Clockwork Angels Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Canadian trio's latest release is a concept album about a young man's journey to fulfill his dreams and was co-produced with Nick Raskulinecz.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    100
    Clockwork Angels is an extremely accomplished piece of music composed and performed absolutely flawlessly.
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    91
    The highs are higher, the lows are lower, and the dynamic is even more exhilarating.
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    Clockwork Angels demonstrates why, after 36 years, Rush's fan base continues to grow. Its musical athleticism and calisthenic discipline are equaled only by its relentless creative drive and its will to express it in a distinct musical language.
  4. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    This is the three-piece's most solid and compelling set of songs in years.
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    No amount of production dross can obscure the fact that Clockwork Angels still constitutes the strongest collection of Rush songs since the mid-'90s.
  6. Oct 3, 2012
    70
    While Clockwork Angels is energised and intense, it neither sounds nor feels like heritage rock or a return to first principles. [Sep 2012, p.70]
  7. Aug 9, 2012
    40
    Synthesizers are set to beverage warmer – nearly nil – but where a back-to-basics drums/bass/guitar bash continues since peak return Vapor Trails, pinpoint production to extract hooks from hard rock homogeneity continues to elude them.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Staggering record from the legends. Geddy Lee's vocals are fantastic throughout, and the playing, of course, is unparalleled in monster musicianship. How do these guys do it? And Carnies is a wicked song; I don't care what anyone says. "A Wheel of Fate, A Game of CHANCE!" WAH WAH WAH wah wah ... and that thunderous drum groove. Peart's steampunk sci-fi world and the lyrics are fantastic, as well. I'm gonna get my nerd on and get the novel by Keven J. Anderson in September, fer sure. Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    The 5 year wait is finally over, and the wait was worth it. Rush returns with Clockwork Angels, which, in my opinion, has been their best album since Roll the Bones. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rush's latest album "Clockwork Angels" hits home so hard, it doesn't even have words to describe. Oh wait, it does.

    Released in 2012, Rush's next leap into the big world of music blows everything else out of the water, by delivering this instant masterpiece of an album. Geddy's lines are more complex, Alex's solos are even better, and Neil's drumming... words cannot describe his drumming in the album. It's simply incredible! I first discovered this album from the 2011 video game Rocksmith, when Ubisoft (the developer/publisher) released their DLC pack for November 13th, 2012. Their bass expansion had released, and to celebrate, they had released this DLC pack containing five (5) songs from the definitive Canadian prog rock group. These songs included YYZ, Tom Sawyer, Red Barchetta (Moving Pictures), Subdivisions (Signals), and Headlong Flight (Clockwork Angels).
    The song opens up with a dual bass track, with the guitar and drums merging in simultaneously, and blowing me out of the water. Neil's lyrics again blow me away during the chorus.

    Me, being a bassist myself, love this song to death during the bass lines, and everything else during this entire album, and not just Headlong Flight. The self-titled song based on the album is also one to behold; there's also Carnies, The Wreckers, The Anarchist, and Caravan (Headlong Flight and Caravan are the two singles released from Clockwork Angels so far).

    Point being, and everything else aside, this album is surely a classic and should be in everyone's collection. 10/10
    Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    Phenomenal album, one of their best ever. Clockwork Angels sounds like the work of a band much younger than they really are (Lee and Lifeson are almost 59, Peart will be 60 in September). The passion, energy and heaviness are quite surprising for guys who have been together for 38 years. From Caravan to the beautiful The Garden, this is an effort that most modern rock bands wish they could make. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    Definitely one of Rush's best albums in years from a slightly biased fan of over 25 years. The Anarchist and Headlong Flight being the albums' best two songs. Rush continues to reinvent themselves with each release and tour with expectations of more to come following their well deserved Rock n' Roll Hall of Fame induction. Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    I came late to the Rush party - as a 31 year-old who liked their hits growing up but never really invested any time into listening to deep cuts or whole albums - but listening to Clockwork Angels was a pretty big revelation for me. If not my favorite album of the year, it is definitely in the top five. After seeing them perform the majority of the album live recently, I have an even greater regard for the thematic elements and crafty songwriting the trio implemented. My favorites would have to be "Carnies" and "the Wreckers", though the whole album is worth listening to start to finish every time. Expand
  7. Jul 1, 2012
    3
    It seems that since Rush had reach such Cult status, no one has balls to criticize them. Well, I can't understand the praise this album is getting but due to fanboyism. The production is awful, very noisy and muddy, a big wall of sound with no dynamics. There are no sons that stands out such as Farcry from the last album and two of them were released over 2 years ago!! Even the artwork is ugly. This album is worst than Vapor Trails, no wonder it took so long to finish and release it. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews