Based on a T.R.U. Story

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Aug 14, 2012
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    Mainly, it's good for some frivolous fun.
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    With his debut album he's revealed himself as bare and buffoonish.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    There's not much that's dangerous about it, and the guests are guests you'd expect for someone who's suddenly as famous as Rick Ross.
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    T.R.U. Story contains few surprises, and one less once you realize that its own opening line--"Cut the top off, call it Amber Rose"--isn't threatening decapitation.
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    There are no lyrical acrobatics-just his patented simple-sounding yet soon-to-be-sewn-in-your-brain one liners.
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    Based on a T.R.U. Story isn't a great album, but was anyone expecting a great album from 2 Chainz?
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    59
    The problem is that the hints of personality underneath the braggadocio overflowing on "Based on a T.R.U. Story" exist as faint flickers, pointing to a storytelling skill that has yet to be given the spotlight.
  8. Aug 29, 2012
    50
    Unfortunately, this long-awaited CD from the Georgia MC relies on too many cliches to be a revelation.
  9. Aug 29, 2012
    45
    Despite his chart success with Drake, many of 2 Chainz' pop maneuvers feel tone-deaf.
  10. Aug 29, 2012
    40
    Overall, there's little to recommend about T.R.U. Story, with the album perhaps best serving as a warning that not everyone can make the transition from pinch hitter to bona-fide star.
User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 10 out of 17
  1. Sep 1, 2012
    0
    simply the worst album of the past few years
    no flow no lyrics no decent sound no content even guest verses were equally bad , Nicki Minaj
    simply the worst album of the past few years
    no flow no lyrics no decent sound no content even guest verses were equally bad , Nicki Minaj and lil wayne did what they do best (delivering unworthy of listening verses) and even kanye felt 2chainz's effect and did one of his worst verses of his career
    if Trap rap is a hole in hiphop's heart 2 chainz is at the end of the hole trying to dig it deeper
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 12, 2016
    2
    Six songs in and I've not heard anything distinguishable from one to the next... every beat is generic, and there are only so many times aSix songs in and I've not heard anything distinguishable from one to the next... every beat is generic, and there are only so many times a theme can be repeated... You do crack, you boast about guns and money, Louis V, and you like strippers, almost as much as someone else's girl... I got all that from the first 10 mins. All the depth and complexity one would expect from a one-dimensional rapper who delivers gems like "If you a chicken head, go somewhere and lay some eggs" or "I am gettin' to the money, Crocodile dundee" and dont get me started on the laughable vocals on 'I Luv Dem Strippers'. Even the one genuine opportunity at something meaningful on 'Ghetto Dreams' turns out to be more dreaming about making cash. In all honesty, Im proud of myself for staying awake through this drivel... PS. It helps if your TRU story is actually interesting.
    My Top Tracks: No Lie, In Town, I Feel Good
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 23, 2015
    5
    2 Chainz is a funny guy, for sure, but this wasn't a very strong debut. Some of the songs here continue 2 Chainz (post-Tity Boi)'s history of2 Chainz is a funny guy, for sure, but this wasn't a very strong debut. Some of the songs here continue 2 Chainz (post-Tity Boi)'s history of great production with a lot of humorous lines that make those songs good, but most of the songs don't continue this tradition. I wasn't enjoying the production here. It ranged from boring to repetitive. Also, most of the lyrics here I did not enjoy. He had better of both of these things on the sequel. The only thing here that's shining is his originality. He has a unique style, although that's not even showing much on this album. Overall, a disappointing effort from 2 Chainz. I think he was capable of doing better than this. Grade: C/C+. Highlights: "I Luv Dem Strippers" (awesome sequel to Beez in the Trap!), "Dope Peddler", "Birthday Song". Worst songs: "I'm Different" (obviously, he's not so different...), "Stop Me Now" (Really? Soul?!?!) Full Review »