Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    2 Chainz's debut album is a triumph on so many levels.
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    With the no-bullshit, spare-n-catchy Based on a T.R.U. Story, Chainz confirms himself as the quintessential 2012 rapper.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    2 Chainz commands the spotlight--rapping about success and sex with the irrepressible enthusiasm of the upstart he isn't.
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    2 Chainz over-promises and almost delivers on his official debut, putting him right in the punch-line rapper's sweet spot.
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    Based On A T.R.U. Story finds 2 Chainz mining the same territory he's been exploring for the past couple of years throughout his Codeine Cowboy and T.R.U. Realigion mixtapes, but fleshed out by the hollowness that comes as a side effect of spending too much time with Kanye West.
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    Mainly, it's good for some frivolous fun.
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    T.R.U. Story contains few surprises, and one less once you realize that its own opening line--"Cut the top off, call it Amber Rose"--isn't threatening decapitation.
  8. Aug 29, 2012
    There are no lyrical acrobatics-just his patented simple-sounding yet soon-to-be-sewn-in-your-brain one liners.
  9. Aug 29, 2012
    With his debut album he's revealed himself as bare and buffoonish.
  10. Aug 29, 2012
    There's not much that's dangerous about it, and the guests are guests you'd expect for someone who's suddenly as famous as Rick Ross.
  11. Aug 29, 2012
    Based on a T.R.U. Story isn't a great album, but was anyone expecting a great album from 2 Chainz?
  12. Aug 29, 2012
    The problem is that the hints of personality underneath the braggadocio overflowing on "Based on a T.R.U. Story" exist as faint flickers, pointing to a storytelling skill that has yet to be given the spotlight.
  13. Aug 29, 2012
    Unfortunately, this long-awaited CD from the Georgia MC relies on too many cliches to be a revelation.
  14. Aug 29, 2012
    Despite his chart success with Drake, many of 2 Chainz' pop maneuvers feel tone-deaf.
  15. Aug 29, 2012
    Overall, there's little to recommend about T.R.U. Story, with the album perhaps best serving as a warning that not everyone can make the transition from pinch hitter to bona-fide star.
  16. Aug 29, 2012
    Maybe we're supposed to love this album because it's the musical equivalent of a KFC Double-Down, filled with fancy co-stars and production, deep-fried, and devoid of any intellectual or nutritional value.
  17. 30
    The album is at its best when guests take the microphone and falls short nearly everywhere else.
  18. Aug 29, 2012
    This is, quite handily, so much of precisely "what is wrong with hip hop today"--tidily sequenced into an hour of mind numbing idiocy.
  19. Aug 29, 2012
    Contrasted with Lil Wayne's easy, seemingly effortless guest verse, 2 Chainz sounds like a rank amateur whose topics of choice -- strippers, money, drugs -- have been examined to death in hip-hop by others with a much more varied vocabulary.
User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 8 out of 13
  1. Sep 1, 2012
    simply the worst album of the past few years
    no flow no lyrics no decent sound no content even guest verses were equally bad , Nicki Minaj
    and lil wayne did what they do best (delivering unworthy of listening verses) and even kanye felt 2chainz's effect and did one of his worst verses of his career
    if Trap rap is a hole in hiphop's heart 2 chainz is at the end of the hole trying to dig it deeper
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    2 chainz is a great rapper and he is clever and funny, but his solo career is horrendous. Weak hooks, weak production. the album is straight up awful and one of the least enjoyable albums I have ever heard. Full Review »
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    Really, I should be giving Tauheed Epps a minus one for this horrendous album. I can't believe I bought four of the songs on it. But "Based on a T.R.U. Story" is one of the most hilarious albums I've ever heard. Each track has handfuls of amazingly stupid quotes that could come from no one else but Two Necklaces himself. Supplied with decent beats from producers like DJ Mustard, Chainz absolutely ruins them with his awful delivery and horrific lyrics. The only reason he gets two points is because whenever I'm in a bad mood, I pull up "I Feel Good" and laugh until my vocal cords blow out. 2 CHAINZ LYRIC SAMPLER: Track 01 "Yuck!" My girl came through and brought an extra body Now that's an after party for the after party Track 02 "Crack" Started from the trap, now I rap No matter where I'm at, I got crack Track 03 "Dope Peddler" I said I pull up to that club like motherf**king h* you don't know me Most of my n***as got gold teeth Most of my b*****s got tattoos Most of my n***s think cash rules Track 04 "No Lie" Name a n***a that want some I’ll out rap his ass, out trap his ass Put his ass in a plastic bag with his trashy ass Track 05 "Birthday Song" She got a big booty so I call her Big Booty Scrr..Scrr.. wrists moving, cooking, getting to it Track 06 "I'm Different" I'm different, yeah I'm different I'm different, yeah I'm different I'm different, yeah I'm different Track 07 "Extremely Blessed" 22s on the Lexus, named Alexis By the way of Texas Big face Rolexes Track 08 "I Luv Dem Strippers" Yeah, I love them strippers Yeah, I love them strippers Yeah, I love them strippers Track 09 "Stop Me Now" Foreign exchange, I walk in the rain Still won't get wet N***a flick up the flame twist up the game Switch up the chain Track 10 "Money Machine" I need a money machine I need a money machine I need a money machine Track 11 "In Town" Baby I just landed, you gon pick me up Heard you like to squirt, I might lick it up Track 12 "Ghetto Dreams" One, two that's a h* check Now for real, n***a this a whole check Track 13 "Wut We Doin?" What we doin'? What ya doin? What we doin'? What ya doin? What we doin'? What ya doin? What we doin'? Gettin' to it Gettin' to it Gettin' to it Gettin' to it Track 14 "Countdown" Facial expression, it started off with a text and The texting ended up special And now you next to a blessing Track 15 "Like Me" They ain’t never seen a n***a like me (uh), she ain't never seen a n***a like me (uh) Chance of that is unlikely; 2 Chainz in my white T Track 16 "I Feel Good" Ooh I feel good, ooh I feel good Ooh I feel good, ooh I feel good Ooh I feel good, ooh I feel good Track 17 "Riot" I'mma start a riot, I'mma start a riot I'mma start a riot, I'mma start a riot I'mma start a riot, I'mma start a riot I'mma start a riot, I'mma start a riot Full Review »