the exception of the penultimate title track, which is one of the best off the album.) If anything they are more akin to later Supertramp, with a little bit of both the world of electic and conventional. (With a more obvious lean to pop.) In closing, while this album is far from the supposed "holy grail" of music that is proponents claim it to be, it is no where near the almost slanderous comments of its detractors. (With the exception that it sounds/tastes like "Radiohead" lite.) With the state that the current trend pop music is in, albums like these while far from what can be considered "great", are still in rather short supply to conventional audiences. With a fourth album due out in '08 headed by Brian Eno, (After the meh-ish nature of "X & Y", a good thing.) we can hope for maybe a slightly brighter future judging from its past. Expand
  27. VerenaS.
    Oct 1, 2002
    10
    woha! this album is great!
  28. Amber
    Oct 12, 2002
    10
    Dramatically beautiful. It reaches new heights of a clean and very dynamic musical sound. I enjoyed it from start to finish....positive, spiritual and innovative. Coldplay is classic.
  29. Tommy
    Oct 1, 2002
    10
    the most melodic album to come out maybe ever. As someone once put it, 'it's all about the tunes'. Oh, you'll get the odd person complaining about how this band's overrated, but it's only because he (and it's always a guy) can't hear passion and emotion within a song. They don't get this band. The other 99.9% of us do. Buy it, post haste.
  30. JulianE.
    Aug 27, 2002
    10
    All analysis aside - Wow! I actually found Parachutes a bit wet and even dull in parts - however obvious the talent. This one is alive! It is the least pretentious and contrived masterpiece I have come across in many a moon. Head, heart and spirit music for the ages and ya can still sing along! It's so rare that music of beauty uplifts without preaching from on high - this music says All analysis aside - Wow! I actually found Parachutes a bit wet and even dull in parts - however obvious the talent. This one is alive! It is the least pretentious and contrived masterpiece I have come across in many a moon. Head, heart and spirit music for the ages and ya can still sing along! It's so rare that music of beauty uplifts without preaching from on high - this music says come with me, not join me up here. Collapse
  31. brianm
    Sep 1, 2002
    9
    the sound of a band willing to build on its success, not lay stagnant in it. the album has a familiar sound, but boldly goes places parachutes did not.
  32. AnshumanS.
    Sep 15, 2002
    9
    well,this is really good.by listening to their music,it feels as if they have been in the music scene for years and years.but,the truth is it's just their second album and i'm telling you-they r here to stay for a long -long time indeed.way to go,coldplay!if u guys have loved their album,then u can try out travis's 2!!!
  33. JonN.
    Sep 2, 2002
    10
    Simply put, one of the best albums i have ever heard. It surpasses the original album "Parachutes" without bound--the emotions that the album arouses from my senses is beyond extraordinary. The only thing i can say to criticize the album is that it makes me too sad at times. All emotions aside, it is a definite 10.
  34. R.B.
    Sep 24, 2002
    10
    One of those albums that you know is great the first time you listen. Every track is a musical journey through beauty , grace and uplifting power.
  35. anonymous
    Sep 5, 2002
    10
    just listen to it
  36. AndreeC.
    Sep 5, 2002
    10
    Gorgeous songs!!! Fantastic Album!!!
  37. JohnM.
    Sep 9, 2002
    9
    It's a great album. I love the first song especially. But as far as being the greatest brit pop band right now, I think that the Doves are superior to Coldplay. The Last Broadcast is simply phenomenal.
  38. TracyG
    Jan 8, 2003
    10
    This Album is Great. The Group is awesome. I have never heard music like this before. This group has me in a trance. I love them, Tracy, 25, San Diego
  39. richard
    Feb 13, 2003
    9
    Didn't really like it at first, but it's a grower. After about a month it suddenly clicked and i realised i owned a masterpiece. Stunning
  40. DavidJ
    Mar 26, 2003
    10
    That anyone actually gave this album a "0" is just sad. This is without doubt the strongest album of 2002!
  41. MitchH.
    Mar 4, 2003
    10
    This is one of the best CD's I have. All the songs on the CD are either as good as the one before or better. Music at it's best.
  42. MaryS
    Mar 9, 2003
    10
    This album is amazing. You have to listen to it a few times, but after that I was hooked and Coldplay has become one of my favorite bands!
  43. scottm
    May 6, 2003
    10
    relaxing and talented. this band is a true band and real songs on their albums.
  44. EloiseH
    Aug 6, 2003
    10
    It's awesome
  45. JonathanZ
    Oct 3, 2005
    8
    I've been dusting off some old classics this summer (figuratively, since I get most of my music from the iTunes music store), and so after picking up the newest Coldplay album during the Korea trip, I bought their other two albums when I got back to the States. A Rush of Blood to the Head was released in 2002, and I can still remember listening to it countless times on the way to I've been dusting off some old classics this summer (figuratively, since I get most of my music from the iTunes music store), and so after picking up the newest Coldplay album during the Korea trip, I bought their other two albums when I got back to the States. A Rush of Blood to the Head was released in 2002, and I can still remember listening to it countless times on the way to school. I never got tired of it, though; the tracks are just that durable. Sure, everybody has heard the two singles, "Clocks" and "In My Place." I'm not saying they aren't quality songs, there just a little typical. Some of the other stuff on the album, however, is nothing short of brilliance. "The Scientist" achieves the same greatness of "Yellow," and "A Rush of Blood to the Head" channels a marvelous Pink Floyd vibe. Unlike the overtly mellow Parachutes, this album is mellow with an agenda; edgy, even. There's a thread of bemoaning lost love that runs throughout the entire affair, as well a track or two focused on war and dying. I don't mind this, somehow, so well is everything put together. When I need to escape into a soundscape of soulful vocals and some masterful guitar-work, I know what to listen to. Expand
  46. BenB
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    Wow....it dosn't get any better than this. A masterpiece
  47. JoelW
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    This was the album that made me stop. 'The Scientist' is magnificent, musical genius, while 'Clocks' was the single that attracted me. There are few who are so undeniably and potentially talented as Martin, Berryman, Buckland and Champion. Everyone knows them. They will go on to become one of the greatest bands of their time. I have little doubt.
  48. MarkH
    May 16, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums of the decade! Contemplative... but not overly deep, this album will not disappoint.
  49. JohnK
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    One of the albums that will truly change your life, all of these songs are ones that you can listen to over and over and never get tired of.......personal favorites include God Put a Smile Upon Your Face [one of the best musically done songs in a long time] The Scientist [amazingly beautiful] and Amsterdam [incomparable]
  50. JoeyC
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    Certain albums are timeless, this is one. I;ll never forget the first time i heard 'clocks' it hit me then that coldplay was a band that was gonna leave an impression on music lovers abroad. This album will go down in history as one of the greatest.
  51. PaulM
    Jan 1, 2008
    9
    A Rush of Blood to the Head is, without doubt, a fantastic achievement. But for me, that's not the point. People can rave about the album's sales, or maybe complain about the band drawing heavy influences and therefore coming of as unoriginal. But its how the music makes you feel, how it reaches you, that matters. That, to me, is more important than anything. A Rush of Blood is, A Rush of Blood to the Head is, without doubt, a fantastic achievement. But for me, that's not the point. People can rave about the album's sales, or maybe complain about the band drawing heavy influences and therefore coming of as unoriginal. But its how the music makes you feel, how it reaches you, that matters. That, to me, is more important than anything. A Rush of Blood is, a beautifully compelling album, with a variety of songs that evoke different emotions from me every time I listen to them. What more can I say? Its an incredible album, and no matter what, nothing anyone says will dissuade me from that notion. The quality of the music is refined and stupendous, with songs like Clocks and In My Place transporting you to another place, affecting you in a way that I can't describe. The Scientist, which makes me close my eyes for just a moment, and listen to the beauty of music, and of lyrics that surpass most songwriters who have been writing for years. Politik, which brings about a certain inner rage, and reaches you in a different way that the rest of Coldplay's songs, is definitely worth listening too. God Put a Smile Upon Your Face is a song that makes you question everything you know, but brings an inner sense of peace. The only negative of this album is that the songs I've mentioned overshadow the album's other tracks; while good in quality, I often find myself skipping them to listen to those that are stunning in quality. But beside that, i think this album is a great collaboration of songs that range from phenomenal to good; not one song can be rated as bad. Expand
  52. Matt
    Nov 1, 2002
    9
    To me, it's one thing to not like an album, but a "0", I think that this album at least deserves a "1", even if it is just for effort. But, I respect everyone's opinion, so you don't really have to listen to my b****ing. Seriously, though. I think that this is a very good album, significantly better than their previous one. Not the best ever, but fans of the genre must pick it up.
  53. DoronH
    Oct 10, 2002
    10
    very touching lyrics and music
  54. MikeM.
    Oct 15, 2002
    10
    This is simply an absolutely amazing album. Coldplay have now become my favorite band.
  55. RobertS.
    Oct 18, 2002
    10
    This album is compiled well and is extremely good, i recommend this to everyone. Every track has its own meaning and every track sucks you in.
  56. LongPongSilver
    Oct 2, 2002
    10
    This is really great album. In MyPlace is very infectious single.. The Scientist is beautifully written song about lost-love.. Yeah.. It's the best Coldplay song ever written.. Are they boring, well at least they've tried to write somewhat pretencious political songs (Politik, A Rush Of Blood). So they are not afraid to stay away from formulaic ballad.. Travis however still This is really great album. In MyPlace is very infectious single.. The Scientist is beautifully written song about lost-love.. Yeah.. It's the best Coldplay song ever written.. Are they boring, well at least they've tried to write somewhat pretencious political songs (Politik, A Rush Of Blood). So they are not afraid to stay away from formulaic ballad.. Travis however still written those whiny sappy ballads. And They aren't there to stay away from it.. Expand
  57. MaxinquayeD
    Oct 4, 2002
    10
    This is a superb offering. It grabs and hold your attention from beginning to end. I wouldn't say that it is better than their first effort, since the sounds is different. It is however, much more vibrant, upbeat,versatile lyrically and sonically and just damn good. Definitely worth your moolah.
  58. MichaelE.
    Oct 7, 2002
    9
    Seems pretty boring and mediocre at first, and the lyrics certainly aren't much of an artistic statement, but 'round about 1:00 AM on the fifth or sixth listen it suddenly becomes exquisitely, breathtakingly GORGEOUS.
  59. ChrisE.
    Oct 9, 2002
    10
    If there's been a better relase this year I have not heard it. I never got into Parachutes, but oh man do I love this one! It's subtle, but give it time and it will blow you away!
  60. Tom
    Aug 23, 2002
    10
    This is my favorite album since Achtung Baby. It just beats out OK computer because at the end of the day it has the tunes from the first track to the last. A stunning achievement, and a new litmus test for me. In other words, if you don't like this album, we couldn't possibly be friends.
  61. ViperT.
    Aug 25, 2002
    10
    whoa!
  62. MartijnD.
    Aug 26, 2002
    10
    This is a great album. Probably the best to come out this year so be sure to buy it!
  63. CalvinI.
    Aug 27, 2002
    10
    i haven't even finished listening to this album and already i am giving it a ten. even if the other 6 songs turn out to be crap this cd still deserves a ten. from what i heard so far this is so much of an improvement from thier first album. thier first album clearly showed thier potential to bring the life out of thier sound but this album they finally realize it and flesh it out i haven't even finished listening to this album and already i am giving it a ten. even if the other 6 songs turn out to be crap this cd still deserves a ten. from what i heard so far this is so much of an improvement from thier first album. thier first album clearly showed thier potential to bring the life out of thier sound but this album they finally realize it and flesh it out rather then just sparsly using it. the last album was good (and strangely) relaxing brit pop songs but these are less like songs and more like sound experiences you thrust yourself into and this album clearly shows they were not half assing on thier time off. they have clearly matured and progressed as musicians (even if thier new cd kinda sounds a little like radiohead's "the bends" album), but this is an amazing work and sound conquest. thier first album was merely a 8, but if the ratings scale reached 22 i would give this album a 22. Expand
  64. eg
    Aug 28, 2002
    10
    immense best of the year
  65. J.Whipple
    Aug 31, 2002
    10
    Brilliant. And completely lacking pretension. This is the real deal.
  66. jake
    Aug 30, 2002
    6
    You people are funny, this album is rather mediocre, I've listened to it beginning to end about a dozen times now, and it really isnt that good at all. To the guy that says this is better than "OK Computer" YEAH RIGHT! what a joke! Coldplay isn't a tenth of what Radiohead is/was.
  67. ClareF.
    Sep 13, 2002
    10
    i love it the sound they make is just beautiful!
  68. JamieM.
    Sep 13, 2002
    10
    A masterful album, puts Parachutes to shame
  69. ChrisP.
    Sep 19, 2002
    9
    I agree with Julian E. I bought both Parachutes and this album today and apart from Shiver and Yellow, you could call it limp wristed. But the follow up is far from it, especially the pounding drumming and searing guitar of the first track Politik, which is a great opening to an album. Albums such as The Who Whos Next has a great opening in Baba O' Riley, Pete Townsends arse kickin I agree with Julian E. I bought both Parachutes and this album today and apart from Shiver and Yellow, you could call it limp wristed. But the follow up is far from it, especially the pounding drumming and searing guitar of the first track Politik, which is a great opening to an album. Albums such as The Who Whos Next has a great opening in Baba O' Riley, Pete Townsends arse kickin guitar and John Entwistles (God rest his soul) phat bass lines, classic stuff! Expand
  70. thesillymofo
    Sep 6, 2002
    10
    still shocked
  71. NateM.
    Sep 6, 2002
    8
    By far, the best album of the year...however, coldplay is sitting a solid foot away from the greatness that U2 had attained in the 80's. They have a great ability to write great music, but their lyrics are weak. Even when they try to talk about something important, like in Politik, it is jumbled up in their often muddled lyrics. When the lyrics match the level of musical talent By far, the best album of the year...however, coldplay is sitting a solid foot away from the greatness that U2 had attained in the 80's. They have a great ability to write great music, but their lyrics are weak. Even when they try to talk about something important, like in Politik, it is jumbled up in their often muddled lyrics. When the lyrics match the level of musical talent they've achieved, then they will become one of the great British bands. Expand
  72. AG
    Sep 7, 2002
    6
    This album is dull, predictable, and almost devoid of ideas. The majority of the tracks open and build the same way. Martin's melodies are pleasant but his bandmates add little to the material. Guitar melodies are usually two bars or less and they are happily repeated with little change. The drums and bass are there but far from interesting. Two or more lines are rarely played at the This album is dull, predictable, and almost devoid of ideas. The majority of the tracks open and build the same way. Martin's melodies are pleasant but his bandmates add little to the material. Guitar melodies are usually two bars or less and they are happily repeated with little change. The drums and bass are there but far from interesting. Two or more lines are rarely played at the same time leading to terribly simple and uninteresting music. This is Radiohead without the energy, intelligence, emotional depth, inventiveness, and talent. This is elevator music. It should sell well. Expand
  73. bsaint
    Dec 24, 2003
    10
    this might possibly be the best band of all time. this cd is so awesome. its puts you in a chill mode
  74. Dee
    Jan 7, 2003
    6
    well, it's ok, sure, yet.. it starts to get boring with all those sad boys bands.. what else to say.. i liked the previous album better, it seemed to me.. how to say.. FRESHER
  75. paul
    Feb 13, 2003
    10
    a classic album
  76. TimH
    Feb 21, 2003
    10
    Glorious album - no jumped up tricks or pretensions here - just beautiful music. For me Warning Sign hits the spot perfectly
  77. Araelp
    Mar 23, 2003
    9
    Bassist & drummer could put more emphasis on key rhythms musically speaking; 'sure is soothing to my soul though. thanks Coldplay
  78. anshumans
    Mar 29, 2003
    9
    well just their second album and they r already up there.infact they came into the scene as matured guys.outstanding group.
  79. VERVE.M
    Apr 19, 2003
    10
    Maturity in both Lyrics and Tunes is Definetly present. A Psychadelic and Multi-Layered experience. This album can be classified under "Acquired Taste" Music. Something I see as absolutely positive. This is because the second you feel your humming a tune or predicting lyrics of a new album, then chances are the tunes and lyrics are cliches! Something this album overbridged........COLDPLAY Maturity in both Lyrics and Tunes is Definetly present. A Psychadelic and Multi-Layered experience. This album can be classified under "Acquired Taste" Music. Something I see as absolutely positive. This is because the second you feel your humming a tune or predicting lyrics of a new album, then chances are the tunes and lyrics are cliches! Something this album overbridged........COLDPLAY did an OUTSTANDING job...I'm proud to be a fan. Expand
  80. RodG.
    Apr 22, 2003
    9
    Not as good as playin' live concerts, but they just turned my favourite band.
  81. AliM
    Jul 2, 2003
    1
    New York Magazine got it spot on. Colplay are the most emotionless, boring, unfun, unadventerous, average and overrated band ever. Can anyone honestly tell me that Colplay have that edge, that greatness and ability to make peoples jaws drop, which is common with all the greatest bands ever (Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, The Beatles etc.) Please do not waste your time on this band. Words like New York Magazine got it spot on. Colplay are the most emotionless, boring, unfun, unadventerous, average and overrated band ever. Can anyone honestly tell me that Colplay have that edge, that greatness and ability to make peoples jaws drop, which is common with all the greatest bands ever (Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, The Beatles etc.) Please do not waste your time on this band. Words like ''aquired taste, multi-layered, strongest album of 2002, experimental'' DO NOT apply to this album. It is far from any of these things. Chris Martin is NOT a lyrical genius, the guitar parts show no mastering at all, no chord progression, the bassist sounds quite frankly bored and the drummer is nothing special either. The lyrics aren't clever, it isn't a good album. If you want experimental, fantastic, out-of-this world, TRUE rock (because Coldplay are as good as a boyband) listen to the Mars Volta. They will blow your narrow-minded bodies out of the water. Fools...... Expand
  82. chris
    Jul 25, 2003
    5
    This album goes absolutely nowhere from parachutes. It is sappy, lame and sentimental. Chris Martin is a dork and just another Thom Yorke imitation. I mean, logically, can we ever except something trully brilliant from Coldplay? Of course not, this album is just a prelude to a shittier third album. Did everybody forget about Oasis. I just want to tell Chris Martin and his cronies to shut This album goes absolutely nowhere from parachutes. It is sappy, lame and sentimental. Chris Martin is a dork and just another Thom Yorke imitation. I mean, logically, can we ever except something trully brilliant from Coldplay? Of course not, this album is just a prelude to a shittier third album. Did everybody forget about Oasis. I just want to tell Chris Martin and his cronies to shut the hell up you will never be Radiohead. Expand
  83. celestem
    Aug 1, 2003
    10
    It is a wonderful piece of artsmanship from Coldplay.
  84. JonardV
    Feb 10, 2004
    10
    If I could, I would give this album a 20. Those who rated this album under 5 need to stop sniffing the nose candy. I'm sick and tired of hearing comparisons with Radiohead, especially since Thom Yorke looks like Clay Aiken. Music is not meant to be "complicated", rather it is meant to ease the drive home...
  85. [Anonymous]
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    Awesome. Usually, I like harder music, but this is an exception.
  86. SavannahT
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    When Coldplay's first album, Parachutes, came out I was stunned. They are a terrific band. A lot of bands will put out their first record and be awesome but their music tends to get boring with the up and coming albums. Coldplay really knows how to overcome that. A Rush of Blood to the Head is a terrific CD and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great band.
  87. eidoro
    Jul 17, 2004
    9
    I was waiting for some new band that has the potential to become a second Pink Floyd to appear. Radiohead being a good experience, but still rather not having the "je ne sais quoi" of what's needed to someday become the Floyd of this century, still lacks energy. Instead here come Coldplay. True potential, refined sound, more then decent lyrics. It deserves a 9, as the only album that I was waiting for some new band that has the potential to become a second Pink Floyd to appear. Radiohead being a good experience, but still rather not having the "je ne sais quoi" of what's needed to someday become the Floyd of this century, still lacks energy. Instead here come Coldplay. True potential, refined sound, more then decent lyrics. It deserves a 9, as the only album that deservers a 10 is, in my humble opinion, "Amused To Death", by Roger Waters. Expand
  88. TylerD
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    The first time I heard "Clocks", I fell in love with it. The CD is no different. Am I a hardcore Coldplay fan? No, definately not. But it's no doubt they have talent. Lots of talent.
  89. DavidP
    Jul 29, 2005
    9
    The best Coldplay album. Very different from Parachutes, their first album and also a great one. The sound is darker, it is a more complex work, and it takes several listens to appreciate it. If you have not listened any of their albums, I recommend you to listen Parachutes first.
  90. BT
    Sep 27, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best Albums ever made. Coldplay have a great sound, and great lyrics. I read that somebody put "did people forget about Oasis". Im guessing this person didnt realize that Oasis said Coldplay is the best new band out, and Oasis is great too. This album has no end to great songs, and is good from start to end.
  91. ColdplayFan
    Jan 23, 2006
    9
    AROBBTH starts off with a great 5 songs, and continues to produce after that. Politik has great driving guitar, In my place is a great supporter, GPASUYF is incredible, etc. etc. All the way to Amsterdam. That has to be the best song ever recorded.
  92. KyleighH
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    I love this album. I used to have it, but now I don't anymore. I love the songs "Clocks" and "The Scientist." Coldplay's "A Rush Of Blood To the Head" album is good as their "Parachutes" album. I even heard the song "Clocks" on ER during the 2002-03 season. This is a good album.
  93. JennaP
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    It saddens me to see such acerbic reviews-particulary from Pitchfork and New York Magazine-for what is certainly one of the best records of the (middle-aged) decade. This is Coldplay at the top of their game--Parachutes was a bit too sleepy and X+Y a bit too hollow. Chris Martin's piano is an integral part to breathing life into cascading songs like Politik and Clocks while Jonny It saddens me to see such acerbic reviews-particulary from Pitchfork and New York Magazine-for what is certainly one of the best records of the (middle-aged) decade. This is Coldplay at the top of their game--Parachutes was a bit too sleepy and X+Y a bit too hollow. Chris Martin's piano is an integral part to breathing life into cascading songs like Politik and Clocks while Jonny Buckland's guitar melodies elevates In My Place and God Put A Smile Upon Your Face into bona fide anthems. Even the 'filler' songs (Daylight, A Whisper) have something inherently unique and special about them. And must I even mention the ballad The Scientist which Coldplay manages to get more than right---hard to come by these days. Wow I love this record. You need it in your life. Expand
  94. TyeN.
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    This is my favorite album of all-time. I cannot give it enough praise. Coldplay made good on their early potential from "Parachutes" and delivered a masterpiece. "X&Y" may be better sonically, but this album has everything. Although I suggest listening to every single track, the big stand-outs are "Politik", "In My Place", "God Put A Smile Upon Your Face", "The Scientist", "Clocks" (my This is my favorite album of all-time. I cannot give it enough praise. Coldplay made good on their early potential from "Parachutes" and delivered a masterpiece. "X&Y" may be better sonically, but this album has everything. Although I suggest listening to every single track, the big stand-outs are "Politik", "In My Place", "God Put A Smile Upon Your Face", "The Scientist", "Clocks" (my favorite song ever, by the way), and the gorgeous "Amsterdam." This album desrves to be recognized for what it truly is: a once in a lifetime masterpiece of epic proportions. I can't wait to hear album number four. Expand
  95. SkyNight
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    this c.d. is great from start to finish. the powerful music and soothing voice give this albuman edge. i still enjoy this album to this day and it makes me feel every emotion in my body!
  96. daven
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    When Coldplay burst out onto mainstream radio with "Parachutes" it was clear that this was a band ready-made for stardom. Parachutes had the perfect indie appeal while showcasing their ability to perfect pop songs. This great CD was in no way a preperation for the brilliant "A Rush of Blood to the Head". From beginning to end, every song is a gem. Politik sucks you in with its intense When Coldplay burst out onto mainstream radio with "Parachutes" it was clear that this was a band ready-made for stardom. Parachutes had the perfect indie appeal while showcasing their ability to perfect pop songs. This great CD was in no way a preperation for the brilliant "A Rush of Blood to the Head". From beginning to end, every song is a gem. Politik sucks you in with its intense string section and leaves you there the entire time. Coldplay has already reached their masterpiece 2 CDs in and there is no way to go now except down. Expand
  97. Myles#13
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    Quite simply... fantastic album. This is the album that put Coldplay on the top of the rock and roll (albeit lite) world. Those who don't like Coldplay... give them a bloody chance, they are a GREAT band! Personal fav's are 'God Put A Smile Upon Your Face', 'Scientist', 'Green Eyes' and the title track.
  98. garym
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    I'm a hard rock/hip-hop fan, so I don't listen to "make out" music all that much. But even I can say this album is awesome. When its all said and done, this will go down as the album of the decade because of its universal likability.
  99. ScottW.
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Truly a beautifully cold album.The sound of coldplay is perfect in this second album. A classic and one of the the best albums ever made.
  100. JoshJ
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    This album was the best Coldplay album ever. It is exciting and intelligent from start to finish. Impressive accomplishment.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Without the emotional resonance of Martin's voice at its most free, Coldplay's brilliantly minimal musical foundation has nothing to support. So it falters.
  2. Coldplay's new record is a little edgier, trancier, and more conversational than their last. It is called A Rush of Blood to the Head, and in waves and swells of major tunes and frisky then looping time signatures, that's just about the effect it has.
  3. But while the sound of this album is more expansive, the influences a bit less obvious, and the approach more varied, the guys forgot to tote along their initial strength: the songs.