Conspiracy of One

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2000
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 78
  2. Negative: 2 out of 78

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    Phenomenal CD, my personal favorite by the Offspring (barely beating Americana and Smash, but still). There are a good number of songs on this album I would recommend, those songs being "Original Prankster", "Want You Bad", "Million Miles Away", "Damnit, I Changed Again", "One Fine Day", and the 2nd hidden track, "Videos". These are some of the finest works by The Offspring
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    Pretty Good Album. The Tracks Compliment one and other pretty well. Now i thought Original Prankster is the only song i didn't enjoy as much as the others.. I think its ok. But the Rest of the album is Very Good
  3. BryceM
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    This albm rocks
  4. Andrea
    Aug 4, 2009
    7
    Good record, better than Americana with a some great songs.
  5. BrandonP.
    Oct 10, 2001
    7
    This was a good album but it is low in the shadow of the original album
  6. Lori(youdon'tneedmylastname)
    May 4, 2004
    10
    this cd is wicked! as are all of the offspring cd's. you people dont know what you're missing so shutup if you say it's sucks! You suck!
  7. mikem
    Jul 30, 2004
    10
    this cd kicks ass like all of their other ones so you suck if u dont like it and u suck if u dont like them and if u dont dont write anything assholes
  8. TO
    Aug 24, 2004
    10
    The BEST Offspring CD. It has all the best of the band in songs like: Original Prankster, Want You Bad, Special Delivery, and Come Out Swinging.
  9. JoeSchmoe
    Sep 2, 2004
    9
    I'm sick of people trashing these guys. It's always one thing or another-they're not punk enough, they always sound the same, they used to be better...whine, whine, whine. Fact is, The Offspring are a great band, and I think people could see that if they just kicked back and enjoyed the music. Co1 is a sweet record - I don't own it, but I've downloaded the I'm sick of people trashing these guys. It's always one thing or another-they're not punk enough, they always sound the same, they used to be better...whine, whine, whine. Fact is, The Offspring are a great band, and I think people could see that if they just kicked back and enjoyed the music. Co1 is a sweet record - I don't own it, but I've downloaded the majority of its songs. Come Out Swinging is typical fast, awesome, energetic Offspring, Original Prankster is funny and catchy, Million Miles Away is just incredible, Living in Chaos has a cool funk-y feel to it, Special Delivery is funny and creative, and Damnit I Changed Again is another excellent, fast-paced rocker. A sweet record. Expand
  10. Roadlord
    Feb 4, 2008
    8
    This album is pretty good, but they have (much!) better ones (if you have to know - the excellent "Smash" and the awesome "Ixnay on the Hombre").
  11. oprahwinfrey
    Aug 27, 2004
    7
    good, the only reason im throwing away two marks is because im kind of getting sick and tired of them. they sound the same every song! I wouldve given them a five for that if it wasnt for original prankster
  12. GrahamM
    Jan 16, 2005
    10
    The Offspring have been my favorite band ever since I heard a relative playing a couple of songs from "Americana" when I was about 10 or 11. I borrowed it, and later took out "Co1" and "Ixnay on the Hombre" from the library. I now have every CD except two, one which is owned by a relative, and the other, their first. And I think that this one is great, every song is solidly great, though The Offspring have been my favorite band ever since I heard a relative playing a couple of songs from "Americana" when I was about 10 or 11. I borrowed it, and later took out "Co1" and "Ixnay on the Hombre" from the library. I now have every CD except two, one which is owned by a relative, and the other, their first. And I think that this one is great, every song is solidly great, though they've done much better, I admit. AND, I AM SICK of f***ing Sum 41getting rich, when they copied the offspring almost exclusively!!! Bottom line, buy this CD and all of their others, unless you have something against curse words. Expand
  13. FiL
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    I love it
  14. ChrisS
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    EXCELLENT
  15. RyanD
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    I hate everyone that says the offspring are fake punk, or there not pop enough, or there not emo enough. I hate to break it to you kids, but the Offspring is an ALTERNATIVE band, something that has been forgoton under years of market pressure and false advertisment, and i hope everyone who is a true fan of this music rembers that.
  16. DH.
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    Good album- I don't care that the onion has rated it so low anyway as nobody pays attention to it anymore-ha.
  17. DL.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    ha ha it's funny how all the small critics trying to make it big rate it low to get noticed! when will they learn not everyone has the same music taste. there should be a metacritic to rate the critics as nobody listens to them anymore!!! good album by the way
  18. MelyssaK
    Aug 29, 2003
    10
    I love The Offspring and their music. I have most of their CD's, which all play great punk rock music. On my guitar, I've learned about 20 songs. From this CD, tracks 3,4,8,9,11, and various parts from several other songs, so I can isolate just the guitars' music and I can appreciate just how talented Dexter and Noodles really are to be able to think of this music and to be I love The Offspring and their music. I have most of their CD's, which all play great punk rock music. On my guitar, I've learned about 20 songs. From this CD, tracks 3,4,8,9,11, and various parts from several other songs, so I can isolate just the guitars' music and I can appreciate just how talented Dexter and Noodles really are to be able to think of this music and to be able to play the way they do. All of the songs are fun to play, the music is well written, and the lyrics are witty and humorous and each melody matches its song. If I remember correctly from an online interview with Dexter that I read, he said that each album has it's own style (if I'm wrong, I apologize) so Conspiracy of One is expected to be styled a little different than the others. If all the CD's were exactly the same style, then it would be pretty boring after the third album-but that's not the case with these guys. I say that Smash and Ignition were The Offspring's best albums. I call their style back then "Offspringy." Though their style has changed; perhaps too much (sorry to sound like a hypocrate), I still can't wait for Chinese Democracy's release. I know The Offspring won't disappoint us fans because when it comes to The Offspring, there's just no such thing as "bad music" or a "flunkie album." Expand
  19. willien
    Jul 27, 2005
    9
    its pretty tight cd
  20. billb
    Sep 17, 2005
    10
    sweet cd
  21. Jan 20, 2017
    8
    I originally wasn't too fond of this album, however the more I listened to it, the more it grew on me. It is now my second favorite album of theirs. Special Delivery, One Fine Day, and Original Prankster really make this album good.

    The only thing I dislike about this album is the last three songs - they were messy.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. But as opposed to Blink, which powers straight ahead with scatological juvenility, the Offspring bridges punk with change-ups of metal and traditional rock and brings a more sarcastic wit to its observations of male teen angst.
  2. Revolver
    70
    The Offspring's hit-making machinery is as efficiently well-oiled as ever. [#3, p.106]
  3. The Offspring's most musically mature collection to date. The arrangements are tight and don't bore, which is sometimes the case with albums that feature similar-sounding songs.