Disarm the Descent - Killswitch Engage
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 11, 2013
    9
    TL;DR A great album if you can get over the Howard incident.

    This album has been on repeat for the past few days for me, and I really don't have any complaints. Yes, at times there will be some similarities with the structure of the songs, maybe the same "chugging" effect starts leaking through, but I can say without a doubt that this doesn't make it bad by any means. If you're going to
    sit there and compare Jesse to Howard for this album, then you're probably just not going to enjoy it. If you can forget about that incident and treat this as its own venture though, then you'll enjoy DtD from start till finish. On a side note, Jesse seems to bring a lot of "upbeat" tones to songs at times, I think some good examples of this would be In Due Time and Always.

    Overall, If you enjoy some clean vocals and great production, you'll easily enjoy this album.
    Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    I have no complaints. this album is a masterpiece in my books, I shouldn't be reviewing this in the first place because i'm such a huge mark for KSE. Jesse Leach makes an excellent return to the band. I wasn't sure if was going to be able to fit back in, but he did it. welcome back to the band.
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    Disarm the Descent is a fantastic return for Killswitch Engage. After the decent but highly disappointing 2009 album 'Killswitch Engage', Disarm the Descent is especially great. First off, those looking for a return of the sound of the band's first two records (also with Jesse on vocals) will likely find this album a little disappointing, Jesse has lost a bit of the aggressive edge to his vocals but has picked up magnificently in his clean vocals. Seriously, this album reminded me of the best of Soilwork, Howard Jones' previous work for Killswitch and some of the best from fellow metal core band All That Remains; in all the right ways. The album has a lot of pace at times as well as the traditional Killswitch sound that goes throughout all their records, providing a clean, heavy sound that fans will love whilst still managing to remain fresh. Tracks 'In Due Time', 'No End in Sight' and 'The Hell in Me' are now personal favourites and will be sure to make new fans for this ever great band. Colour me excited for the future. 91/100. Expand
  4. May 27, 2013
    10
    simply put this is their best effort since "the end of heartache" and I dare i say it is better.After their last(less than stellar) album "killswitch engage 2" i was worried that they could never regain the intensity and creative and uplifting songwriting that they were known for. I was a fan of howard jones but his scream always left me wanting(compared to leach) but vocally i believed he was the better singer. On this album (disarm the descent) however, I was blown away by jessie leach's singing and his scream is still as spine tingling as on "alive or just breathing". Not only are leach's vocals superior to jones on this album but they have brought back one of my personal favorite signatures of their's the squeal". Guitar wise "disarm the descent" is as blistering and intense as their earlier efforts with song's like "the hell in me" and "in due time" leaving my face melted all over the floor. "Disarm the descent" has been playing non-stop in my car's cd player since purchase with "no end in sight" of it being replaced any time soon.lol Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    Disarm the Descent is a fantastic return for Killswitch Engage. You can listen to this album from start to finish and enjoy every track. The return of Jesse Leach made all the difference on this album. You can clearly hear how much Jesse's vocals have matured over the years since Alive or just breathing. Though this is not AOJB, it is still proof that Killswitch is the master of Metalcore. My opinion this is the third best Killswitch album behind AOJB and The End of Heartache. Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    This is such an amazing album. From the tight production value to Jesse Leach's ferocious screams, Disarm The Descent rises to become their best album yet. This is their "Master Of Puppets" album, and only serves to peak my anticipation for their next release.
  7. May 10, 2013
    9
    First of all,,please disregard the elitist that is prevalent on this site.This album while not comparable to the self titled debut is far from the mediocre efforts that Killswitch have offered on the albums released in recent memory..Recommended..
  8. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    I have never been a fan of Howard Jones over the top theatrical choruses so when I saw that Jesse Leach and his much more straight forward music were coming back I felt a sense of relief. Upon hearing this CD I am absolutely hooked. KSE have produced THE metalcore CD of the year. This has a wide ranging appeal not only to the basic KSE fans but other genres will now take notice. Great music.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 70
    This is an album that refuses to sit still and stagnate. [Jun 2013, p.87]
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Disarm The Descent is an overdue return, a prodigal son story and their best album since The End Of Heartache. [6 Apr 2013, p.53]
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    80
    This is direct, explosive and packed with big choruses. [May 2013, p.99]