Dear Science,

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 258

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. exe.
    May 14, 2009
    10
    I can't stop listening to this amazing collection of songs. Hearing most of this album performed live certainly helped me to appreciate the music more as a living breathing thing, where as a lot of songs from Return To Cookie Mountain (an album I find to be without flaw) were not as satisfying on stage. Anyway, it's not it's predecessor, without a doubt, but I'm into I can't stop listening to this amazing collection of songs. Hearing most of this album performed live certainly helped me to appreciate the music more as a living breathing thing, where as a lot of songs from Return To Cookie Mountain (an album I find to be without flaw) were not as satisfying on stage. Anyway, it's not it's predecessor, without a doubt, but I'm into TVOTR's journey and see no reason to pick apart one of the few bands I can still get excited about. To each his own. Expand
  2. AndyB.
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Cookie Mountain was an amazing album, but this is not just TVOTR's best work to date, but one of the complete, individual and well written I have heard in years. Best album I have heard all year by a long way. There will always be ratings like that of 'under the radar' but don't let that put you off. And to be honest who reads under the radar anyway.
  3. BriC
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    All you have to do is give it a little bit of time to sink in. When it does, the intricate music, addictive drum machines and lyrics THAT ACTUALLY MAKE SENSE will pull you in. Every song fits perfectly, the album soars to a height from the first song and stays there until the very last note of track eleven. Amazing. I love this album.
  4. WillC.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    I would vote it a 10.1 if I could.
  5. HugoT
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    Seems, we're now listenign to something else entirely. For this New year the NEW TV on The Radio are like a New Batman in music. Komplex, great, thrilling and probably this years finest.
  6. Tab
    Oct 4, 2008
    2
    Occasionally, when he isn't pulling the talk-singing style, his voice breaks into Prince's effeminate falsetto. Dark, electronic music with high production. The message is: "If you don't like this album then you're not worthy of it." And you know what? That just make me want to tell pretentious horseshit like this to fuck off.
  7. bastu
    Oct 8, 2008
    0
    Everyone seems to failed to have noticed that it has none of the intricacy, charm or, god forbid, personality that made all of their previous music so good. Beautiful layered vocals or sitek's oft hailed instrumentation, no bugger that... get a drum machine and sing "he's a what? he's a what? he's a newspaper man and he gets his best ideas from a newspaper stand". I Everyone seems to failed to have noticed that it has none of the intricacy, charm or, god forbid, personality that made all of their previous music so good. Beautiful layered vocals or sitek's oft hailed instrumentation, no bugger that... get a drum machine and sing "he's a what? he's a what? he's a newspaper man and he gets his best ideas from a newspaper stand". I despair. And who knows what's wrong with all you people claiming it's the best thing since sliced bread... Depressing. Expand
  8. GLC
    Feb 4, 2009
    0
    Cliffy B - the reason you can't listen to this album is because it's overcompressed. That's right - David Sitek decided to follow in the footsteps of "mainstream" bands and make his band physically unlistenable on any sort of half-decent sound system. Suffice to say, I will not be buying the next album without thorough research. I loved Cookie Mountain, but I won't Cliffy B - the reason you can't listen to this album is because it's overcompressed. That's right - David Sitek decided to follow in the footsteps of "mainstream" bands and make his band physically unlistenable on any sort of half-decent sound system. Suffice to say, I will not be buying the next album without thorough research. I loved Cookie Mountain, but I won't listen to another track from this crapfest again. Expand
  9. EvilEd
    Feb 6, 2009
    5
    Another of those bands which are percieved to be cool and so people jump on the band wagon. Like Elbow the songs are ok but not brilliant. You will bore fro this album after a few listens.
  10. Michael
    May 28, 2009
    5
    The critical babble heaped upon Dear Science is concerning, as it is certainly not the absolute best album of 2008, as many will tell you. Almost by default, it has attained this status. If you have enough critics and fans plumping it their top 25 or 50 of the year, of course it will end up it the top ten of that list. If you look at the overly positive critic reviews, they actually The critical babble heaped upon Dear Science is concerning, as it is certainly not the absolute best album of 2008, as many will tell you. Almost by default, it has attained this status. If you have enough critics and fans plumping it their top 25 or 50 of the year, of course it will end up it the top ten of that list. If you look at the overly positive critic reviews, they actually don't make any sense! Greatness is measured in the music itself, not because someone tells you it is. There was beauty abound in TV on the Radio's previous work. In Dear Science, the band's trademark atmosphere is all but lost to anonymous/annoying beats and over-reaching lyrics. But the greatest criticism I have for this album is its indifference. The band never sticks its neck out on Dear Science in search for something potentially great. But as I said earlier, much worse than the actual album is the generally very poor critiquing of it. Oh well. Expand
  11. CliffyB
    Dec 17, 2008
    2
    Two words: pure GARBAGE. I'm sorry, I really loved (exactly) three tunes off of "Return to Cookie Mountain", so I was looking forward to at least, oh, maybe ONE song that I could play with some volume without being embarrassed. I bought this, popped it into my CD player, and resisted the temptation to hit FAST FORWARD a good 15 seconds into every song. I forced myself to listen to Two words: pure GARBAGE. I'm sorry, I really loved (exactly) three tunes off of "Return to Cookie Mountain", so I was looking forward to at least, oh, maybe ONE song that I could play with some volume without being embarrassed. I bought this, popped it into my CD player, and resisted the temptation to hit FAST FORWARD a good 15 seconds into every song. I forced myself to listen to this festering squirrel turd of an album and now I want my wasted life back! TV on the Radio needs to either lay off the drugs, or switch to another form of intoxication, because these songs make me physically ill! Expand
  12. ThunderousOlympian
    Sep 28, 2008
    8
    Mostly I found TVOTR's other two records to be somewhat unpleasant to listen to, but Dear Science has forced me to finally jump on the bandwagon.....it's innovative but I also would feel comfortable playing it at a party....it's like The Roots on an acid trip.
  13. UjnH.
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    I can't take the CD out of my Car Stereo... it's TOO good.
  14. TobyH
    Oct 4, 2009
    8
    A great album, if a little irritating at times. Bursting with infectiously creative energy, the best tracks are Crying, Red Dress, Love Dog, and the horrendously-aggressive-but-scarily-catchy DLZ. TV On The Radio are much better when they go for excitement over contemplation (with the exception of Family Tree, the slow tracks, Stork & Owl and the overly-long Lover's Day, just dont A great album, if a little irritating at times. Bursting with infectiously creative energy, the best tracks are Crying, Red Dress, Love Dog, and the horrendously-aggressive-but-scarily-catchy DLZ. TV On The Radio are much better when they go for excitement over contemplation (with the exception of Family Tree, the slow tracks, Stork & Owl and the overly-long Lover's Day, just dont work for me). Anyway, well worth getting, mostly brilliant! Guaranteed to cheer you up! Expand
  15. Ollie
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    I love this album. Why? Because it sounds like nothing else; its fresh, deep and....blatantly insane-ly freakin' awesome. Theres never a time when i dont play any songs of it when i drive. There never will be a time. Genius.
  16. PBowen
    Oct 1, 2008
    9
    Brooklyn rules and these guys are a big reason why.
  17. Mike
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Good stuff. Cant wait to see them play live.
  18. MV
    Dec 1, 2008
    9
    At the end of the day, it's all about different tastes. Another reviewer pointed out that TV has moved past the mowtown/industrial and into a sort of Talking Heads/ Bowie sort of vibe. And while some may view this (accurate) description as a negative thing - it couldn't be a more rewarding album to listen to. To say TV on the Radio have 'matured' would be wrong; they At the end of the day, it's all about different tastes. Another reviewer pointed out that TV has moved past the mowtown/industrial and into a sort of Talking Heads/ Bowie sort of vibe. And while some may view this (accurate) description as a negative thing - it couldn't be a more rewarding album to listen to. To say TV on the Radio have 'matured' would be wrong; they have evolved. 'Dear Science' is one of 2008s highlights. Expand
  19. Will
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Surely destined to be a classic? By far and away the most exciting release of 2008, even if it has been a poor year for music.
