Bangerz - Miley Cyrus
Bangerz Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 411 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Executive produced with Mike Will Made It, the hip-hop-influenced fourth studio release (and her first on the RCA label) for the former Disney star features guest appearances from Big Sean, French Montana, and Britney Spears.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. 91
    It's utterly fresh, a pop blitz from a hip-hop blueprint, and proof that Miley won't settle for just shocking us.
  2. 75
    Yet for all the attitude herehere's also "Do My Thang," a live-it-up club jam co-produced by will.i.am--Bangerz reveals that Cyrus isn't just a twerk-bot programmed to titillate (though there's always a need for one of those in pop music).
  3. 70
    Don’t be shocked that this album is mid-level pop, be surprised that even at 20, Miley can open her scope to encompass country, hip-hop, ballads, and even the electronic impulses of today’s pop.
  4. 60
    The record is at its weakest when it’s more hoedown than hoes down.... Generally though, Cyrus’s fourth album is more--ahem--bangers than clangers.
  5. Bangerz is at times touching and at others a blast--but for a disappointingly large portion it’s as annoying as her detractors had hoped.
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    40
    The goofy, almost throwaway squaredance of a club song that is “4x4”, complete with some accordion work, might very well be album’s most memorable song: absurd, ridiculous, and actually playful in a way in which these other Bangerz aren’t.
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    20
    We get a record that is surprisingly dull, which alternates between syrupy, unremarkable ballads and uptempo tracks that sound like they’ve been assembled by a committee of consultants.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 121
  2. Negative: 21 out of 121
  1. Jan 31, 2015
    10
    Perfect vocal, funny, great songs, great producers, this album is amazing. Miley is incredible talented and has a long way on the musicPerfect vocal, funny, great songs, great producers, this album is amazing. Miley is incredible talented and has a long way on the music industry. Miley is f*cking Bangerz!!! Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Miley Cyrus' new studio album, that can be considered her debut by many of her fans (due to the fact that there is a huge creative growth andMiley Cyrus' new studio album, that can be considered her debut by many of her fans (due to the fact that there is a huge creative growth and music shift), 'Bangerz' is nothing more than a fabulous pop extravaganza. Whether you like Cyrus or not, it's impossible to deny her outstanding vocal talent. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew thatBangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew that with the anticipated launchings of Lady Gaga and Katy Perry this would be a year very hard for a singer targeted by the public showing a teen getting mature work and earn the spotlight all she is doing is attacking people for the people to give attention to her and she can show she is a complete artist are not hypocrites n if she did all this fuss for sure Bangerz be heard but not receive due recognition see the latest albums of Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato If Madonna was certainly starting today you guys would be here saying the same thing after all she simulated masturbation on the counter kissed a Jesus black mouth made ​​an erotic book among many other controversies The same people who venerate today certainly prevent the rise of the biggest female pop artist of all time The most ironic of all this is to criticize criticize and criticize and have to admit that she is talented Miley still going too far Expand
  4. Jan 14, 2015
    8
    It's a new album showing us another Cyrus's face. She makes up feel a hard and painful times she's been through. Wrecking Ball and Adore YouIt's a new album showing us another Cyrus's face. She makes up feel a hard and painful times she's been through. Wrecking Ball and Adore You are both powerful ballad with different points of view. I really love dancing to SMS (Bangerz) and Hands In the Air. We Can't Stop makes us understand we can do what we want to! Such a powerful voice on those songs! She shows us she can sing Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2014
    7
    This review is based on production value and not on any sort of my music taste level. Honestly, it's not the worst to come out of modern popThis review is based on production value and not on any sort of my music taste level. Honestly, it's not the worst to come out of modern pop "crap." This "stomachable" album proves that Miley may have what it takes to win over the hearts of millions, in both an overwhelmingly negative light, and a bright positive one. Based on her success, this album achieved what it needed to. A rather catchy listen is tracks such as "Wrecking Ball" and "We Can't Stop." The only song in my opinion that truly drops the albums value is "Do My Thang." Other than that, a worthy pop entry. Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    5
    It has stranges sounds, it is very diferent to the other Miley we had met, but is a good one. I was waiting for more because the singles areIt has stranges sounds, it is very diferent to the other Miley we had met, but is a good one. I was waiting for more because the singles are very strong, but the rest of the album is very diferent, there are songs that are good, but there are other ones that the lyrics and the melodies are totally failures, the combination of hip-hop and pop she could do it good, in others was awfull. I think it is a 50% of a good álbum, and another 50% of an awful one. Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Este disco realmente no me provoca nada, debería de ser usado como metodo de tortura... Tiene los peores videos del año y las canciones niEste disco realmente no me provoca nada, debería de ser usado como metodo de tortura... Tiene los peores videos del año y las canciones ni siquiera se te quedan en la cabeza. Expand

See all 121 User Reviews