Comfort Of Strangers

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. At 14 tracks long, Orton could have trimmed three or four cuts and left a near-flawless, efficient package that was all killer and no filler. As it stands, it is merely excellent.
  2. As artlessly lovely as a spring day, this is some of her simplest work, and simply some of her best, too.
  3. Los Angeles Times
    88
    Orton's determination to dig deeper into song and vocal expression instead of toying with a stylistic bauble has paid off in her best album since her debut. [7 Feb 2006]
  4. Spin
    83
    Unerringly lovely, but best when the drums heat up. [Feb 2006, p.87]
  5. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Orton's most naked, traditional-sounding CD. [10 Feb 2006, p.132]
  6. Comfort of Strangers isn’t only Orton’s best album to date, it’s her most daring.
  7. Both her most musically spare and artistically complex [album] to date.
  8. While Orton has a tendency to mimic her own melodies, she explores jazz structures here in engaging, exciting ways, and the indigent heartland iconography of her lyrics is beautiful without being cloying.
  9. Comfort of Strangers is a more confident record than 2002’s Daybreaker, exhibiting an economy of craft and unvarnished execution that might glide by less attentive ears but rewards the keen consumer with a warmth and depth worthy of the artist who created Central Reservation.
  10. Orton's assured hand throughout marks Comfort Of Strangers as a sturdy piece of songwriting that will stand among the more memorable albums of 2006 come year's end.
  11. Back to basics and back on form.
  12. It's a much warmer album than her most recent album, 2002's Daybreaker, and it's perhaps her most complete album yet.
  13. Uncut
    80
    Without altering her style drastically, Orton has broadened her approach on what is her most accomplished record to date. [Mar 2006, p.94]
  14. The songs are subtle and powerful, full of pain and humor.
  15. Comfort Of Strangers is the best thing Orton has recorded since her debut.
  16. Mojo
    80
    What Orton has sacrificed in terms of post-clubbing appeal she has replaced with grit and poignancy seldom heard since the LA canyons were in their pomp. [Mar 2006, p.96]
  17. It's intimate, home, and it's never felt more comfortable.
  18. Even as it examines the low-lows, Comfort won't be bogged down in them.
  19. Far from perfect-- at times even dull-- these songs balance their heavy despair with genuine, if hesitant, hope.
  20. Under The Radar
    70
    By far her most traditionally "folky" [album]. [#12, p.92]
  21. Billboard
    70
    A lovely set of pop-flavored neo-folk. [11 Feb 2006]
  22. The record was recorded in two weeks, and many songs sound as if they are first takes, with cracks and stumbles preserved.
  23. Orton sounds more focused than ever, channeling drawled heartache, warm come-ons and snatches of lost AM-radio hits into songs that seek out your inner lullaby.
  24. It's Emiliana Torrini, Cat Power and Nick Drake all rolled into one, and it's soothing enough to curl up and die for.
  25. Urb
    70
    A perfectly pleasant and unoffending offering. [Mar 2006, p.116]
  26. Q Magazine
    70
    Engaging stuff. [Apr 2006, p.118]
  27. The music on Comfort of Strangers is at times so complex and distracting that it often overshadows Orton's winsome voice.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. [Anonymous]
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    i've been listening to this album non-stop now for about a week. it gets better each time. although i have to say it would probably be a i've been listening to this album non-stop now for about a week. it gets better each time. although i have to say it would probably be a better album without 'worms'. Full Review »
  2. susie
    May 28, 2006
    6
    The first few times I listened to this album I was so depressed because I though that Beth was going down the lame and boring route. With The first few times I listened to this album I was so depressed because I though that Beth was going down the lame and boring route. With each additional listen the album has grown on me and I enjoy it now more than Daybreaker (but quite honestly that is not saying much). Overall I think that it is a worthwhile album but not amazing. The songs are interesting enough, but the main problem for me with the album is that I feel that it lacks energy. Full Review »
  3. ta
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    one of the best records of the year. beth is the most sexy musician