• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Aug 15, 2006
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 380 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 380

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. gilm
    Aug 20, 2006
    4
    "Ain't no other man". Billy Hollyday!? Jazzy!!?? Michael Jackson all over, that's what it has... Double unoriginal: in genre an in interpretation!
  2. mikes.
    Aug 16, 2006
    4
    AMG overrated this album and this album is in my opinion worse than stripped. The main reason is that this album is simply not pop. The production is awful, old sounding, and the genre she's singing seems to be something one would hear on broadway during the 50's. That is why other critics praise this album just because it sounds different. But this type of different is bad, and AMG overrated this album and this album is in my opinion worse than stripped. The main reason is that this album is simply not pop. The production is awful, old sounding, and the genre she's singing seems to be something one would hear on broadway during the 50's. That is why other critics praise this album just because it sounds different. But this type of different is bad, and just plain whack. The only reason this type of album will have success is because its coming from a main stream artist. If an indie artist released this crap it would absolutely go unrecognized and be critically served a cold dish as well. Expand
  3. ChrisW
    Aug 23, 2006
    5
    She really missed on this one. If you're going to make a CD that has influences of early Blues and Jazz, why not go the full route? Just by saying the names of former Music Legends does not put you in that catagory. Far from it in fact. She got an amazing voice, but poor songwriting and weak productions fail these CD's.
  4. MattS
    Aug 29, 2006
    4
    Honestly, the ablum sucked to me. Becuase i mean seriously, she shifter from waering a whorey dress in that "Dirty" video and now, "Im trying to be serious"? Please, leave that to rock bands. Too much Pop music has flooded Teens , and that gives groups like 'Backstreet boys' 'Panic at the disco' and 'Beyonce' to make teeny music that will be xpected to be a Honestly, the ablum sucked to me. Becuase i mean seriously, she shifter from waering a whorey dress in that "Dirty" video and now, "Im trying to be serious"? Please, leave that to rock bands. Too much Pop music has flooded Teens , and that gives groups like 'Backstreet boys' 'Panic at the disco' and 'Beyonce' to make teeny music that will be xpected to be a big hit even though it's pontless, but they think they're GODS, so it's that what blinds people from PASSIONATE music. Believe me, I at first like Christina's music with that song "Beatiful' because she sounds more serious and more powerful with melodi songs, but now, what? "Ain't No Other Man'? Come on people, we hear that tune off MTV everyday! We neeed something new today! Music is rotting day by day! The same rap beat in everysong, the same dance beat in every song! Please get real and make sometihng unique. It's honestly annoying. Collapse
  5. SandyT
    Nov 12, 2006
    6
    Clean, Moving, Playing, Noise.
  6. NatCo
    Oct 21, 2006
    6
    Christina should have improved on the amazing stripped album and moved onto something different and up to date. The album appears to be based too much on the image and not the music itself.
  7. AlexR
    Aug 23, 2006
    6
    This album is disappointing. Yes, the voice is amazing, as one would expect from Christina, but she oversings everything, which means that listening quickly becomes a wearying experience. She needs to develop more varied ways of interpreting songs, rather than just belting them out, as Mariah Carey has learned to do over the years. Also, there are a lot of songs here that just don't This album is disappointing. Yes, the voice is amazing, as one would expect from Christina, but she oversings everything, which means that listening quickly becomes a wearying experience. She needs to develop more varied ways of interpreting songs, rather than just belting them out, as Mariah Carey has learned to do over the years. Also, there are a lot of songs here that just don't make the grade; they are unmemorable, feature boring, uninspiring lyrics, or are just tired pastiches. The 1930s and 40s style songs on Madonna's I'm Breathless album, for example, are much more fun and spontaneous. There are, however, some highlights, particularly on the first disc, such as Makes Me Wanna Pray, a gospel-tinged track that brings out the best in Christina. With some judicious editing, a strong one-disc record could have been made here, one that feels a little less like a cynical vanity project. Christina, we know you can sing; now, take a leaf out of Mariah's book, and on the next album, please don't forget to bring along the great songs. Expand
  8. JennB
    Sep 24, 2006
    6
    One thing I have noticed with Christina Aguilera's records is that they have a tendency to be uneven. There will be a track that is mecahnically and musically superior, such as "Cruz" on Stripped and "Save Me From Myself"....followed with too much filler. She has so much potential, but it seems like she's holding on to the sound that dominated pop in the late nineties. For her One thing I have noticed with Christina Aguilera's records is that they have a tendency to be uneven. There will be a track that is mecahnically and musically superior, such as "Cruz" on Stripped and "Save Me From Myself"....followed with too much filler. She has so much potential, but it seems like she's holding on to the sound that dominated pop in the late nineties. For her to grow, she may should try not playing it safe...go out on a limb. A lot of this record feels too safe. As a fan, I hope she continues to grow. Expand
  9. Berry
    Nov 2, 2009
    6
    She should have had only one disc. There's a lot of good songs: Ain't no other Man, Makes me wanna pray, Hurt, Candy man, Mercy on me, Still Dirrty, Welcome,The right man, gosh I forgot the other ones! But there are a lot of pretty bad ones like F.U.S.S (too bland), Thank you (?) ( really xtina?! It's basically a bunch of her fans saying how great she is blah blah blah...It She should have had only one disc. There's a lot of good songs: Ain't no other Man, Makes me wanna pray, Hurt, Candy man, Mercy on me, Still Dirrty, Welcome,The right man, gosh I forgot the other ones! But there are a lot of pretty bad ones like F.U.S.S (too bland), Thank you (?) ( really xtina?! It's basically a bunch of her fans saying how great she is blah blah blah...It should have been HER thanking them! And the background music was Genie in a Bottle.) slow down baby (Another bland pop hip hop song) and Trouble (just boring and pointless). Her second cd was more solid though. I love Xtina and I'm really looking forward to her next album but this just wasn't very good. It pains me to say this but she always seems behind the trends musically. I'm not suggesting she needs to follow the current trends either but i'd like her to do HER OWN THING and be unique and maybe not sound like other people or drop the hip-hop driven beats and also maybe pay more attention to the originality of the songs written and the music? Don't know if I make sense but if she ever wants to be a more well-rounded artist then she should do these things. Also this album struck me as pretty pretentious in regards to the length, and some of the songs, such as both intros (even though I loved them) . I hope her next one is better! Expand
  10. MattD.
    Aug 15, 2006
    6
    Aguilera has grown into her style at last. E! Online was being stupid as usual when they said they want another "Genie In A Bottle" - it is a good song, but its time is over! There are some cool grooves on this album. But Aguilera's vocals do not rise to the occasion. She still belts too much without mastering what she is singing. And the lyrics on the album do not rise above the Aguilera has grown into her style at last. E! Online was being stupid as usual when they said they want another "Genie In A Bottle" - it is a good song, but its time is over! There are some cool grooves on this album. But Aguilera's vocals do not rise to the occasion. She still belts too much without mastering what she is singing. And the lyrics on the album do not rise above the generic very often. Expand
  11. Sep 13, 2011
    6
    This is her worst album to date. I'm a fan, but this doesn't reflect her style, and it's also too old-sounding. Her vocals are great though, but the songs get boring.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Beyond the retro instrumentation, however, it's unclear what Aguilera has really learned from her idols.
  2. Aguilera doesn't have the gravitas of her heroes, and her forays into bluesy torch singing and '40s-style swing are stiff and mannered. But she needn't genuflect before the past -- she can make her own glorious kind of 21st-century noise.
  3. This rather bloated record should be regarded as a disappointment - an interesting one, but a disappointment none the less.