Bangerz - Miley Cyrus
Bangerz Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 361 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Executive produced with Mike Will Made It, the hip-hop-influenced fourth studio release (and her first on the RCA label) for the former Disney star features guest appearances from Big Sean, French Montana, and Britney Spears.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. 91
    It's utterly fresh, a pop blitz from a hip-hop blueprint, and proof that Miley won't settle for just shocking us.
  2. 75
    Yet for all the attitude herehere's also "Do My Thang," a live-it-up club jam co-produced by will.i.am--Bangerz reveals that Cyrus isn't just a twerk-bot programmed to titillate (though there's always a need for one of those in pop music).
  3. 70
    Don’t be shocked that this album is mid-level pop, be surprised that even at 20, Miley can open her scope to encompass country, hip-hop, ballads, and even the electronic impulses of today’s pop.
  4. 60
    The record is at its weakest when it’s more hoedown than hoes down.... Generally though, Cyrus’s fourth album is more--ahem--bangers than clangers.
  5. Bangerz is at times touching and at others a blast--but for a disappointingly large portion it’s as annoying as her detractors had hoped.
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    40
    Bangerz is a precise album that flits between bombastic and turgid; it is not very fun.
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    20
    We get a record that is surprisingly dull, which alternates between syrupy, unremarkable ballads and uptempo tracks that sound like they’ve been assembled by a committee of consultants.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 110
  2. Negative: 21 out of 110
  1. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    Forget Disney Forget Hannah Forget that child, and that the real Miley Cyrus, she and another child she and a woman with attitude, don'tForget Disney Forget Hannah Forget that child, and that the real Miley Cyrus, she and another child she and a woman with attitude, don't compare her as a Teen star she and superior to all. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Miley Cyrus' new studio album, that can be considered her debut by many of her fans (due to the fact that there is a huge creative growth andMiley Cyrus' new studio album, that can be considered her debut by many of her fans (due to the fact that there is a huge creative growth and music shift), 'Bangerz' is nothing more than a fabulous pop extravaganza. Whether you like Cyrus or not, it's impossible to deny her outstanding vocal talent. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew thatBangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew that with the anticipated launchings of Lady Gaga and Katy Perry this would be a year very hard for a singer targeted by the public showing a teen getting mature work and earn the spotlight all she is doing is attacking people for the people to give attention to her and she can show she is a complete artist are not hypocrites n if she did all this fuss for sure Bangerz be heard but not receive due recognition see the latest albums of Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato If Madonna was certainly starting today you guys would be here saying the same thing after all she simulated masturbation on the counter kissed a Jesus black mouth made ​​an erotic book among many other controversies The same people who venerate today certainly prevent the rise of the biggest female pop artist of all time The most ironic of all this is to criticize criticize and criticize and have to admit that she is talented Miley still going too far Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2014
    8
    This is my favorite Miley album. Love R&B sounds, more urban than popish, that's what I really love about the album. She's exploring newThis is my favorite Miley album. Love R&B sounds, more urban than popish, that's what I really love about the album. She's exploring new sounds and that's amazing. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    The feats damaged some songs like My Darlin, overall, the album is generic and very cartoonish, but not all bad, have good songs, especiallyThe feats damaged some songs like My Darlin, overall, the album is generic and very cartoonish, but not all bad, have good songs, especially Wrecking Ball which is the best music made by Miley. As a whole, Bangerz disappointed to have good singles and give us the idea that we could expect something really big, but still has a picture of a singer who wants to do everything to stay in the spotlight without doing songs with a depth and resonance striking. I hope that she finds her personality and her music style. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2014
    4
    Razoável. Miley não conseguiu cativar o público com seu "Bangerz". Certas faixas me deram sono. O Album tem potencial para vender. Mas, oRazoável. Miley não conseguiu cativar o público com seu "Bangerz". Certas faixas me deram sono. O Album tem potencial para vender. Mas, o album continua me soando como algo qualquer. Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    0
    How many changes is up to a Miley Cyrus for a hit? Miley is the perfect way to see that #1 is NOT all that matters. She was a gorgeous andHow many changes is up to a Miley Cyrus for a hit? Miley is the perfect way to see that #1 is NOT all that matters. She was a gorgeous and cute teenage girl, but now, just an attwh*re.
    Sincerely, Party In The U.S.A. is better than this whole album.
    Expand

See all 110 User Reviews