Believe

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Jun 19, 2012
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 460 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 21, 2012
    5
    Well, I decided to listen to Believe after all the positive reviews claiming that it will 'convert so many haters into fans'. It's safe to say I'm more of a hater than a fan, but I objectively listened to the album, and I'm still not convinced. There is really nothing that sets this album apart from any other contemporary release in 2012; it's all standard pop gubbins and studio trickeryWell, I decided to listen to Believe after all the positive reviews claiming that it will 'convert so many haters into fans'. It's safe to say I'm more of a hater than a fan, but I objectively listened to the album, and I'm still not convinced. There is really nothing that sets this album apart from any other contemporary release in 2012; it's all standard pop gubbins and studio trickery to me. The production is nice, clean and doesn't detract from Bieber's voice too much, which was suprising. Speaking of which, Bieber's singing is nothing amazing. Maybe he can sing, but this album doesn't serve as proof for that. The lyrics are definitely a weak point of the album; some of the rhymes are just plain silly ("Chillin' by the fire while we eatin' fondue" - what?!). Overall, there ain't a lot to get excited about here. It sounds like every other chart album out there to me, but since it's a Justin Bieber, his many fans will no doubt flock to this and proclaim it 'the greatest album ever' or 'perfect'. Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2012
    6
    The Canadian teen heart throb's second album is possibly the most beautifully sang, yet cheesiest album written in 2012. Its sound ranges from R&B-pop to dance-pop to generic teen pop. Despite its cheesy, almost senseless lines (as said above), second single "As Long as You Love Me" spotlights the maturity of Bieber's vocals whilst backing that up with irresistably catchyThe Canadian teen heart throb's second album is possibly the most beautifully sang, yet cheesiest album written in 2012. Its sound ranges from R&B-pop to dance-pop to generic teen pop. Despite its cheesy, almost senseless lines (as said above), second single "As Long as You Love Me" spotlights the maturity of Bieber's vocals whilst backing that up with irresistably catchy dubstep-influenced R&B beats, however, Big Sean's verse is the cheesiest line on the album ("Trust/Us/Things I can't spell without 'u'"). In fact, Bieber out-performs every guest vocalist on the album; even Nicki Minaj, who despite using Bieber's girlfriend as a reference, refuses to step up her game. The album will make Beliebers fall in love even harder, while hopefully helping haters turn their eyes to a new celebrity target, such as One Direction. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2014
    4
    No hay gran evolución que se pueda exaltar del album, todavía es un músico con una gran trayectoria por recorrer que no ha salido del lado comercial para entrar al artístico, quizás cuando entienda la importancia de la música en el ámbito artistico y comercial, genere un buen sonido por si solo. En si no es un mal album, pero tampoco es bueno, simplemente esta en el medio.
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    4
    This album is not special at all leak of maturity too much rap elements. It is not a album that shown Justin is a great artist, He succeed is only based on the popularity on Twitter and Instagram.
  5. Aug 22, 2015
    4
    What a fail.

    I tried to give him a chance but this album is just bad, a few songs save it from being a complete waste of time. I don't hate him but his music is still bad.
  6. Dec 15, 2012
    4
    Justin Bieber may be the most succeeded pop artist in the world, however music is not just about having a pretty face and a little bit of style. I admit that this album is better that My World and My World 2.0 ,and Justin is more mature in this newest work. But that is not enough to be a good artist. Justin has the support of his crazy female fans but his songs continue to be uninteresting.
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    5
    In fact the album is OK. There are some fresh enjoyable energetic songs like "Die in your arms" "Beauty and a beat""All around the world".But it is true that Bieber's "swag swag swag" sounds stupid and his vocal performance doesn't sound like a singer's voice.And some awful songs like "Maria""She don't like the lights""Take you" shouldn't appear on the album.
  8. Oct 11, 2014
    6
    I can't believe I will ever said this,I do love this album,this album have a lot of amazing songs……Like"Boyfirend" "As long As you love me""die in your arms",they are all great songs,I wish people can stop saying his album is sucks because he is a dumbass.
  9. Nov 4, 2016
    5
    4.8
    I do not like the album Bieber "Believe" honestly. The album has a lot of sugary songs from that sick before losing momentum. There are 2 or 3 songs that you can listen to, but everything else - shock slag.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    60
    A mostly harmless exercise in selling records.
  2. 70
    Believe doesn't always live up to the standards of its best cuts.
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    67
    Believe is most appealing when Bieber either emulates his mentor Usher-on dance-R&B tracks like "Boyfriend" (which remains one of 2012's best pop singles) or the slinky deluxe-edition track "Out Of Town Girl"-or plays to his basest, and best, pop instincts, like the aforementioned Jackson-aping "Die In Your Arms" or the Diplo-assisted head-rush "Thought Of You."