Because the Internet Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 185 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length studio release for actor/rapper Donald Glover as Childish Gambino features guest appearances from Jhene Aiko, Azealia Banks, and Chance the Rapper.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    80
    Because The Internet shows off his full array of talent (writer, musician, comedian) and makes him stand out from the rest.
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    80
    He hasn't quite perfected his talents, but it's far and away the best work he's done as Gambino yet.
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    75
    The surrounding flutter of puzzle pieces adds depth, but the record still stands on its own as a bold statement on modern life and the cold distance technology places between human relationships.
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    67
    Because The Internet finally shows that Donald Glover is serious about his music, and he’s willing to take some chances to make sure that Childish Gambino can grow as an artist.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    Even though Because The Internet is kind of strange and kind of a bummer, it does show Glover’s range as a musician.
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    58
    Because the Internet is a nobly expansive attempt at plumbing the catacombs of social media for meaning and exploring the gap between the performative avatars we present as our online selves and the offline realities of our lives, but like the Twitter hounds and comment section warriors it speaks to and about, it could ultimately do well with a little less multitasking.
  7. Dec 10, 2013
    20
    Maybe the entire album is a meme itself, a grand existential joke critiquing the all-conquering rise of Internet culture by parodying its overwhelming randomness. Whatever it is, though, it's a bad rap record.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 5 out of 50
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Everything about this album, makes this undeniably one of the best albums of the year. The amount of improvement Donald has made isEverything about this album, makes this undeniably one of the best albums of the year. The amount of improvement Donald has made is unbelievably amazing and inspiring, especially considering he is a more of an independent artist. The beats are all different and unique, his lyrics and flow are spot on, and the mind blowing screenplay and story of this whole album is astonishing. Hip Hop has new, better and wider boundaries now, thanks to the Boy. Collapse
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    My favorite album of 2013 !
    This album is so deep, it has so many layers. At first I didn't like it THAT much, but the more you get into it,
    My favorite album of 2013 !
    This album is so deep, it has so many layers. At first I didn't like it THAT much, but the more you get into it, the more you dig into the stories and the more you understand the lyrics the better it gets.
    The instrumentals are awesome and so divers, his lyrics and flow are great, and despite what others say, I really like the singing on this album.
    Fav. Songs:
    1. Life: The Biggest Troll
    2. Telegraph Ave.
    3. ... what am I doing? All of the songs are amazing !
    ( watch the review Dead End Hip Hop did for this album! )
    Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Because the Internet takes the best from Culdesac, Camp, and Royalty is puts them all together to create one of the most engaging andBecause the Internet takes the best from Culdesac, Camp, and Royalty is puts them all together to create one of the most engaging and emotional music experiences of the year. Fans that know Gambino only from Camp will not have as enjoyable and rewarding of an experience because they don't know the 'true' Gambino, that being his 'real' lyrics and dark emotional overtones in his songs of past such as Be Alone or The Last (still my personal favorite). To further enjoy BTI, one most read his interactive BTI Script that is online. I'll admit, I just liked BTI until I read the screenplay penned for the album. Now I see how it is one of the most engrossing musical experience I've ever had. Gambino is changing the game, people just can't seem to take notice of it. Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2014
    9
    This album is amazing it is filled with well produced instrumentals to the songs Gambino also dabbles into some new flows with this album thatThis album is amazing it is filled with well produced instrumentals to the songs Gambino also dabbles into some new flows with this album that he delivered very well, the features (Problem, Chance the Rapper, Jhene Aiko) are on point. But the best way to listen to the album and get a full understanding and visual of what he's saying read the script, becausetheinter.net Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    Honestly i loved camp, but this blows it out of the water overall. From the beginning to the end Gambino keeps you engaged with his uniqueHonestly i loved camp, but this blows it out of the water overall. From the beginning to the end Gambino keeps you engaged with his unique flow and versatile singing. i'm to lazy to go into a lot of detail just know that the album is great and shows growth and a sense of experimentation. It's as if boredom is something Gambino must avoid at all cost. Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2015
    8
    From TIME to Rolling Stone, Kanye West’s controversial Yeezus has been topping Best of 2013 lists all over the map. But only a few weeks toFrom TIME to Rolling Stone, Kanye West’s controversial Yeezus has been topping Best of 2013 lists all over the map. But only a few weeks to the end of the year, another rapper has delivered an album that surpasses West’s experimental effort by miles. Childish Gambino fell off the map a bit after his critically acclaimed Camp, and released a mixtape titled Royalty that didn’t garner too much attention. Now it seems Gambino is more ready than ever to take the rap game by storm and he proves it this new record.
    Because The Internet came as a big surprise, because I don’t think anyone expected Childish Gambino to come this hard after so many setbacks. It’s a concept album, with titles like “Worldstar” and “Life The Biggest Troll”, it lives up to the concept perfectly, using a medium we all are familiar with to show us what he’s been going through and doing it well. The album also has some great features, particularly from newcomer Chance The Rapper, who released one of the other great Hip-Hop albums of the year, Acid Rap.
    But there is something about this album that makes it stand out from the rest, and arguably puts it above them. We’ve been through this journey with Childish Gambino trying to just make great music and be recognized for it. For some reason though, I’ve always thought that he could do a little more with his music, something that would push him from being a great rapper to being an AMAZING musician. This album does that for me, and I couldn’t be more excited.
    Yeezus has been getting all the praise, but I feel like all these critics are forgetting one BIG important thing, LYRICS. Kanye has all these great beats and expensive production on his album, but lets not pretend that he hasn’t fallen of the game massively when it comes to his spitting game. Half the lyrics on Yeezus are extremely cringeworthy and just plain old lazy on Kanye’s part. Hearing him struggle to come up with clever one-liners on “I’m In It”, makes it almost unbearable to listen to. The production is the only thing that makes it possible to play as is the case with most of the album. Childish Gambino has a much better play on words, and while his songs might’ve not cost millions to produce, they sure as hell sound much more sincere and authentic than anything on Yeezus.
    Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2013
    1
    Sounds like any other modern rap artist. How about some Innovation? Beats that create an empty sound and bore me to death. His flow is OK, butSounds like any other modern rap artist. How about some Innovation? Beats that create an empty sound and bore me to death. His flow is OK, but becomes choppy at certain times. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews