Bangerz - Miley Cyrus
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 312 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 312

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew that with the anticipated launchings of Lady Gaga and Katy Perry this would be a year very hard for a singer targeted by the public showing a teen getting mature work and earn the spotlight all she is doing is attacking people for the people to give attention to her and she can show she is a complete artist are not hypocrites n if she did all this fuss for sure Bangerz be heard but not receive due recognition see the latest albums of Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato If Madonna was certainly starting today you guys would be here saying the same thing after all she simulated masturbation on the counter kissed a Jesus black mouth made ​​an erotic book among many other controversies The same people who venerate today certainly prevent the rise of the biggest female pop artist of all time The most ironic of all this is to criticize criticize and criticize and have to admit that she is talented Miley still going too far Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Adorei o álbum, com certeza o melhor que ela já fez!! Cada musica que vai passando uma nova sensação que você vai sentindo, as vibrações são as melhores possíveis e a voz dela está maravilhosa!
    Miley está vindo e mostrando que quer encarar os grandes nomes da musica com esse cd, parabéns vc ganhou mais uma fã
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    The album is really very good I dont understand why many do not accept it. The album is more mature, and by far the best of it! People are judging the artist, not the album!
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Miley Cyrus' fourth album comes with a non-stop originality though all the album. There are probably two or three inferior tracks on the album, but the rest is a masterpiece. Mileys voice sounds so pure and non autotuned at all. Her voice is so personal and odd, in a awesome way. People dont take her seriously because she comes from Disney, but i can see her rockin it out at 50 like Madonna is doing. Her originialyty and her powerful voice is awesome in this. With a bad artwork, and a bad malbum name, it's the best album of the year. with out a doubt. It could be here 8 top five singles on here. Best tracks are Adore You, We Can't Stop, SMS, Wrecking Ball, Get It Right, Drive and Hands in the Air and Do My Thang. Brillantly album. perfectly produced by Mike WIll Made It. THey are all bangerz. Album of the year. Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz um CD perfeito com músicas de todos os estilos! Nele Miley prova que realmente está num patamar maior que as lixos da mamutona e da megamente, Miley resto da Disney. Beijocas gente
    um beijo exclusivo pra diva, allan, trix, junior bff, quione, felipe, todos os gabrieis, britta e luis e pro povo do fixo
    xau
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    Honestly i wasn't really looking forward to this album because i really dislike Miley these days but her latest singles We Cant Stop and Wrecking Ball were pretty good and surprisingly Bangerz isn't bad either. Its very different from her previous albums and though Miley doesnt have an amazing voice like her fellow Disney starlet, Demi, and some of the songs sound very generic and similar Bangerz is a praise worthy effort from her with a touch of rnb, pop and even country. I like her collaboration with Britney but the ones with the rappers seem pretty unnecessary. As a whole i like Bangerz and all her antics aside i'm impressed with Miley. She has finally found her place in the music industry and this is definitely the path she should pursue. My favorite tracks include 4x4, SMS, Adore You, FU and #GETITRIGHT. Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Best ALBUM EVER !
    twitter @DILEYvatic

    ☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺BUY BANGERZ ON ITUNES, ON STORES #NOW ☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺

    THE IS BACK
  8. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Surprisingly.. Cyrus didn't disappoint. Sick beats, vocals and producers make a killer album.. and she made a killer album. Possibly my favorite release this year.
  9. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    The album is POP perfection, everything is perfect about it from the production to the lyrics...
    Miley & her team did a good job, FU, Do My Thang & drive are everything !!!
    I enjoyed it every minute i've been listening to it
  10. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is amazing. Show her real voice and talent! This is definitely the best album of 2013. Cyrus want to find herself and I admire it. Go ahead Miley!
  11. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz álbum perfeito feat. maravilhoso que mostrou que a Miley uma diva de verdade & adulta, diferente das ex-colegas Bila Bulu e Jimmy Neutron, enterrou as wannabes e colocou a Miley num patamar de diva pop adulta de verdade. O resto só escória.
    Anabella, September, Dhivanna, Larissa, Sunshade, Guilherme, Wonderful, Katsopolis, Vinny,Yugito, José e Charmr rainhas da Pan.
  12. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    I bought this album expecting it to be okay. I was pleasantly surprised. This album has songs that reminds me of Hannah Montana, Old Miley, New Miley, Ke$ha, Rihanna, and Nicki Minaj. The only thing that was surprising was that she raps better than Rihanna and Ke$ha.
  13. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is amazing, Miley did a great job, all songs very well produced, passed away from electronic pop that most singers are using nowadays, did decent work and full of quality, and their attitudes are not reasons to say that the album is bad.
  14. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums of 2013. Bangerz has smash hits like "We Can't Stop" and "Wrecking Ball" amongst the best songs released this year. The album is a mix of Pop/rap and country. John Shanks is also back with writing credits on one of the best ballads "Maybe You're Right". And let's not forget Dr.Luke who made PARTY IN THE USA back in 2009.
    The album is amazing and won't
    disappoint you! Expand
  15. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    I am very proud of Miley, this cd exceeded my expectations. This album is catchy and Miley's voice sounds great. I love all the songs on the CD but my favorite songs have to be FU, Drive, Wrecking Ball, and Maybe You're Right.
  16. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is such a good album, it shows a side of Miley that the general public doesn't know, she's really talented. It's one of the few albums that I enjoy listening to all of the songs.
  17. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is an Amazing album with great lyrics and we can see the Miley Cyrus' musical evolution. Would love to buy it and I already did. ALBUM OF THE YEAR. Peace
  18. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    perfect, best album of tge worldddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
  19. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Miley Cyrus' new studio album, that can be considered her debut by many of her fans (due to the fact that there is a huge creative growth and music shift), 'Bangerz' is nothing more than a fabulous pop extravaganza. Whether you like Cyrus or not, it's impossible to deny her outstanding vocal talent.
  20. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is a refreshing album with too many genres to count. It appeals to every audience and shows the greatness that is Miley Cyrus's mentality and emotions. Unlike Rihanna, Katy etc. who remain the same throughout their career Miley has a made huge (and successful) transition from her previous album. Not only does this album deserve a Grammy for Best Pop Vocal Album, it also deserves Album of the Year. Well done Ms. Cyrus, you've proved talent can really overshadow your (bad ass) image. Expand
  21. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    She has great vocals and originality. You can't choose the best track. Sometimes the lyrics are funny, and sometimes has such emotional melody. One word: Unique
  22. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    BANGERZ is the ultimate pop craze for those who embrace multi-genre crossovers. The album has 16 tracks on it and at least 14/16 are pure perfection. Lyrically, it comes to prove Cyrus' maturity, while musically its versatile production and writing show a clear evolution in the pop star's artistry.

    Clear masterpieces on the album include ballads "Adore You" and "Wrecking Ball" and also
    rock-y tunes like "Drive" or "Someone Else" and also r&b-influenced "Rooting for My Baby" or "FU".

    10/10
    Expand
  23. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    This is the reborn of Miley Cyrus and she did it all too well! She wanted to leave the Hannah Montana image in the past and now she's trying "new" things. With this album she let us know she's not like their contemporaries Demi Lovato and Selena Gomez, she's better than they. With the anticipation of her single "We Can't Stop" Cyrus made clear they more-mature image. We should admit she's trying to "rap", but she's doing wrong. Songs like "FU", "Drive" and "4x4" have the potential to be a very good singles, even she can compete with more mature artist like Lady Gaga and Katy Perry in the charts. Expand
  24. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Every song adds something different to the album but at the end every little part comes together to form a big puzzle, you can see Miley starting in love with "Adore you" the first track in the album and ending with "Someone Else" which is about a broken heart and changing to the point that she doesnt know who she is.