  20. JodieL
    Oct 26, 2008
    6
    It still beggars belief that so many people give such high ratings to albums (not just this, any album), a rating of 10 should be reserved for one of the greatest album(s) you've ever listened to (I would only have 3 and own over 1000 albums). I have tried on numerous occasions to get into TV On The Radio, but alas every time I listen to one of their albums I get the feeling I could It still beggars belief that so many people give such high ratings to albums (not just this, any album), a rating of 10 should be reserved for one of the greatest album(s) you've ever listened to (I would only have 3 and own over 1000 albums). I have tried on numerous occasions to get into TV On The Radio, but alas every time I listen to one of their albums I get the feeling I could be listening to something in a similar genre that is so much better (like The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds). It's good, but it doesn't set the world on fire, some of the songs are incredibly weak in lyricism (as bastu said, "he's a what?, he's a what?, he's a newspaper man, and he gets his best ideas from a newspaper stand" come on be serious, love and dove also rhyme), even though the music is good that will never save an album. If you really want a good album spend your dough on. Bon Iver - For Emma, Forever Ago Spiritualized - Songs In A&E Joan As Police Woman - To Survive Portishead - Third. These are much superior albums. Expand
  21. SeanP.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Siteh proves once more why he probably did deserve to be number 1 on NME's list.
  22. DarrylM.
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    "Dear Science, spends its 50 minutes in flux between several worlds, none of them particularly memorable." -Under The Radar Worst. Review. Ever. Look, I'm not expecting everyone to like this album, but, please, not memorable? The production is too elaborate, the voices too distinct, the structures too unconventional to not make it memorable. In my mind, this is a perfect, memorable album.
  23. C.O.J.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    This record has me giddy. I actually look forward to the drive home now. Consider this a must buy.
  24. Jay
    Sep 25, 2008
    9
    I agree with Alex's comments. Red Dress annoys me too, but I respect it, if that makes sense. The rest of the album is brilliant. Stand outs include Golden Age, Crying, Halfway Home, Shout Me Out, the Stork and Owl, and my personal favorite Family Tree is absolutely beautiful.
  25. Devn
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    Wonderful. This will be near the very top of my "best albums of the year" list, for sure, as it will be for many others. I've been a big fan of TV on the Radio for years, and I'm not in the least bit put off by the production values or the broadened songwriting on this album. They continue to strike an amazing balance between noise and pop sensibility, and the added polish only Wonderful. This will be near the very top of my "best albums of the year" list, for sure, as it will be for many others. I've been a big fan of TV on the Radio for years, and I'm not in the least bit put off by the production values or the broadened songwriting on this album. They continue to strike an amazing balance between noise and pop sensibility, and the added polish only lends listenability without detracting from that vision. Kudos! Expand
  26. YanK.
    Sep 27, 2008
    8
    This is David Bowie's best album in decades. I don't know why he started calling himself "TV on the Radio," though.
  27. DanL
    Sep 29, 2008
    10
    I've found it hard to get into past albums from TV on the Radio, but Dear Science just grabbed my attention right from the start. There's much beauty and depth to be uncovered here. "Halfway House" is downright amazing, I love it more each time I hear it. "Crying", "Golden Age" and "DLZ" are a few of my other favorites on the album, but there's really not one stinker to be I've found it hard to get into past albums from TV on the Radio, but Dear Science just grabbed my attention right from the start. There's much beauty and depth to be uncovered here. "Halfway House" is downright amazing, I love it more each time I hear it. "Crying", "Golden Age" and "DLZ" are a few of my other favorites on the album, but there's really not one stinker to be found here. All killer, no filler... best album I've heard all year. Collapse
  28. JonathanA
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    A fine album, impressive as a whole instead of relying on powerful singles though several songs are certainly single-worthy. This is a great example of how you develop and expand your band's style without turning to gimmicks or sacrificing what was good before. I don't think it's perfect, some of the lyrics are just mediocre imo, but the majority of this disc is awesome.
  29. JamesJ.
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    Really great album, consistently solid throughout. My second favorite of the year thus far, behind Bon Iver
  30. emilywilde
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    Jay, give it up you Too-cool-for-school hipster bitch. TV on the Radio's sound has definitely changed but that doesn't mean it isn't any good anymore. Clearly your jeans are too tight and your fauxhawk is affecting your ability to think.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. There’s a sense of purpose here, of direction and clarity, shafts of accessibility that relegate the din to the background without ever compromising the potentially hostile underbelly of the band’s core sound.
  2. 90
    Throughout Dear Science, TV on the Radio--which includes the rhythm section of bassist Gerard Smith and drummer Jaleel Bunton--flesh out Adebimpe's and Malone's ruminations with relentlessly inventive arrangements that make even familiar sentiments seem fresh.
  3. On Dear Science, TVOTR finds a more traditional consistency, transmuting that dirty experimentalism into a lush cleanliness that eases--rather than hurls--its songs into the art-making ether.