Bangerz - Miley Cyrus
Bangerz Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 343 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Executive produced with Mike Will Made It, the hip-hop-influenced fourth studio release (and her first on the RCA label) for the former Disney star features guest appearances from Big Sean, French Montana, and Britney Spears.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. 91
    It's utterly fresh, a pop blitz from a hip-hop blueprint, and proof that Miley won't settle for just shocking us.
  2. 75
    Yet for all the attitude herehere's also "Do My Thang," a live-it-up club jam co-produced by will.i.am--Bangerz reveals that Cyrus isn't just a twerk-bot programmed to titillate (though there's always a need for one of those in pop music).
  3. 70
    Don’t be shocked that this album is mid-level pop, be surprised that even at 20, Miley can open her scope to encompass country, hip-hop, ballads, and even the electronic impulses of today’s pop.
  4. 60
    The record is at its weakest when it’s more hoedown than hoes down.... Generally though, Cyrus’s fourth album is more--ahem--bangers than clangers.
  5. Bangerz is at times touching and at others a blast--but for a disappointingly large portion it’s as annoying as her detractors had hoped.
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    40
    Bangerz is a precise album that flits between bombastic and turgid; it is not very fun.
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    20
    We get a record that is surprisingly dull, which alternates between syrupy, unremarkable ballads and uptempo tracks that sound like they’ve been assembled by a committee of consultants.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 104
  2. Negative: 21 out of 104
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Every song adds something different to the album but at the end every little part comes together to form a big puzzle, you can see Miley starting in love with "Adore you" the first track in the album and ending with "Someone Else" which is about a broken heart and changing to the point that she doesnt know who she is.

    My favorite songs are the ones in which she speaks about her broken heart
    Drive
    FU
    Someone Else
    Maybe You're Right
    Wrecking Ball
    On my Own

    Miley also provides party anthems for those who like an upbeat song

    SMS
    4x4
    We Can't Stop
    #GetitRight

    They are all great songs i think she delivered what was so famously promoted, a solid pop album.
    Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is a refreshing album with too many genres to count. It appeals to every audience and shows the greatness that is Miley Cyrus's mentality and emotions. Unlike Rihanna, Katy etc. who remain the same throughout their career Miley has a made huge (and successful) transition from her previous album. Not only does this album deserve a Grammy for Best Pop Vocal Album, it also deserves Album of the Year. Well done Ms. Cyrus, you've proved talent can really overshadow your (bad ass) image. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew that with the anticipated launchings of Lady Gaga and Katy Perry this would be a year very hard for a singer targeted by the public showing a teen getting mature work and earn the spotlight all she is doing is attacking people for the people to give attention to her and she can show she is a complete artist are not hypocrites n if she did all this fuss for sure Bangerz be heard but not receive due recognition see the latest albums of Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato If Madonna was certainly starting today you guys would be here saying the same thing after all she simulated masturbation on the counter kissed a Jesus black mouth made ​​an erotic book among many other controversies The same people who venerate today certainly prevent the rise of the biggest female pop artist of all time The most ironic of all this is to criticize criticize and criticize and have to admit that she is talented Miley still going too far Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    Cyrus want to find herself. I don't like her new attitude but I have to admit... the album sounds very good. Some songs are powerful and some sounds unnecessary (SMS). Anyway, she can be better and she is in the right way. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    The feats damaged some songs like My Darlin, overall, the album is generic and very cartoonish, but not all bad, have good songs, especially Wrecking Ball which is the best music made by Miley. As a whole, Bangerz disappointed to have good singles and give us the idea that we could expect something really big, but still has a picture of a singer who wants to do everything to stay in the spotlight without doing songs with a depth and resonance striking. I hope that she finds her personality and her music style. Expand
  6. May 25, 2014
    4
    This album was really unappealing. I really struggled to listen to every track on the album without skipping to the next. The "Mike Will Made It" mantra got irritating after a while, since you hear it throughout a majority of the album. Of an entire 30 minutes (or however long the album was) Wrecking Ball and We Can't Stop are the only 2 decent track, despite them being overplayed. "Scissorz" would have been a better title, for there was nothing about it that "Bangz" Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    0
    How many changes is up to a Miley Cyrus for a hit? Miley is the perfect way to see that #1 is NOT all that matters. She was a gorgeous and cute teenage girl, but now, just an attwh*re.
    Sincerely, Party In The U.S.A. is better than this whole album.
    Expand

See all 104 User Reviews