Amok - Atoms for Peace
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 93
  2. Negative: 2 out of 93

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    I have got to say that this album surpassed my expectations. I never thought that after King of Limbs, happy bunny Thom Yorke could accept such style,... but it turns out he can. Amok radiates with raw and original genius. The melody and the rhythms are extraordinary and out of this world. Definitively recommended for all Radiohead lovers. Although this is not RHCP style I think you willI have got to say that this album surpassed my expectations. I never thought that after King of Limbs, happy bunny Thom Yorke could accept such style,... but it turns out he can. Amok radiates with raw and original genius. The melody and the rhythms are extraordinary and out of this world. Definitively recommended for all Radiohead lovers. Although this is not RHCP style I think you will like it since it's hard not to nod and in awe on Such genius artists. Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    I've always been torn between euphoria and confusion with anything Thom Yorke has been involved with. The lineup for this game is, however, nothing short of fantastic. I feel high everytime I listen to this. In fact, I feel as if I get higher and higher everytime I listen to it. It's just out of this world.
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    Thom Yorke never stops amazing me. His solo effort "The Eraser" is a great record, and nearly all Radiohead albums are monumental, and now Atoms for Peace. Amok is (like Rolling Stone put it) the funkiest record Thom Yorke has ever been apart of, and a lot of the credit goes to Flea. They make a fantastic collaboration with this album. Every track holds it's own and the beats are subtle,Thom Yorke never stops amazing me. His solo effort "The Eraser" is a great record, and nearly all Radiohead albums are monumental, and now Atoms for Peace. Amok is (like Rolling Stone put it) the funkiest record Thom Yorke has ever been apart of, and a lot of the credit goes to Flea. They make a fantastic collaboration with this album. Every track holds it's own and the beats are subtle, yet groovy and so easy to listen too. It was a grower of an album but I eventually picked it up and now it's been on repeat for a few days already. All In All, Atoms for Peace is an awesome side-project for Thom Yorke and Flea, and I can't wait for their next record. B+ Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    The rhythmic music is great to listen to (mostly), especially when you give it a chance and listen to it repeatedly. It's a lot like Radiohead albums in general, you need patience to uncover the good stuff.

    Word of advice, though, don't listen to the whole album continuously. You'll get a headache.
  5. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    While touted as Thom Yorke's dance album, this is a much deeper and more rewarding listen than that would imply. The songwriting here is impeccable, Thom Yorke's voice has never been more liquid and pure, and the album as a whole has a lot of surprising warmth and delicate beauty nestled between the beats and the laptop modulations. I was initially afraid of Flea's involvement, but there'sWhile touted as Thom Yorke's dance album, this is a much deeper and more rewarding listen than that would imply. The songwriting here is impeccable, Thom Yorke's voice has never been more liquid and pure, and the album as a whole has a lot of surprising warmth and delicate beauty nestled between the beats and the laptop modulations. I was initially afraid of Flea's involvement, but there's no popping or slapping here. I can't imagine that I'll hear a better album this year. Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    After an early leak, 'Amok' has finally been officially released, and the reviews are flowing in. So what is there to say about this new side project from Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke? Well, quite a lot. First and foremost, I should mention that I'm a huge Radiohead fan (big surprise!), and that I've been carefully following this album since "Judge, Jury, Executioner" was preformed live.After an early leak, 'Amok' has finally been officially released, and the reviews are flowing in. So what is there to say about this new side project from Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke? Well, quite a lot. First and foremost, I should mention that I'm a huge Radiohead fan (big surprise!), and that I've been carefully following this album since "Judge, Jury, Executioner" was preformed live. Naturally, I've been anticipating great things from this project, and I'm happy to say that it has nearly managed to fulfill my very high expectations. Notice that I said "nearly". In my personal opinion, the album has its share of mishaps. Nothing terrible, but they are there. But let's start with the good stuff first! Every track on this album is thoroughly enjoyable, and each song has highly memorable moments. Be it the sweeping, pulsating, glistening synths in "Ingenue", the blissful and prismatic guitar melody accompanied by a compulsive and addictive chorus from Yorke in "Stuck Together Pieces", or the glorious crescendo of swirling synths and soaring vocals in "Amok", this album manages to throw one beautiful moment after another at you. Each and every song has something memorable to offer, and typically the payoff is wonderful. This album is also perhaps the funkiest, most danceable collection of tunes Thom has ever released, with complex programmed beats, driving synths, and deep bass that permeate throughout the most of the songs. Flea and RHCP fans will be pleased to know that almost every track on here is packed full of his driving, kinetic basslines. Radiohead fans will be happy to hear that the album is overflowing with sonic complexities, and that each subsequent listen is likely to reveal a new sound or layer that you didn't catch before. Make no mistake; this album was made to be heard either on a high quality soundsystem, or on headphones! To sum up the positives, this album has been immensely enjoyable to listen to. Its funky and rhythmic nature is elating. These tunes just make me want to dance! Certain moments on this thing are so complex and epic that they nearly match Radiohead in intensity. Lastly, despite what you've heard, this is not "The Eraser: Part 2". This LP is its own beast. The songs are far more kinetic, uplifting, funky, and danceable than The Eraser. Okay, now for the bad. First off, some of the songs start off a little rough, with a rather cold, repetitive, sparse intro. The tracks "Dropped" and "Stuck Together Pieces" come to mind. "Dropped" uses an almost glitchy synth that is heavily reminiscent of dubstep, which wouldn't be a bad thing if the sound itself didn't feel so mechanical, and dare I say it, generic. It just doesn't stand out as anything noteworthy, and the song suffers because of it. Granted, the song evolves into something far more interesting, especially when Flea's bassline explodes alongside Thom's cut up, hovering vocals into a complex, kinetic, and memorable drop which is anything but generic. "Stuck Together Pieces" starts slightly better, with a minimalist drum pattern and bassline. Its funky and strangely hypnotic, but I would have preferred something slightly more melodic and layered here. The song builds into some beautiful guitar playing and singing from Yorke. Its eloquent, catchy, and uplifting, which only makes the slightly drab first half of the song feel all the more boring. Once again, nothing terrible, just a little lacking. Another issue this album runs into is its tendency to drag out certain songs for too long without any evolution outside of subtle changes in melody and adding in additional sounds. The melodies in certain songs tend to stay the same for most of their length, only changing in mild ways. It's almost like Thom's singing just goes on and on, without any real structure. This actually does work to the albums advantage at times, creating a sort of hypnotic effect, but ultimately I found myself yearning for some epic crescendo or chorus from Yorke to really flesh out the pieace. Songs where this is most apparent are "Before Your Very Eyes..." and "Ingenue". "Reverse Running" and "Unless" also suffer from this linearity, only to a lesser degree. Fortunately, each of these tracks are built around very strong melodies which usually manage to stay entertaining throughout the song's entirety. Upon further listens, I found myself noticing the subtle changes in each one more and more. They DO evolve, just not as much as we're used to from Yorke. As a consequence, they can sometimes drag on. However, in the right mood, they manage to be very calming and hypnotic, at least for me. So there's my opinion. My recommendation? If you like Yorke, Flea, Radiohead, or even just RHCP, definitely check it out. Favorite tracks: Amok, Ingenue, Default, Judge Jury Executioner, Least favorites (but hey, I still love em!): Before Your Very Eyes..., Dropped Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    AMOK treads into new terrirory and defies classification. While it is easy to make comparisons to Radiohead or Eraser, please don't.; I believe Yorke's idea was to draw upon his bandmate's talents to create an atmosphere that has never been experienced before. Based upon its own merits, this album is unique and, at its best moments, sublime. It is a masterclass on mixing retro digitalAMOK treads into new terrirory and defies classification. While it is easy to make comparisons to Radiohead or Eraser, please don't.; I believe Yorke's idea was to draw upon his bandmate's talents to create an atmosphere that has never been experienced before. Based upon its own merits, this album is unique and, at its best moments, sublime. It is a masterclass on mixing retro digital with acoustic into a work that is thoroughly modern. Before Your Very Eyes is genius in its construction, and it alone is worth the price of the album. It is not without its flaws (a spot of lyrics that are a bit cliched and two tracks that as of yet to me don't seem to add anything), but it is a fine initial effort. Expand
  8. Feb 17, 2014
    8
    Any record featuring or fronted by Thom Yorke is going to bring Radiohead to mind. His voice is so distinct and recognisable that this is an inescapable fact. While Yorke's presence within Atoms For Peace gives the group massive exposure, it could be argued that his presence will also draw unwarranted comparisons between themselves and Radiohead. While there are obvious similaritiesAny record featuring or fronted by Thom Yorke is going to bring Radiohead to mind. His voice is so distinct and recognisable that this is an inescapable fact. While Yorke's presence within Atoms For Peace gives the group massive exposure, it could be argued that his presence will also draw unwarranted comparisons between themselves and Radiohead. While there are obvious similarities between the groups with Yorke being accompanied by Nigel Godrich here, AMOK explores rhythm and electronica in a way that Radiohead never have done and bears a far closer resemblance to Yorkes solo record "The Eraser", a record I found highly enjoyable.
    Each track on AMOK seems to be built around a beat and rhythm with Yorkes vocals snipped and layered on top. You can hear occasional sparse piano and guitars in the background but it is the beat and rhythm that is always the driving force with Flea's bass work supporting the layers of rhythm. Radiohead tested this water occasionally on Hail to the Thief but the results were underwhelming. Atoms for Peace believer a more satisfactory experience here. The album has exceptional consistency and is always engaging with a couple of stand outs Default and Ingenue. I suppose the acid test for these side projects and supergroups is whether you'd like to hear another record for them. On the evidence provided on AMOK, the answer is a definite yes.
    Expand
  9. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I find this album a great one. I find people dislikes this album because it sounds like Thom Yorke and not like Radiohead, but, What's the problem? This album is great from the first song to the last song (the one i think is the best). Expand
  10. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    It always took time to really enjoy a Radiohead or Thom Yorke album recently, since the "Kid A" experimentations. All these album were finally great when you start to know it better.

    With AMOK, it's the first time I really love one of Thom's albums without having to listen to it 5 or 10 times. It's really great and I can't find the words to describe it with my poor English (sorry).
  11. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    The important thing to me is that this album reflects a lot of the zeitgeist and puts music to the shape of the future of this planet. A Beyonce album or a White Stripes album can be equally well crafted, but this music comes from ruminations on issues that affect far more people and have far greater chance of being averted if we act realistically rather than escaping into 'bright fakeThe important thing to me is that this album reflects a lot of the zeitgeist and puts music to the shape of the future of this planet. A Beyonce album or a White Stripes album can be equally well crafted, but this music comes from ruminations on issues that affect far more people and have far greater chance of being averted if we act realistically rather than escaping into 'bright fake sunshine'. It's well crafted and the message is (non-politically) forceful and deep felt (and thought) Expand
  12. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    It's the natural progression Yorke's work seems to be taking, putting more distance between himself and the early work of Radiohead. As ever, though, the sound is original and there's enough in it to keep the listener entertained until Radiohead get back in the studio.
  13. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This album has destroyed my willingness to listen to anything else. I have been listening to AMOK since it came out... On repeat... Every chance I get. It might sound obsessive I know, but I cannot stop. I truly believe this diamond in the ruff, unappreciated, work of art, is a stroke of genius. This album holds a musical honey-trap under it's layers, once you are in, you are done. ThoseThis album has destroyed my willingness to listen to anything else. I have been listening to AMOK since it came out... On repeat... Every chance I get. It might sound obsessive I know, but I cannot stop. I truly believe this diamond in the ruff, unappreciated, work of art, is a stroke of genius. This album holds a musical honey-trap under it's layers, once you are in, you are done. Those who have listened to AMOK in it's entirety less than 5 time, barely scratched the surface of this brilliant, complex, moving and unique album. AMOK stands on it's own and should not be compered. Each musician in this cast brings his own musical signature and is flawlessly put together. The best album I've listened to in years. Expand
  14. Mar 10, 2013
    7
    Upon on it's release questions and anxiety filled the air of whether will Yorke continue to walk on the same path that The Eraser dug and he has. Now it might seem to you that the album cover has the words Atoms for peace written on it, but don't let them mess with your head as this is Thom Yorke's solo album, at least it seems to be when music comes to light. AMOK is an electronicallyUpon on it's release questions and anxiety filled the air of whether will Yorke continue to walk on the same path that The Eraser dug and he has. Now it might seem to you that the album cover has the words Atoms for peace written on it, but don't let them mess with your head as this is Thom Yorke's solo album, at least it seems to be when music comes to light. AMOK is an electronically filled record that builds on the eraser. Every song has been produced wonderfully and it really is a pleasure listening to the plausible songs that awake your inner senses. From radiohead to this point and onward, Yorkes music has been evolving and building the foundation to the electronic and more avant garde direction but while flying in that direction it seems to me that he had been dropping, time to time, some of the elements that made his music one of the best. It came to this point, AMOK, where the sound in general just lacks that fusion of melodies and layers of non computer made elements with the intelligently produced electronic beats (I'll give the example of his previous experimental work: idioteque, like spinning plates, sit down stand up..) Don't get me wrong as this is a live band, but the end product sounds a bit too often like it's been done entirely on the mix table. The album delivers just enough to make you call it a success, but the bland and monotone sound sometimes just shatters the expectations of Thoms recognisable sound experimentation. The problem is that this album has too many good songs, but no further than good as they don't push the boundaries that would make them enter the world of brilliance and profoundness. There are some exceptions that go either way: one that leaves your brain damaged from the ear scorchingly beats that just don't stop in their intentions to repeat themselves and the other that makes you look up to the sky to thank the gods that they gave you the endowment to hear. Overall, this is an album that gives you what you need but in the end leaves you wondering if you could've gotten more. Expand
  15. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    What AMOK isn’t (as the critics so obsessed with extra-musical baggage would have you believe) is some overwrought super-group experiment. What it is, though, is a collection of deftly arranged, pulsating, driving songs. Thom Yoke’s vocals songwriting are at their best here, marrying beautifully slow melodies to quick rhythmic patterns (“Before Your Very Eyes”); subtly altering theWhat AMOK isn’t (as the critics so obsessed with extra-musical baggage would have you believe) is some overwrought super-group experiment. What it is, though, is a collection of deftly arranged, pulsating, driving songs. Thom Yoke’s vocals songwriting are at their best here, marrying beautifully slow melodies to quick rhythmic patterns (“Before Your Very Eyes”); subtly altering the phrasing of a repeated lyric (creating a hypnotic, climatic effect on “Unless”); and is at its warmest and most affectionate (“Ingenue”). Beautiful, deep record that reveals itself more and more through each repeated listen. Expand
  16. Feb 28, 2013
    8
    It must first be established that this is not Radiohead and this is not Thom Yorke's solo project; this is a separate entity. That being said, this is a great start for Atoms for Peace. This doesn't feel like a superband mashed together with random members, no--this feels like an actual band that I can look forward to future releases from. On the downside, I love bassist Flea, but the bassIt must first be established that this is not Radiohead and this is not Thom Yorke's solo project; this is a separate entity. That being said, this is a great start for Atoms for Peace. This doesn't feel like a superband mashed together with random members, no--this feels like an actual band that I can look forward to future releases from. On the downside, I love bassist Flea, but the bass feels way too high in the mix. Nonetheless, this is an intriguing beginning and a solid buy. Expand
  17. Mar 1, 2013
    0
    It sounds just like The Eraser part 3. Instead of continuing to learn more about the world and challenge the standards of music and mediocrity, Thom Yorke has become what he used to rail against: a kicking screaming gucci little piggy. I turned off after In Rainbows which, while it didn't break new ground for Radiohead, still had a heart. Amok doesn't even carry a pulse, only the bland andIt sounds just like The Eraser part 3. Instead of continuing to learn more about the world and challenge the standards of music and mediocrity, Thom Yorke has become what he used to rail against: a kicking screaming gucci little piggy. I turned off after In Rainbows which, while it didn't break new ground for Radiohead, still had a heart. Amok doesn't even carry a pulse, only the bland and vague anxious Thom Yorke vocals/electronics that are technically good enough for critics to give it no lower than a 6, even if they'd prefer another OK Computer, or at least another Hail to the Thief. Expand
  18. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    Atoms for peace are a supergroup if so to call it that. Consisting of thom yorke and flea they have produced a decent album. A lot of people won't give it a chance cos of their love for Radiohead but i am open to new changes and found myself liking this album. Favourite song off the album is 'dropped'.
  19. Mar 24, 2013
    6
    Well I guess this is just sorta what we get now from Thom Yorke. Its not bad, by any means. Its certainly not as dull as the average guy from the 90's who's still releasing albums. But "Amok" makes no headway musically from Thom's last solo album, Eraser, which he released seven years ago. If anything, it sounds less focused. I keep calling this Thom's album because, even though theWell I guess this is just sorta what we get now from Thom Yorke. Its not bad, by any means. Its certainly not as dull as the average guy from the 90's who's still releasing albums. But "Amok" makes no headway musically from Thom's last solo album, Eraser, which he released seven years ago. If anything, it sounds less focused. I keep calling this Thom's album because, even though the band he's put together is full of talented musicians in their own right, they obviously had little input into this. Either that, or their musical outlook exactly mirrors Thom's own, circa 2006. Anyway, "Amok" isn't bad by any means, but there's absolutely nothing new here. Expand
  20. Apr 15, 2013
    9
    As the great Beethoven once said, "If you don't like afrobeat electronica, get the out!". It's fun album with a lot of good ideas. It's cut from the same cloth as Yorke's solo stuff and King of Limbs. A little heavier on the electronica side, with a hint of kuti's afrobeat. It's not for everyone, but what is? I find it to best the best of Yorke's experimental electronica.
  21. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Thom Yorke and his other talented bandmates have formed an alternative rock supergroup called Atoms For Peace, and their debut record contains the thrills and vibes of an IDM album, but still lacks at being what it was hyped up to be. Nothing here on this record astonished me, but at the same time, the strikingly original beats and spidery guitars grew on me. It's a record you can eitherThom Yorke and his other talented bandmates have formed an alternative rock supergroup called Atoms For Peace, and their debut record contains the thrills and vibes of an IDM album, but still lacks at being what it was hyped up to be. Nothing here on this record astonished me, but at the same time, the strikingly original beats and spidery guitars grew on me. It's a record you can either love or hate. It's either AMOK, or The King Of Limbs, part two. Is this what Thom Yorke has wanted to do to Radiohead? Expand
  22. Jun 4, 2013
    4
    I can't help but feel with Amok that the formidable line-up goes to waste. This just feels like 'The Thom Yorke Show'. It is undoubtedly clever yet the horrible side-effect of this is that it is terrible dull and lacklustre. If they come back for another album, I want to hear Flea's energy pumped into it and then maybe we will be onto something great.
  23. Jul 31, 2013
    8
    First of all its important to establish that this isn't Radiohead Amok has far more in common with Thom Yorkes solo work than Radiohead. Im not really a fan of electronica so i was apprehensive when buying this album but there was no need to worry, Amok is a great album especially Ingenue and Default.
  24. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    This one is definitely a grower, like most of Yorke's work. But after listening multiple times, I'm obsessed. This is top class electronic music, and Godrich is one of the best producers in the biz. The hooks are hard to find, but that's because the melodies are so intricate and complex. Flea's bass lines add a groovy feel to the mix. The rest of the instruments feel minimal, but in aThis one is definitely a grower, like most of Yorke's work. But after listening multiple times, I'm obsessed. This is top class electronic music, and Godrich is one of the best producers in the biz. The hooks are hard to find, but that's because the melodies are so intricate and complex. Flea's bass lines add a groovy feel to the mix. The rest of the instruments feel minimal, but in a good, mature way. A rich, challenging album that is one of the year's best in my opinion. Only wish it were longer! Expand
  25. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    Honestly thought it was a step down from the Eraser (Thom Yorke's previous solo effort). Thought the album was "fun" for the first listen through, but as I listened more and more the rhythms and melodies stood out less and less and at times seemed so similar I felt as if it were the same song. I'm largely disappointed at the fact this doesn't sound anything like the super group they claimHonestly thought it was a step down from the Eraser (Thom Yorke's previous solo effort). Thought the album was "fun" for the first listen through, but as I listened more and more the rhythms and melodies stood out less and less and at times seemed so similar I felt as if it were the same song. I'm largely disappointed at the fact this doesn't sound anything like the super group they claim to be. It sounds like Nigel and Thom tinkering on a laptop until they get what satisfies their ears. I feel like all of this could have been made up for had Yorke's emotion not been so transparent. I hope their next direction is away from pop. Expand
  26. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    I must admit I am pleasantly surprised by Amok from new supergroup Atoms For Peace.. In some ways this project sounds like a hybrid between Radiohead's 'King Of Limbs' and Thom Yorke's 'The Eraser', but definitely stands out and surpasses them in several aspects. AMOK is livelier, sunnier, and much more colorful than Eraser, while much more fun and engaging than King Of Limbs.

    I gave
    I must admit I am pleasantly surprised by Amok from new supergroup Atoms For Peace.. In some ways this project sounds like a hybrid between Radiohead's 'King Of Limbs' and Thom Yorke's 'The Eraser', but definitely stands out and surpasses them in several aspects. AMOK is livelier, sunnier, and much more colorful than Eraser, while much more fun and engaging than King Of Limbs.

    I gave this album a 9 out of 10 because as a fan of Radiohead and Thom Yorke, I find it to be a much more enjoyable listen than much of Yorke's prior work. Unlike many of his past projects, AMOK mesmerizes you with its beauty and richness without depressing you into the greys and blues that have become so familiar on Radiohead albums and on Yorke's solo album The Eraser. The one and only negative I found was that the other musicians sometimes seem underutilized, which has been a perennial problem for "dictator" Yorke since 1997's 'OK Computer'.

    The opening track 'Before Your Very Eyes' immediately calls to mind the sounds of the rainforest thanks to Brazilian percussionist Mauro Refosco and an immediately recognizable blend of rhythm and (simulated) horns. The next track 'Default' has touches of both Beck and the French electronic duo Air. The third track 'Engenue' sounds suspiciously similar to the track 'Atoms For Peace' from The Eraser, from which the band derives its name. Track number 4 'Dropped' incorporates some percussion elements that are somewhat reminiscent of the soundtrack from the 1988 Japanese anime 'Akira'.

    Track 5 'Unless' is another percussion-heavy piece featuring Afro-Brazilian rhythms and rapid tempo helped along by Mauro Refosco. Red Hot Chilli Peppers bassist Flea carries the tempo for the next track 'Stuck Together Pieces' and again seems underutilized, but there is plenty of room here for some live show soloing.

    Track 7, 'Judge Jury and Executioner' takes us into the final stretch beginning an impressive trio of songs that feature Yorke's layered vocals laid out over clap-heavy percussion. Along with the next track 'Reverse Running', these two songs contain the most interesting and intelligible lyrics and the album's only semblance of a narrative. Track 8 concludes with a sequence of nostalgic effects that are strongly reminiscent of Radiohead's OK Computer.

    And finally the last track 'Amok' briefly sounds like an old Moby tune before transforming into 'The Gloaming' meets 'We Young Blood' meets '2 2 5' from Radiohead's 2003 album Hail To The Thief. Seriously, the way this album ends is so reminiscent of that album that I was prompted to listen to it again for the first time in probably five years.

    Overall this album should have been a 10, but in my book loses a point because I was expecting more from Flea. Yorke is a dictator, there's no question about it. I am actually left anticipating the next Atoms For Piece collaboration than the next Radiohead project because it seems that the latter have exhausted themselves a bit. Perhaps Thom York will finally grow up and let the other guys contribute a bit more to the overall aesthetic of his projects, which I've been waiting for since 1997. That aside, Amok is an excellent album that has a lot to offer but will probably be overlooked.
    Expand
  27. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Perfect and incredible album, like a second part of The Eraser, the mix of Thom and Flea's brains was a good idea, I hope they release a new album soon.
  28. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    Brilliant album. Thom Yorke just keeps going and going, like a musical genius version of the Energizer Bunny. Most geniuses peter out by the time they reach Thom's age. There was a lot of "supergroup" nonsense bandied about by tired alcoholic music journalists who can't think of anything else to say, but in reality Thom is responsible for 80% of what's going on in your headphones, justBrilliant album. Thom Yorke just keeps going and going, like a musical genius version of the Energizer Bunny. Most geniuses peter out by the time they reach Thom's age. There was a lot of "supergroup" nonsense bandied about by tired alcoholic music journalists who can't think of anything else to say, but in reality Thom is responsible for 80% of what's going on in your headphones, just like he is on Radiohead records. My expectations for everything he does are sky-high and I have never been disappointed so far. Flea's contributions on bass are excellent as always, but this is basically a Thom Yorke solo record in which he is accompanied by some very talented instrumentalists doing what he tells them. Lyrically and musically this album is densely layered and intricate. Critics who harp on the purported "inscrutability" or "meaninglessness" of Thom's lyrics are simply too dull to interpret them, the kind of people who probably didn't read enough of "the canon" in secondary school. His lyrics are poignant, subtle, and beautifully oblique. For example, on "Before Your Very Eyes", he doesn't sing something artlessly direct like "gee son I'm getting older now and my impending mortality has taught me that you better gather ye rosebuds while ye may because life is a crapshoot", he's just going to croon mournfully about "time's fickle card game with you and I", because he's Thom Yorke, and he has read books. What a great album. Expand
  29. Feb 17, 2014
    7
    it isn't a perfect collaboration, what with occasional tracks feeling simply more weak and slurred, but Amok is otherwise a well played and composed collection of light electronic songs.
  30. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    Debut albums are usually great, in some way cornerstone for the rest of the artist's or band's career.
    This is debut album, but this guys are not newbies. Far from it.
    I can't decide if this album make me depressed or exhilarated. Maybe it makes me bipolar. Sure thing is that makes me creative. But every Radiohead/Thom Yorke thing does. I love his voice (in both literal and literary
    Debut albums are usually great, in some way cornerstone for the rest of the artist's or band's career.
    This is debut album, but this guys are not newbies. Far from it.
    I can't decide if this album make me depressed or exhilarated. Maybe it makes me bipolar. Sure thing is that makes me creative. But every Radiohead/Thom Yorke thing does. I love his voice (in both literal and literary sense). For some time now sounds on their web site are my background.
    Echoes of empty world. But that was on some level inspiration or aspiration or theme of album? Right?
    But maybe I got it wrong. I love this album very much. I do however, miss potential of Flea potential.
    Does that makes sense?

    I adore the way songs so simply spill into each other. Like one giant symphony.
    I love traces of Massive Attack's "Dissolved Girl".
    I love traces of Clint Mansell's "Requiem For A Dream" soundtrack.
    And I especially love the last song which sums the whole album.

    I do love words games. The whole AMOK thing. And word peace coming right out of O in the album cover.

    If you can listen this album without any knowledge of who Thom Yorke or Flea or Nigel Godrich are, you will love it. Scratch that. You will adore it. I can't say if this is as good as it gets from Atoms for Peace. But it is great already.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    67
    While not as inscrutable as Yorke's finest work, Amok brings him one step closer to blurring that distinction between man and machine.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    60
    There are moments of warped magic--haunting melodies, neat instrumental hooks, surprising turns of key and mood--but there are also times when you suspect it might have been more interesting to hear what Yorke and his collaborators came up with in the studio before it got eaten by ProTools.
  3. 90
    Amok is a tenaciously rich and strong album that is certainly the work of gifted musicians.