• Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Feb 26, 2013

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
Buy On
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    There are moments of warped magic--haunting melodies, neat instrumental hooks, surprising turns of key and mood--but there are also times when you suspect it might have been more interesting to hear what Yorke and his collaborators came up with in the studio before it got eaten by ProTools.
  2. 60
    Yorke's second album away from Radiohead is surprisingly accessible for one so extensively jammed then spliced together by machines.
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    Though far from the full-on dance album Yorke's DJ gigs and 50 Weapons single had presaged, Amok does feel like a collection of tracks, not songs.
  4. Feb 28, 2013
    There’s no mistaking the album for anyone but Yorke’s, but despite his rep as a singular genius, he does play well with others.
  5. Feb 26, 2013
    Amok is a palatable piece of 21st Century electronic pop that generally sounds complex without really being that complex at all. It’s as smooth a surface as Yorke has ever painted, without grain or contour. It seems designed to say little, to equivocate, to slither around the perimeter of our expectations.
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    Yorke, it goes without saying, is a fine songwriter, so there's nothing particularly wrong with the solid AMOK. The problem is that there's nothing incredible about it, either.
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    AMOK might be a weaker, meeker product than the output of Radiohead, but its compact nature, its genre codes, and its context are what’s important here. AMOK sums up Thom Yorke as he stands to today.
  8. 60
    Far from capturing their kinetic live energy, AMOK feels as isolated, distraught, and feeble as the characters littered about in Donwood’s tragic portrait.
  9. Yorke's lyrics, consisting mainly of repeated aphorisms and clichés ("A penny for your thoughts", "I've made my bed, I'll lie in it"), don't suggest any great depth.... But the sounds, bringing in elements of tropicalia, Afro-funk and laptronica, with glitches, rainforest sounds and superb analogue-synth squelches (if anyone steals the show here, it's Godrich), mean you hardly notice.
  10. Feb 22, 2013
    Recorded in just three days, it suffers many of the problems familiar from blues or jazz jam sessions, a sense of introversion as musicians focus their attention on each other rather than the listener, producing overlong grooves full of technically audacious moments and no overall purpose.
  11. Feb 21, 2013
    A striking, if flawed, first step. However offputting the band's genesis may seem, it's hard not to be intrigued as to where they might go next.
  12. The Wire
    Feb 15, 2013
    It's another cautious portion of well-made, moderately experimental not-quite-rock. [Feb 2013, p.49]
  13. Feb 21, 2013
    Apart from a precious few exceptions, none of the gathered musicians seem able nor willing to push each other into new musical territory that could yield fresh revelations about their union.
  14. Feb 26, 2013
    Though the roster of Atoms for Peace suggests a perfect blend of talents, the resultant amok is too much, too rapid, and too overwrought to reach the group’s full potential.
  15. Feb 26, 2013
    Thom Yorke used to make better music than the nine anemic Atoms for Peace cuts here.
  16. 40
    It's all typically hard work to decipher, both lyrically and musically, but unlike Yorke's earlier endeavours with Radiohead, this time I'm rather less convinced that it's going to be worth the effort. It's certainly less fun.
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    What AMOK isn’t (as the critics so obsessed with extra-musical baggage would have you believe) is some overwrought super-group experiment.What AMOK isn’t (as the critics so obsessed with extra-musical baggage would have you believe) is some overwrought super-group experiment. What it is, though, is a collection of deftly arranged, pulsating, driving songs. Thom Yoke’s vocals songwriting are at their best here, marrying beautifully slow melodies to quick rhythmic patterns (“Before Your Very Eyes”); subtly altering the phrasing of a repeated lyric (creating a hypnotic, climatic effect on “Unless”); and is at its warmest and most affectionate (“Ingenue”). Beautiful, deep record that reveals itself more and more through each repeated listen. Full Review »
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    I've always been torn between euphoria and confusion with anything Thom Yorke has been involved with. The lineup for this game is, however,I've always been torn between euphoria and confusion with anything Thom Yorke has been involved with. The lineup for this game is, however, nothing short of fantastic. I feel high everytime I listen to this. In fact, I feel as if I get higher and higher everytime I listen to it. It's just out of this world. Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I find this album a great one. I find people dislikes this album because it sounds like Thom Yorke and not like Radiohead, but, What's the problem? This album is great from the first song to the last song (the one i think is the best). Full Review »