Bangerz - Miley Cyrus
Bangerz Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 374 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Executive produced with Mike Will Made It, the hip-hop-influenced fourth studio release (and her first on the RCA label) for the former Disney star features guest appearances from Big Sean, French Montana, and Britney Spears.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. 91
    It's utterly fresh, a pop blitz from a hip-hop blueprint, and proof that Miley won't settle for just shocking us.
  2. 75
    Yet for all the attitude herehere's also "Do My Thang," a live-it-up club jam co-produced by will.i.am--Bangerz reveals that Cyrus isn't just a twerk-bot programmed to titillate (though there's always a need for one of those in pop music).
  3. 70
    Don’t be shocked that this album is mid-level pop, be surprised that even at 20, Miley can open her scope to encompass country, hip-hop, ballads, and even the electronic impulses of today’s pop.
  4. 60
    The record is at its weakest when it’s more hoedown than hoes down.... Generally though, Cyrus’s fourth album is more--ahem--bangers than clangers.
  5. Bangerz is at times touching and at others a blast--but for a disappointingly large portion it’s as annoying as her detractors had hoped.
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    40
    Bangerz is a precise album that flits between bombastic and turgid; it is not very fun.
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    20
    We get a record that is surprisingly dull, which alternates between syrupy, unremarkable ballads and uptempo tracks that sound like they’ve been assembled by a committee of consultants.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 115
  2. Negative: 21 out of 115
  1. Dec 31, 2014
    10
    It's an odd phenomenon that people choose to let someone's image affect how they feel about their music. Say what you want about Miley Cyrus'sIt's an odd phenomenon that people choose to let someone's image affect how they feel about their music. Say what you want about Miley Cyrus's venture into "adult pop" - making this her first explicit record and her most sexually charged lyrically - Bangerz manages to transform Cyrus from just another tween star to a headliner worthy of being on the same ranks as Rihanna, Katy Perry, and Christina Aguilera. What Bangerz gets right is capturing the heartbreak, triumph, loss, success and failure of a larger than life celebrity thrust into the spotlight by the powerful Disney machine. 'Bangerz' often plays out like a storybook, transitioning from pop-y, light, syrupy ballads (Adore You, My Darlin') to angsty, screw you anthems directed (presumably) at her ex-fiance (FU, Drive, Wrecking Ball) and ending with the revealing "Someone Else". And Cyrus is right, she has turned into 'someone else', a visionary and pop powerhouse we'd never seen before under the restraints of her Disney label 'Hollywood Records'. What makes this album so special is that all its faults are what make it good. The lyrics sound like they're written by a 21 year old. The beats all has style and substance. The visuals all feel raw, as those of a young woman finding herself. What Cyrus does with Bangerz is what Aguilera did with Stripped a decade prior - pour her heart, confusion, anger, and soul into a highly stylized record that deliberately plays off the artists strengths and weaknesses to an equal degree, making this one of the few records that feel and sound like the artists own vision rather than the label produced offerings many artists in Cyrus's genre put out. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    perfect, best album of tgeperfect, best album of tge worldddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew thatBangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew that with the anticipated launchings of Lady Gaga and Katy Perry this would be a year very hard for a singer targeted by the public showing a teen getting mature work and earn the spotlight all she is doing is attacking people for the people to give attention to her and she can show she is a complete artist are not hypocrites n if she did all this fuss for sure Bangerz be heard but not receive due recognition see the latest albums of Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato If Madonna was certainly starting today you guys would be here saying the same thing after all she simulated masturbation on the counter kissed a Jesus black mouth made ​​an erotic book among many other controversies The same people who venerate today certainly prevent the rise of the biggest female pop artist of all time The most ironic of all this is to criticize criticize and criticize and have to admit that she is talented Miley still going too far Collapse
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    for one, this is way better than the Can't Be Tamed record she did. Way better. as with almost all pop tarts there is, i find the music changefor one, this is way better than the Can't Be Tamed record she did. Way better. as with almost all pop tarts there is, i find the music change almost expected. It did pay off for working with such writers and producers by the way.

    im just not sure about the variety of music she offers. but it sounds fresh on her track lists.

    We know she cant sing the way Christina Aguilera or Alicia Keys does but the arrangements somehow did justice to what voice quality she has.

    bottom line is, she is misunderstood. i just wish she can transcend that to be more than just a joke.
    Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    7
    As much as I hate to say this, the album is actually not that bad. I was expecting an album full of explicit lyrics and all the tweaks thatAs much as I hate to say this, the album is actually not that bad. I was expecting an album full of explicit lyrics and all the tweaks that are just seeking for attention, but it's quite different. Yeah, there's a few swear words here and there but not that much as I imagined. The album has some good songs. No song is better than 'We Can't Stop', but they complement it very well! Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2014
    4
    Most of the songs were quite boring and Dunbar. There were a few ones I did like such as adore you, we can't stop and wrecking ball. AsideMost of the songs were quite boring and Dunbar. There were a few ones I did like such as adore you, we can't stop and wrecking ball. Aside from that it was useless garbage Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Este disco realmente no me provoca nada, debería de ser usado como metodo de tortura... Tiene los peores videos del año y las canciones niEste disco realmente no me provoca nada, debería de ser usado como metodo de tortura... Tiene los peores videos del año y las canciones ni siquiera se te quedan en la cabeza. Expand

See all 115 User Reviews