Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    An album that is as lovely as it is seductive.
  2. The songs feel and sound organic and have an eerily timeless quality in their emotional universality. [#12, p.93]
  3. 90
    Seductive, lovely and OK to like. [Mar 2006, p.116]
  4. 70 minutes to savor, to let the words run through you, to let the melodies wrap around you.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 14, 2014
    One of Sia's best albums. Beautiful instrumentals, and some thoughtful and occasionally moving lyrics. I can really relate to the message Sia is sending out on this album. Favorite track: Breathe Me Full Review »
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    Whoa! I can only say that this album is simply amazing. Sia sounds very seductive and intriguing on "Numb" and "Breathe Me". And I can't even comprehend how one person can have as much talent as she does. What I can't comprehend even more is how is she not more popular? Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    Sia Furler's 3rd album "Colour the Small One" is a deeply emotional album where her talents as a lyricist truly shine through. Sounding miles different from her 1997 trip-hop laced debut, "OnlySee," or her 2001 follow-up, the acid jazz/hip-hop infused "Healing is Difficult," "Colour..." holds its own as an extremely personal, brutally honest album. Album opener "Rewrite" is in stark contrast to the tracks of "Healing...," with Sia painfully whispering dark lyrics. The track "Sunday" is a surprisingly optimistic and summery song with a wonderful chorus. Then comes the now iconic, emotional behemoth "Breathe Me." Little more can be said to try and describe this song other than slick perfection. Beck helped pen the following track "The Bully" where we finally realize that there is more to this talented woman than meets the eyes. "Sweet Potato," "Don't Bring Me Down," "Natale's Song," and "Butterflies" make up the core of this album, each with their own separate, powerful strengths and vulnerabilities. Radiohead-inspired "Moon," gospel-driven "The Church of What's Happening Now" and the painful "Numb" begin an appropriate wind-down of the album, when "Where I Belong," a loud, fast-paced, jazzy tune with belted-out lyrics seems to come out of the blue. But that's a good thing (it's a personal favorite). The theatrical "Broken Biscuit" and the down right bizarre, yet oddly addicting "Sea Shells" are included as two bonus tracks. Yet, despite their not being included on the original UK mastering, they do not disrupt the flow of the record Included after "Sea Shells" are two remixes of "Breathe Me" that aren't great and really do not fit. I would rather the b-sides "Lucky" and "So Bored" be included in their place. "Colour..." is one of my favorite albums, and in my opinion is Sia's strongest release. Needless to say, I highly recommend it. Full Review »