Disarm the Descent - Killswitch Engage
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Disarm The Descent is an overdue return, a prodigal son story and their best album since The End Of Heartache. [6 Apr 2013, p.53]
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    80
    This is direct, explosive and packed with big choruses. [May 2013, p.99]
  3. 80
    Disarm the Descent sees the Massachusetts quintet reinvigorated, leaving 2009's Killswitch Engage in their wake. [May 2013, p.86]
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Disarm The Descent is at least twice as good as 2009's uninspired Killswitch Engage. Although it's not quite the masterful return to Alive or Just Breathing that Leach's reappearance had fans hoping for, it's still damn good.
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Disarm the Descent is the bountiful fruit of the Killswitch’s rejuvenation, and proof that, in life and metal, there are second chances.
  6. 70
    This is an album that refuses to sit still and stagnate. [Jun 2013, p.87]
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    60
    While the band might be adjusting after a shake-up like losing a singer, they've still managed to create another riff-fest that, while not a throwback to their older sound, has them continuing down their current path without much trouble.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 11, 2013
    9
    TL;DR A great album if you can get over the Howard incident.

    This album has been on repeat for the past few days for me, and I really don't
    have any complaints. Yes, at times there will be some similarities with the structure of the songs, maybe the same "chugging" effect starts leaking through, but I can say without a doubt that this doesn't make it bad by any means. If you're going to sit there and compare Jesse to Howard for this album, then you're probably just not going to enjoy it. If you can forget about that incident and treat this as its own venture though, then you'll enjoy DtD from start till finish. On a side note, Jesse seems to bring a lot of "upbeat" tones to songs at times, I think some good examples of this would be In Due Time and Always.

    Overall, If you enjoy some clean vocals and great production, you'll easily enjoy this album.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    Track Rating Contribution The Hell In Me 3 243 Beyond the Flames 4 1024 New Awakening 3 243 In Due Time 4 1024 A Tribute to the Fallen 5 3125
    Turning Point 3 243
    You Don't Bleed for Me 3 243
    No End In Sight 3 243
    Always 3 243
    Time Will Not Remain 3 243

    TOTAL SCORE=6874
    10 THRESHOLD=10000
    FINAL=6.87
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    I have never been a fan of Howard Jones over the top theatrical choruses so when I saw that Jesse Leach and his much more straight forward music were coming back I felt a sense of relief. Upon hearing this CD I am absolutely hooked. KSE have produced THE metalcore CD of the year. This has a wide ranging appeal not only to the basic KSE fans but other genres will now take notice. Great music. Full Review »