Days

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2011
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
Buy On
  1. Nov 29, 2011
    60
    Days is a step in the right direction, but we're hoping they can challenge themselves to do something greater on album three.
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    60
    These tracks are so instantly memorable, so curiously familiar--and so uninspiring, despite their loveliness.
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    60
    Once the album finishes, the feeling is of a consistently pleasing spell, but one without many memorable moments.
  4. Oct 18, 2011
    60
    New Jersey's Real Estate unspool pretty reveries tinged with enough guilt and confusion to keep them honest.
  5. Oct 17, 2011
    60
    s self-titled 2009 debut introduced the band's hazy, Byrds-derived jangle; this second effort reimagines the bucolic pastorales of the 80s indie movement, given a Fleet Foxes skill set.
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    50
    These towering moments stretch thin across a record lost in a comatose state of traditional, if beach-bumming, rock-pop tedium.
  7. 40
    Call it getting lost in a sea of other great bands, but Real Estate has yet to truly claim their own piece of the surf-pop movement.
  8. Oct 17, 2011
    40
    It is unremarkable to the point of being enraging.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    I had mixed feelings about Real Estate's debut, I thought it was merely alright. So, I had lowered expectations for "Days" and I think thatI had mixed feelings about Real Estate's debut, I thought it was merely alright. So, I had lowered expectations for "Days" and I think that was a blessing because this album has slowly grown on me. I love how the guitars sound on this album. "Out of Tune" is the highlight here, but nearly every song is a winner. The record has a late 80's college rock vibe and reminds me a lot of the Go-Betweens. Good stuff! Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2015
    10
    While the adjectives "revolutionary" or "exciting" don't belong in this review, Real Estate's second LP, "Days", captures the feeling ofWhile the adjectives "revolutionary" or "exciting" don't belong in this review, Real Estate's second LP, "Days", captures the feeling of "floating on an inner tube in the sun" just as well as the first. Distorted and layered guitars make for a very comfortable album that grows on you with each listen. Full Review »
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Beautifully peaceful. I really love the music in this album. The guitars sound wonderful. The vocals and lyrics are also great. Nearly everyBeautifully peaceful. I really love the music in this album. The guitars sound wonderful. The vocals and lyrics are also great. Nearly every track here is as gorgeous as the one preceding it, with very few exceptions. Full Review »