    My favorite songs are the ones in which she speaks about her broken
    heart
    Drive
    FU
    Someone Else
    Maybe You're Right
    Wrecking Ball
    On my Own

    Miley also provides party anthems for those who like an upbeat song

    SMS
    4x4
    We Can't Stop
    #GetitRight

    They are all great songs i think she delivered what was so famously promoted, a solid pop album.
    Expand
  25. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Bangerz shows what Disney has always tried to hide the'' dark side'' of Miley. Dance songs, ballads powerful provocative lyrics. Bangerz came to renew the sweet Miley.
  26. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best Miley's album... Bangerz is so fantastic She is like a Rihanna, Lady Gaga, Adele ,Katy Perry, Madonna and more pop divas in just one person!! Expand
  27. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bangerz is an amazing album. It's an very beautiful gift for SMILERS. All the tracks are amazing
    Adore You, Drive, Wrecking Ball Is very power full Ballad.
    All the collobs. are amazing. My Darlin' Love, Money, Party, Hands In The Air, 4x4, SMS(Bangerz) are loveable.
    Her rapping skills are amazing in love, money, party, and Do My Thang
    Maybe you're right, On My Own, Someone Else, Rooting for My Baby are also gr8.
    In FU(feat. French Montana) Cyrus's Vocal are amazing.
    Drive is power full Ballad.. Hope She makes it her 3rd Single
    Overall It's a Best album 10/10
    Expand
  28. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    Look back at my review history and you'll see that this really isn't my genre. I just decided to listen to it in order to see if Miley's new songs were as shocking as her new personality. In a sense they are, but not for the reasons you would expect. While her personality has yet to find a good fit with people her new music definitely should. Cyrus swings back into the pop genre and proves that there's still a place for her there.

    Thankfully her songs are trashy like her new shock-based personality, but excellently crafted and a heck of a lot of fun to listen to. Even when she's experimenting with some bizarre country rap hybrid her beautiful voice and the great beats keep things enjoyable. While the songs "Adore You" and "My Darlin" fall short in my opinion the overall album is really one of the best pop records currently out there. Don't let who she's become detract you from enjoying her fantastic music. Even as someone who's not into the genre much at all, I found plenty to love here.
    Expand
  29. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    A great piece of work that her fans will appreciate. I like almost every track on the album and, surprisingly, the one I do not like is the one with Britney. Miley, way to do it!
  30. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    This album marks a new phase in Miley's career, she's entered her 20s and now she's assuming creative control over all her career aspects, including her image and her music. Bangerz is a very solid album, influenced by hip hop and R&B while incorporating other genres as well. I think critics and the public have been unfair with Miley, they're reviewing the image rather than the music itself, maybe her public image has been over the top but this is one of her best albums, the songs are great and well-produced and many of them have hit-potential. Best songs: We Can't Stop, 4x4, My Darlin', Wrecking Ball, Drive, FU, Maybe You're Right, Rooting For My Baby (bonus track on Deluxe version). Expand
  31. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    All the songs are amazing, especially We Can't Stop and Wrecking Ball. Miley honestly doesn't deserve nearly as much criticize as she's been getting. She has a lot of talent, this album proves it.
  32. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    After living up to the hype with ''We Can't Stop'', Miley continues to surprise & catch everyone's attention, musically,image wise & through videos. ''Bangerz'' is Miley's third studio album, although she herself calls it her ''Real debut''. The first track on the album ''Adore You'', is a very boring start to an album named Bangerz, maybe it would've fitted better around 12/13 with Someone Else & Maybe You're Right. As of now it's the third Bangerz single, which won against SMS (Bangerz), a bad decision in my opinion but anyways the song is good itself but not for an album opener to be honest. Track 2 is also the lead single ''We Can't Stop'', a great summer anthem and just overall fun song. Track 3 is one of the best in my opinion ''SMS (Bangerz)'', which features Britney Spears. The song is very original and different to anything Miley has done before and it really stands out on the album, definitely single worthy, maybe Miley's Summer 2014 anthem? Track 4 is ''4X4'' featuring Nelly, it's another different song, I can't put a certain genre on it but it's very country/pop, wouldn't put it out as a single although a really good thought out video could help the song. Track 5 is My Darlin', the worst song on the album, nothing wrong with Miley's vocals or lyrics, it's Future. Future has ruined a lot of songs with good potential (example Loveeee Song with Rihanna), so personally Miley should release this without Future as if this becomes a single with Future, it would be career-damaging. Track 6 is the highlight vocally & lyrically of the album & the second single from Bangerz, ''Wrecking Ball''. Wrecking Ball is amazing on all levels and something I wouldn't have expected from Miley's Bangerz era, never mind for something like this to serve as the second single. Track 7 ''Love Money Party'' is one of the stand outs and features Big Sean which adds to the song. Although the title may be deceiving as you'd expect from Miley after hearing We Can't Stop, lyrically it's actually very good. The beat & vocals are on spot and I think Big Sean really adds to the song, unlike Future who demolishes a song with potential. Track 8 is ''#GETITRIGHT'' another highlight, has high single potential. I can tell it would do well in the charts and in general. Track 9 ''Drive'' is where the album goes breakup/relationship talk lyrically, but sonically more dubstep. Drive is definitely single worthy and production wise is really good, everything about it is excellent. Track 10 is another dubstep anthem, although less emotional but stronger lyrically, ''FU'' is still an anthem. French Montana features on this track and doesn't add much, but I think it's good to have him on the record. FU should definitely be considered as a future single. Track 11 is one of my personal favourites ''Do My Thang'', an anthem that Miley tells off the haters & people who don't take her seriously. A highlight on Bangerz for sure and has good summer time single potential. Track 12 & 13 ''Maybe You're Right'',''Someone Else'' aren't my personal favourites but I have to complement them both lyrically. If you buy the deluxe version of ''Bangerz'', you get a special cover & some stickers, but the best part is you also get 3 extra songs. ''Rooting For My Baby'' comes in as track 14 and personally should've replaced track 12, but oh well. It's a very chilled song and Mileys vocals are great in this. I don't know if it'll be a single since it's on the deluxe because not many people release songs from the deluxe as singles but Miley's breaking all rules so who knows? Track 15 ''On My Own'' is one of the first I heard and I still like it. It kind of reminds me of a more modern 80's song. The last track is track 16, ''Hands In The Air'' which features Ludacris. It's a more hip-hop song than anything and is a good end to the album. Now of course i bought Bangerz when it came out (Oct. 4th in my country) and I've had it on repeat since along with Katy Perry's PRISM and i have to say Miley is doing no wrong and is by far one of the best albums of 2013. I also hope the rumours are true about ''Bangerz: Reloaded'' in 2014,but if you haven't bought Bangerz yet, i suggest you do! Expand
  33. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    Miley is back with a new image and a new sound. Leave aside the atrocious cover, her album serves just what we can expect from a pop girl and maybe a bit more with some influences from R&B, hip-hop and country. It's not something you hear a lot from this industry and it represents Cyrus's vision. Out of 16 songs, Pharell-produced tracks are probably the best.
  34. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    is new is good is the best album pop of this year everyone thing in this album make you think about the life about your relationship about your family friends and your way
  35. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Sink or swim, Miley swims like a champ...love her or hate her, how or why would anyone do the latter? A star is born with "Bangerz" being an exotic mesmerizing mix of musical styles with stellar & very soulful Miley vocals front and center, now it's apparent Hanna Montana has left the building for good, or as Miley reported on a "Saturday Night Live" update recently, she was murdered!
    Listening throughout this amazing versatile set, clearly this captivating artist found her musical direction, delivering a fascinating collection that is highly entertaining being filled with enthralling heart & soulful vocals that one can't stop listening to...who knew little Hanna Montana would hit such lofty musical heights as a spectacular mature young artist who is also something else on the world stage...welcome Miley Cyrus, your time is now & and sweetheart it is clear you have made it BIG TIME! This jammin' set full of credible artistry is going to go through the roof...
    Expand
  36. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    New reviewer reviewing my top cd's of 2013 this cd is so fun, cheecky, romantic, dramatic, intense, and I think she will be around a long time love it!
  37. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    THE NEW LOOK OF MILEY MAKES THIS ALBUM IS PERFECT WITH MANY ELECTRONIC BOOM, POP TRUE IF THESE ALSO NOTING THAT WHEN HIP HOP AND RAP IS MILEY IS THE BEST, AND SO heartbreaking BALADAS THAT MAKE YOU A TRANSPORT ANOTHER WORLD EVER HEAR THAT
  38. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This album is definitely a milestone from her last album. Her new mature sound really shows how much Miley Cyrus has progressed as an artist. With "We Can't Stop" and "Wrecking Ball" as the first two singles, Cyrus clearly can do no wrong with this album.
  39. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    This album is as annoying and insignificant as pricking the sole of your naked foot on an old toenail clipping embedded in the carpet.
    The consistant droning abuse of electronic drum tracks throughout the album as well as Miley's everlasting need to prove her carefree, "I don't give a reputation slaughters all stray inklings of musicality and creativity.
    As much as it pains me, Miley
    Cyrus has caught the 5 second attention span of our nation, and, I will admit...her music is catchy as hell.
    We all cringe and crinkle up our noses in disgust as we see her small, pale ass twerking across our television screens, but when we hear one of her trashy anthems, we jokingly sing along. And you know what America? We know all the words.
    How do we react? We chastise her. We point and laugh. We exploit her ridiculousness throughout the internet, creating forums and memes and parody videos. As the ever-analytical American public, we all reach out and connect over the most ridiculous celebrity of 2013. Miley is a fool. Instant friendships created, creative feedback brainstormed, all of this hype and excitement distracting and entertaining us from the bowels of our own mundane lives. All of this achievable over one celebrity.
    In the midst of this hysteria, Miley herself sits back in her Plumebanche sofa--joint in one hand, a slim-fast shake in the other-- and smirks as every teenage American spends their allowance money on her album and hollywood reporters line up at her door. And as she purchases another set of diamod encrusted brass knuckles to wear in her next video, young Americans can barely afford an outfit from their local mall. Now ask yourself; who's the fool now?
    Expand
  40. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Miley Is BACK WITH A VENGEANCE! The world better look out! I am a true smiler. Ive been obsessed with her since with 2006, and ive stuck with her through the good and the bad. And I don't give a crap what scandalous, provocative things she does, a fan is a fan. This album is THE BOMB! Leaving Hollywood Records was the best thing she ever did. Bangerz really shows a side of her never before seen by the general public. Disney was trying to mold her into something she not, so i don't blame her for rebelling. All that aside, i am OBSESSED with Hands In The Air. Not to mention #getitright and FU. A definite 10 Expand
  41. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    This album is proof that Hannah Montana is well and truly dead. I've never been a particularly big fan of Cyrus' music, nor of hip-hop in general, but Cyrus' authoritative and talented voice makes up for the more inferior songs, however few they may be, as when Bangerz hits the heights, it's awe-inspiring stuff with catchy hooks and a fresh fuse of Miley's new love - hip-hop - and her country roots. Expand
  42. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    I didn't really expect much of "Bangerz", looking at MiCy's new image and the titles of the tracks, "FU" and "Love Money Party". What's with all the hashtags and abbreviations? But wow, Miley really surprised me! This is like, one of the best albums I've ever heard. "4x4", "Rooting For My Baby" and the similar "On My Own" and "FU" are my favorites.
  43. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    It's a perfect album, so crazy and so amazing. SOOO BANGERZ. ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ Expand
  44. May 24, 2014
    10
    This Album is so perfect !! F**nking Bangerz, featuring with Britney Spears, Nelly, French Montana. This vocal is amazing, only e powerfull, I love Miley Cyrus, she's a best teen singer in the world
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    20
    We get a record that is surprisingly dull, which alternates between syrupy, unremarkable ballads and uptempo tracks that sound like they’ve been assembled by a committee of consultants.
  2. 40
    It's full of timid electropop anthems.
  3. Oct 10, 2013
    30
    Sometimes, like on the outstanding "Wrecking Ball," the emotion calcifies into catchy, mature hooks, propelled forth by Cyrus' oft-underestimated vocal heft. Then again, the breakup also produced "FU," a dismally adolescent electro-soul duet with French Montana.