Based on a T.R.U. Story

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Aug 14, 2012
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    2 Chainz's debut album is a triumph on so many levels.
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    77
    With the no-bullshit, spare-n-catchy Based on a T.R.U. Story, Chainz confirms himself as the quintessential 2012 rapper.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    70
    2 Chainz commands the spotlight--rapping about success and sex with the irrepressible enthusiasm of the upstart he isn't.
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    70
    2 Chainz over-promises and almost delivers on his official debut, putting him right in the punch-line rapper's sweet spot.
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    67
    Based On A T.R.U. Story finds 2 Chainz mining the same territory he's been exploring for the past couple of years throughout his Codeine Cowboy and T.R.U. Realigion mixtapes, but fleshed out by the hollowness that comes as a side effect of spending too much time with Kanye West.
User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 10 out of 17
  1. Sep 1, 2012
    0
    simply the worst album of the past few years
    no flow no lyrics no decent sound no content even guest verses were equally bad , Nicki Minaj
    simply the worst album of the past few years
    no flow no lyrics no decent sound no content even guest verses were equally bad , Nicki Minaj and lil wayne did what they do best (delivering unworthy of listening verses) and even kanye felt 2chainz's effect and did one of his worst verses of his career
    if Trap rap is a hole in hiphop's heart 2 chainz is at the end of the hole trying to dig it deeper
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 12, 2016
    2
    Six songs in and I've not heard anything distinguishable from one to the next... every beat is generic, and there are only so many times aSix songs in and I've not heard anything distinguishable from one to the next... every beat is generic, and there are only so many times a theme can be repeated... You do crack, you boast about guns and money, Louis V, and you like strippers, almost as much as someone else's girl... I got all that from the first 10 mins. All the depth and complexity one would expect from a one-dimensional rapper who delivers gems like "If you a chicken head, go somewhere and lay some eggs" or "I am gettin' to the money, Crocodile dundee" and dont get me started on the laughable vocals on 'I Luv Dem Strippers'. Even the one genuine opportunity at something meaningful on 'Ghetto Dreams' turns out to be more dreaming about making cash. In all honesty, Im proud of myself for staying awake through this drivel... PS. It helps if your TRU story is actually interesting.
    My Top Tracks: No Lie, In Town, I Feel Good
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 23, 2015
    5
    2 Chainz is a funny guy, for sure, but this wasn't a very strong debut. Some of the songs here continue 2 Chainz (post-Tity Boi)'s history of2 Chainz is a funny guy, for sure, but this wasn't a very strong debut. Some of the songs here continue 2 Chainz (post-Tity Boi)'s history of great production with a lot of humorous lines that make those songs good, but most of the songs don't continue this tradition. I wasn't enjoying the production here. It ranged from boring to repetitive. Also, most of the lyrics here I did not enjoy. He had better of both of these things on the sequel. The only thing here that's shining is his originality. He has a unique style, although that's not even showing much on this album. Overall, a disappointing effort from 2 Chainz. I think he was capable of doing better than this. Grade: C/C+. Highlights: "I Luv Dem Strippers" (awesome sequel to Beez in the Trap!), "Dope Peddler", "Birthday Song". Worst songs: "I'm Different" (obviously, he's not so different...), "Stop Me Now" (Really? Soul?!?!) Full Review »