Because the Internet Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length studio release for actor/rapper Donald Glover as Childish Gambino features guest appearances from Jhene Aiko, Azealia Banks, and Chance the Rapper.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    80
    Because The Internet shows off his full array of talent (writer, musician, comedian) and makes him stand out from the rest.
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    80
    He hasn't quite perfected his talents, but it's far and away the best work he's done as Gambino yet.
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    75
    The surrounding flutter of puzzle pieces adds depth, but the record still stands on its own as a bold statement on modern life and the cold distance technology places between human relationships.
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    67
    Because The Internet finally shows that Donald Glover is serious about his music, and he’s willing to take some chances to make sure that Childish Gambino can grow as an artist.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    Even though Because The Internet is kind of strange and kind of a bummer, it does show Glover’s range as a musician.
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    58
    Because the Internet is a nobly expansive attempt at plumbing the catacombs of social media for meaning and exploring the gap between the performative avatars we present as our online selves and the offline realities of our lives, but like the Twitter hounds and comment section warriors it speaks to and about, it could ultimately do well with a little less multitasking.
  7. Dec 10, 2013
    20
    Maybe the entire album is a meme itself, a grand existential joke critiquing the all-conquering rise of Internet culture by parodying its overwhelming randomness. Whatever it is, though, it's a bad rap record.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 48
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 48
  3. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Everything about this album, makes this undeniably one of the best albums of the year. The amount of improvement Donald has made isEverything about this album, makes this undeniably one of the best albums of the year. The amount of improvement Donald has made is unbelievably amazing and inspiring, especially considering he is a more of an independent artist. The beats are all different and unique, his lyrics and flow are spot on, and the mind blowing screenplay and story of this whole album is astonishing. Hip Hop has new, better and wider boundaries now, thanks to the Boy. Collapse
  2. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    One of the better albums out there. This was an experimental album, but he delivered, and covered different types of hip hop. The end of theOne of the better albums out there. This was an experimental album, but he delivered, and covered different types of hip hop. The end of the album is very experimental, but follows through with the overall theme that Gambino delivers throughout the whole album. If you only like listening to some songs and not the whole album straight through, I recommend 3005, The Other Guys, Sweatpants, and Telegraph Rd. Overall, this album is a beautiful piece of artwork, and if you can see him live, I HIGHLY recommend it. One of the best live performers out there. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing. From the music to the storyline it is an all around 10. Donald Glover has created THE most creative rollout for anThis album is amazing. From the music to the storyline it is an all around 10. Donald Glover has created THE most creative rollout for an album. Take the time to watch the short film, Clapping for the Wrong Reasons, watch some pre album interviews, then read the full screenplay on becausetheinter.net. This is how the artist intended on people to listen to his album. He has stated many times he isn't just a rapper. He doesn't want to be labeled that. Before you go and hate on this album do some research. This is my favorite album that has been released this year, beating Yeezus. Go out and check out the deluxe physical. It's really nice. Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    One of the most creative experiences I've had the pleasure to witness in a while. He's created a whole world centered around "The Boy" thatOne of the most creative experiences I've had the pleasure to witness in a while. He's created a whole world centered around "The Boy" that rests on the aura of spectacular creativity. The album itself is amazing. When you add in the screenplay as well as his short film "Clapping for the Wrong Reasons" to the equation, you start to connect this long woven and complex thread that makes your brain wonder how something this genius could be created. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    Phenomenal. Please just give it a listen with an open mind. Lots of critics had really biased reviews, and barely even talked about the music.Phenomenal. Please just give it a listen with an open mind. Lots of critics had really biased reviews, and barely even talked about the music. I wasn't a big fan of Camp, but Royalty got my attention. Then 'Bino dropped this quality, and innovating album which blew my mind. Amazing. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2014
    9
    Because the Internet is, in my mind, a very interesting album. Glover showcases his ideas throughout this entire album, creating a storyBecause the Internet is, in my mind, a very interesting album. Glover showcases his ideas throughout this entire album, creating a story throughout it. Glover is very introspective with his ideas of society and the Internet in songs like "Zealots of Stockholm" and "Earth: The Oldest Computer." He also shows off his R&B side in songs like "Shadows" and "Pink Toes". Not only did I enjoy the album, but I also enjoyed the screenplay written by Glover of the same title. Yes, there were one or two low-points in the album, but the entire album isn't going to be perfect. Glover has stated himself that he's not trying to be a rapper, that this is just a part of his artistic process. With all of that in mind, this is a pretty dam good rap album from a "non-rapper". Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2013
    1
    Sounds like any other modern rap artist. How about some Innovation? Beats that create an empty sound and bore me to death. His flow is OK, butSounds like any other modern rap artist. How about some Innovation? Beats that create an empty sound and bore me to death. His flow is OK, but becomes choppy at certain times. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews