Disarm the Descent

Disarm the Descent Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth studio release for the Massachusetts metalcore band sees the return of original lead singer Jesse Leach, who had left in 2002.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Disarm the Descent is the bountiful fruit of the Killswitch’s rejuvenation, and proof that, in life and metal, there are second chances.
  2. Kerrang!
    Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Disarm The Descent is an overdue return, a prodigal son story and their best album since The End Of Heartache. [6 Apr 2013, p.53]
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Disarm The Descent is at least twice as good as 2009's uninspired Killswitch Engage. Although it's not quite the masterful return to Alive or Just Breathing that Leach's reappearance had fans hoping for, it's still damn good.
  4. Alternative Press
    Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Disarm the Descent sees the Massachusetts quintet reinvigorated, leaving 2009's Killswitch Engage in their wake. [May 2013, p.86]
  5. Q Magazine
    Apr 9, 2013
    80
    This is direct, explosive and packed with big choruses. [May 2013, p.99]
  6. Classic Rock Magazine
    Jun 25, 2013
    70
    This is an album that refuses to sit still and stagnate. [Jun 2013, p.87]
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    60
    While the band might be adjusting after a shake-up like losing a singer, they've still managed to create another riff-fest that, while not a throwback to their older sound, has them continuing down their current path without much trouble.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    I have no complaints. this album is a masterpiece in my books, I shouldn't be reviewing this in the first place because i'm such a huge markI have no complaints. this album is a masterpiece in my books, I shouldn't be reviewing this in the first place because i'm such a huge mark for KSE. Jesse Leach makes an excellent return to the band. I wasn't sure if was going to be able to fit back in, but he did it. welcome back to the band. Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    This is such an amazing album. From the tight production value to Jesse Leach's ferocious screams, Disarm The Descent rises to become theirThis is such an amazing album. From the tight production value to Jesse Leach's ferocious screams, Disarm The Descent rises to become their best album yet. This is their "Master Of Puppets" album, and only serves to peak my anticipation for their next release. Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2016
    10
    This album is in my opinion, a masterpiece of metalcore. Jesse Leach in support with Adam D's vocals make for a ferocious and incrediblyThis album is in my opinion, a masterpiece of metalcore. Jesse Leach in support with Adam D's vocals make for a ferocious and incredibly beautiful vocal performance, with exceptional music to support. I have to say I believe this is their best album to date, and is easily one of the best metalcore albums ever created. Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    Disarm the Descent is a fantastic return for Killswitch Engage. After the decent but highly disappointing 2009 album 'Killswitch Engage',Disarm the Descent is a fantastic return for Killswitch Engage. After the decent but highly disappointing 2009 album 'Killswitch Engage', Disarm the Descent is especially great. First off, those looking for a return of the sound of the band's first two records (also with Jesse on vocals) will likely find this album a little disappointing, Jesse has lost a bit of the aggressive edge to his vocals but has picked up magnificently in his clean vocals. Seriously, this album reminded me of the best of Soilwork, Howard Jones' previous work for Killswitch and some of the best from fellow metal core band All That Remains; in all the right ways. The album has a lot of pace at times as well as the traditional Killswitch sound that goes throughout all their records, providing a clean, heavy sound that fans will love whilst still managing to remain fresh. Tracks 'In Due Time', 'No End in Sight' and 'The Hell in Me' are now personal favourites and will be sure to make new fans for this ever great band. Colour me excited for the future. 91/100. Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    A good return of KSE, but I do not really surprised.
    Jesse Leach returned years later muchs KSE was good news, because if I like singing in
    A good return of KSE, but I do not really surprised.
    Jesse Leach returned years later muchs KSE was good news, because if I like singing in the band, but now I have to say it was somewhat disappointing on their part, their guttural voices were almost bad, maybe not you think so but a comparison of AOJB album is almost disappointing.
    Clarified that the clean vocals of Jesse Leach are still very good as previous works, but he also had the same problem as Howard Jones on his album, do not sound like themselves, in this case Jesse sounded like it was a sore throat if they hear this new album AOJB and can it be confused with the guttural voice and find new work ugly.
    The instruments still sound amazing and epic plus great guitar riffs or solos that can be seen in the songs: "The New Awakening" and In Due Time while continuing to have good lyrics.
    The truth is not what rating to give it, is very good pace, but he failed the guttural. Also, if it is true that Jesse them again with renewed push towards the wild and dark side of the band, but only rarely. If anyone expected the Killswitch, now back to Jesse's head, would dare to charge a second part of that great Alive Or Just Breathing, or simply going to continue from that point aside all the stage ultra-melodic emotional and have lived with Howard Jones, goes very wrong, or at least half.
    Prisoners of their own patterns and secured in a position they do not want being eroded, sweetened excesivametne choirs and emotion pastelosa breathing some tarnish again flawless production work and a potential that was lost many years ago.
    Collapse
  6. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    Track Rating Contribution
    The Hell In Me 3 243
    Beyond the Flames 4 1024 New Awakening 3 243 In Due Time 4 1024 A
    Track Rating Contribution
    The Hell In Me 3 243
    Beyond the Flames 4 1024
    New Awakening 3 243
    In Due Time 4 1024
    A Tribute to the Fallen 5 3125
    Turning Point 3 243
    You Don't Bleed for Me 3 243
    No End In Sight 3 243
    Always 3 243
    Time Will Not Remain 3 243

    TOTAL SCORE=6874
    10 THRESHOLD=10000
    FINAL=6.87
    Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2013
    5
    I'm letting my metal loving friend trying to slowly ease me into the music and am being introduced to some of the best bands and KillswitchI'm letting my metal loving friend trying to slowly ease me into the music and am being introduced to some of the best bands and Killswitch Engage was recommended and seeing as they had a new album out, I figured I'd give it a try. I am liking their style of metal but at the moment, I'm struggling to find lots of tracks that cross from "ok" into "brilliant." The best track is definitely the opener, The Hell In Me and The New Awakening and In Due Time are very good too. But everything after that seems to fall into the acceptable category and tend to be rather samey. But I say all this is a beginner of listening to metal and I haven't listened to full albums of all the different styles yet and my overall opinion about metal music is still in the early stages. For now, most of the ones I listen to get a 5/10 rating, because none have been bad so far. And this is another one of those. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews