Clockwork Angels

Clockwork Angels Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Canadian trio's latest release is a concept album about a young man's journey to fulfill his dreams and was co-produced with Nick Raskulinecz.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    100
    Clockwork Angels is an extremely accomplished piece of music composed and performed absolutely flawlessly.
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    91
    The highs are higher, the lows are lower, and the dynamic is even more exhilarating.
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    Clockwork Angels demonstrates why, after 36 years, Rush's fan base continues to grow. Its musical athleticism and calisthenic discipline are equaled only by its relentless creative drive and its will to express it in a distinct musical language.
  4. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    This is the three-piece's most solid and compelling set of songs in years.
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    No amount of production dross can obscure the fact that Clockwork Angels still constitutes the strongest collection of Rush songs since the mid-'90s.
  6. The Wire
    Oct 3, 2012
    70
    While Clockwork Angels is energised and intense, it neither sounds nor feels like heritage rock or a return to first principles. [Sep 2012, p.70]
  7. Aug 9, 2012
    40
    Synthesizers are set to beverage warmer – nearly nil – but where a back-to-basics drums/bass/guitar bash continues since peak return Vapor Trails, pinpoint production to extract hooks from hard rock homogeneity continues to elude them.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Staggering record from the legends. Geddy Lee's vocals are fantastic throughout, and the playing, of course, is unparalleled in monsterStaggering record from the legends. Geddy Lee's vocals are fantastic throughout, and the playing, of course, is unparalleled in monster musicianship. How do these guys do it? And Carnies is a wicked song; I don't care what anyone says. "A Wheel of Fate, A Game of CHANCE!" WAH WAH WAH wah wah ... and that thunderous drum groove. Peart's steampunk sci-fi world and the lyrics are fantastic, as well. I'm gonna get my nerd on and get the novel by Keven J. Anderson in September, fer sure. Collapse
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    Even better live (wait for the DVD/Blu-Ray this fall), this album really makes for a Rush return to form. From the lack of backing vocals andEven better live (wait for the DVD/Blu-Ray this fall), this album really makes for a Rush return to form. From the lack of backing vocals and synths to superb production by Nick Raskulinecz (he has, this time, stripped them back almost totally), this makes for an end to end satisfying listen. The Garden is probably Rush's most moving song ever. A must buy for any rock fan. Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    The 5 year wait is finally over, and the wait was worth it. Rush returns with Clockwork Angels, which, in my opinion, has been their bestThe 5 year wait is finally over, and the wait was worth it. Rush returns with Clockwork Angels, which, in my opinion, has been their best album since Roll the Bones. Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    I came late to the Rush party - as a 31 year-old who liked their hits growing up but never really invested any time into listening to deepI came late to the Rush party - as a 31 year-old who liked their hits growing up but never really invested any time into listening to deep cuts or whole albums - but listening to Clockwork Angels was a pretty big revelation for me. If not my favorite album of the year, it is definitely in the top five. After seeing them perform the majority of the album live recently, I have an even greater regard for the thematic elements and crafty songwriting the trio implemented. My favorites would have to be "Carnies" and "the Wreckers", though the whole album is worth listening to start to finish every time. Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    It usually takes me a while to like the new stuff from the Holy Triumvirate, but not this time. I already liked Caravan, BU2B, and HeadlongIt usually takes me a while to like the new stuff from the Holy Triumvirate, but not this time. I already liked Caravan, BU2B, and Headlong Flight, but the real pleasant surprises are The Anarchist, Carnies, and The Wreckers. The other tunes on the album are okay in my book and may end up growing on me more. But to be already be a big fan of six of the new songs is really exceeding my expectations. This is without a doubt their heaviest record possibly ever, both musically and lyrically. "The pools of poison / the scarlet mist / that spill over into rage . . ." Are you kidding me Neil? Good thing the young kids don't listen to them all that much...just sayin. But I can't wait for the show and actually want to read the novelization although I initially laughed at the idea.

    Thanks, Rush, for so many years of great music and for continuing to churn it out.
    Expand
  6. May 21, 2014
    9
    Rush makes a good album like always. All the music sounds great, the story is interesting, and album cover is very nice to look at. If youRush makes a good album like always. All the music sounds great, the story is interesting, and album cover is very nice to look at. If you like Rush, or just rock music in general. Then you will love this. Expand
  7. Jul 1, 2012
    3
    It seems that since Rush had reach such Cult status, no one has balls to criticize them. Well, I can't understand the praise this album isIt seems that since Rush had reach such Cult status, no one has balls to criticize them. Well, I can't understand the praise this album is getting but due to fanboyism. The production is awful, very noisy and muddy, a big wall of sound with no dynamics. There are no sons that stands out such as Farcry from the last album and two of them were released over 2 years ago!! Even the artwork is ugly. This album is worst than Vapor Trails, no wonder it took so long to finish and release it. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews