Disarm the Descent

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 80
    Disarm the Descent sees the Massachusetts quintet reinvigorated, leaving 2009's Killswitch Engage in their wake. [May 2013, p.86]
  2. 70
    This is an album that refuses to sit still and stagnate. [Jun 2013, p.87]
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Disarm The Descent is at least twice as good as 2009's uninspired Killswitch Engage. Although it's not quite the masterful return to Alive or Just Breathing that Leach's reappearance had fans hoping for, it's still damn good.
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Disarm The Descent is an overdue return, a prodigal son story and their best album since The End Of Heartache. [6 Apr 2013, p.53]
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Disarm the Descent is the bountiful fruit of the Killswitch’s rejuvenation, and proof that, in life and metal, there are second chances.
  6. Apr 9, 2013
    80
    This is direct, explosive and packed with big choruses. [May 2013, p.99]
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Apr 11, 2013
    9
    TL;DR A great album if you can get over the Howard incident.

    This album has been on repeat for the past few days for me, and I really don't
    TL;DR A great album if you can get over the Howard incident.

    This album has been on repeat for the past few days for me, and I really don't have any complaints. Yes, at times there will be some similarities with the structure of the songs, maybe the same "chugging" effect starts leaking through, but I can say without a doubt that this doesn't make it bad by any means. If you're going to sit there and compare Jesse to Howard for this album, then you're probably just not going to enjoy it. If you can forget about that incident and treat this as its own venture though, then you'll enjoy DtD from start till finish. On a side note, Jesse seems to bring a lot of "upbeat" tones to songs at times, I think some good examples of this would be In Due Time and Always.

    Overall, If you enjoy some clean vocals and great production, you'll easily enjoy this album.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 8, 2015
    5
    I'm quite surprised how high a rating this album got. Yes the opener is brutal and fast but most songs after that are pretty boring and basic,I'm quite surprised how high a rating this album got. Yes the opener is brutal and fast but most songs after that are pretty boring and basic, sounding like they could've been written by a 16 year old metal band who want to make fairly generic riffs that are heavy. The main songs that interested me were The Hell in Me, in due time and Always, but apart from that a fairly average album. The songs are for the majority average but they are listenable. Also some of the singers screams just don't sound right. Sure it might be killswitch's new vocalists sound but still, it's a bit off putting at times. Cleans are reasonably good though. 5/10. Full Review »
  3. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    Track Rating Contribution
    The Hell In Me 3 243
    Beyond the Flames 4 1024 New Awakening 3 243 In Due Time 4 1024 A
    Track Rating Contribution
    The Hell In Me 3 243
    Beyond the Flames 4 1024
    New Awakening 3 243
    In Due Time 4 1024
    A Tribute to the Fallen 5 3125
    Turning Point 3 243
    You Don't Bleed for Me 3 243
    No End In Sight 3 243
    Always 3 243
    Time Will Not Remain 3 243

    TOTAL SCORE=6874
    10 THRESHOLD=10000
    FINAL=6.87
    Full Review »