Don't Believe The Truth

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: May 31, 2005
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 332 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 332

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulP
    Jun 1, 2005
    6
    Very average
  2. NoahE
    Jun 2, 2005
    5
    A lot has changed in the world since Oasis won over hearts internationally with "(What's The Story) Morning Glory". They were clearly in their prime then, but saw as their dominance proved all too stoppable and watched their steady decline from "Standing On The Shoulder of Giants" and beyond. It sounded as though Oasis, well, were beginning to plagiarize themselves and became A lot has changed in the world since Oasis won over hearts internationally with "(What's The Story) Morning Glory". They were clearly in their prime then, but saw as their dominance proved all too stoppable and watched their steady decline from "Standing On The Shoulder of Giants" and beyond. It sounded as though Oasis, well, were beginning to plagiarize themselves and became increasingly conventional to their approach. Now, it can be very easy to be apologetic to them and really forgive them after the mediocre efforts of "Heathen Chemistry" and such, but they still seem to be trapped in the woods. "Lyla" is a rather weak lead single that doesn't really make justice of some of the album's three strong numbers: "Guess God Thinks I'm Abel", "The Meaning of Soul" and "Part of the Queue", which, unfortunately, are all sized up together in the middle of the record. But other numbers like "Love Like A Bomb", "The Importance Of Being Idle", "Keep The Dream Alive" and the closing track "Let There Be love" come off as rather unconvincing and fail to both incite or mold the psychedelic spirt of the band. Oasis has every right not to believe the truth, but the truth is, they still are having a bit of difficulty locating where their whim de-railed along the way. Expand
  3. carlosg
    Jun 30, 2005
    6
    I was about the biggest oasis fan in the world, always the first in line for the San Francisco/Oakland shows. I also have the distinction of being the first fan to hear the song "Be Here Now" (sneaked into the oakland coliseum 6 hours before they opened the doors) saw oasis do their soundcheck before U2. But lets face it, oasis are getting more and more mediocre with each album. where is I was about the biggest oasis fan in the world, always the first in line for the San Francisco/Oakland shows. I also have the distinction of being the first fan to hear the song "Be Here Now" (sneaked into the oakland coliseum 6 hours before they opened the doors) saw oasis do their soundcheck before U2. But lets face it, oasis are getting more and more mediocre with each album. where is all this hype for "truth" coming from? First 2 oasis albums and Masterplan are AMAZING. but is was ALL down hill from there. each album even worse than the one before. Be Here Now: Good Melodies and guitars but the songs dragged and dragged leaving little to be desired. Do you know what I mean however, is probably one of oasis' best songs. as well as fucking in the bushes, "standing only lasted me about 3 months of listening pleasure", Heathen Chemistry provided about a month of enjoyment, and that was mainly from the songs that Liam wrote. Noel was writing sappy songs about Love and girls and whatever. I couldn't believe it, but it seemed to me that Liam would now be responsible for carrying the torch in oasis. But "truth" proved that to be wrong. "truth" lasted me about 5 days. I haven't listened to it since, just not interested. never like "lyla" that much. sounded like "king of leon" or some other boring shit. i always thought that oasis was unfairly dismissed as copying the beatles sound and always defended them against that accusation. Sure, they are obviously influenced by them, but there are also influences of stones, sex pistols, kinks, t-rex, stone roses, etc. but now just about the only new oasis songs that i want to hear more than a couple of times are the ones that are blatantly beatlesque or lennonesque in the case of Liam's songs. whats sad is that oasis are still capable of writing great songs, but basically they are sell outs. how do you go from priding yourself on being working class and then make a point of wearing gucci and prada. i thought gem and andy would add to the greatness that was oasis. but they didnt, they didnt because oasis albums are a collection of individual song writing and not group writing. In the end, oasis lost the drive. Had their drive been rooted in creating great music, their greatness would not have ended. but because their drive was based on being the biggest band in the world and conquering the world, there was nothing to drive towards one that was accomplished. So now they release an album that is pretty mediocre, not one great, let alone classic, song on the album. and it opens to reviews saying, "best album in a decade"..BULL!!!! Its the worst album in a decade. Its just that this album happened to be released at a time in which bands such as interpol, killers, kasabian, hot hot heat, jet, etc are getting airplay. Expand
  4. I.P.Knightley
    Jun 9, 2005
    4
    A very poor effort indeed. There is a lot of better music out there you should invest your money on.
  5. danb.
    May 31, 2005
    5
    Everyone slags Standing on the Shoulder of Giants, their fourth album, but aside from two horrible tracks, it was a pretty good album. This one people are praising, but it's pretty lame. The lyrics are mostly shite, the melodies are scarce, and there is none of the urgency the band used to have. And Liam's voice sounds like an impersonation of himself or somehting. I do love the Everyone slags Standing on the Shoulder of Giants, their fourth album, but aside from two horrible tracks, it was a pretty good album. This one people are praising, but it's pretty lame. The lyrics are mostly shite, the melodies are scarce, and there is none of the urgency the band used to have. And Liam's voice sounds like an impersonation of himself or somehting. I do love the last track, and the Importrance of Being Idle. I'm sure as few of the other tracks will grow on me. But I hope the boys get it more together for the next go round. Expand
  6. Hein
    Apr 30, 2006
    6
    Ik haat Drown In Sound en Pitchforkmedia.
  7. alphaa
    Jun 5, 2005
    4
    much overrated. not such a great album.
  8. jakes
    Jun 7, 2005
    6
    Their new album is only aveage and is not really a return to form. Gone is the excitement of oasis songs. Turn up the sun, lyla, A bell will ring, Meaning of soul.. none of them take off. And these are the rocking songs on the album. Oasis needed to find the tunes which would excite people again. There aren't any songs on this album that achieve that. So, instead, we get a bunch of Their new album is only aveage and is not really a return to form. Gone is the excitement of oasis songs. Turn up the sun, lyla, A bell will ring, Meaning of soul.. none of them take off. And these are the rocking songs on the album. Oasis needed to find the tunes which would excite people again. There aren't any songs on this album that achieve that. So, instead, we get a bunch of mediocre middle of the road type songs. Oasis was great when the car was out of control, flying down the open road. Expand
  9. Matt
    Jun 9, 2005
    5
    Much of it falls into the overproduction they've been guilty of lately.
  10. DanB.
    Sep 20, 2007
    5
    I don't know what's worse, that this album is mediocre, or that so many people seemed to actually like it. The album's got a few not-bad songs, but mostly it's just taking the derivative thing to extremes... like, "Mucky Fingers"? That's like a high schooler's attempt to ape Lou Reed. "Turn Up the Sun" isn't much fun. "Let There Be Love" has a *great* I don't know what's worse, that this album is mediocre, or that so many people seemed to actually like it. The album's got a few not-bad songs, but mostly it's just taking the derivative thing to extremes... like, "Mucky Fingers"? That's like a high schooler's attempt to ape Lou Reed. "Turn Up the Sun" isn't much fun. "Let There Be Love" has a *great* melody but needs a trim..... I dunno. There's no song here as good as "She's Electric" or "Some Might Say". I think their first two albums are best, their 3rd is overblown but good if taken in pieces, their 4th is actually a really good album tho people seem to hate on it, and after that, they've just been intermittently good.... if I didn't like Noel Gallagher so much in general I wouldn't even bother. Expand
  11. AngieS
    Jun 15, 2005
    6
    Good...but not even as good as I expected.
  12. ShogoL
    Mar 26, 2007
    6
    In my opinion Oasis probably will never be able to top it's first two albums Definetly Maybe and Morning Glory, but while this CD is semi-mediocre it does still have some good stuff in it. Recommended tracks are the importance of being idle, meaning of soul, let there be love, and lyla. Quite a few of the songs seems to have quite a different sound from past oasis music, but maybe In my opinion Oasis probably will never be able to top it's first two albums Definetly Maybe and Morning Glory, but while this CD is semi-mediocre it does still have some good stuff in it. Recommended tracks are the importance of being idle, meaning of soul, let there be love, and lyla. Quite a few of the songs seems to have quite a different sound from past oasis music, but maybe that's a good thing. Here's hoping that they can come back and surprise us with a rsweet album next year. Expand
  13. KikoJ
    May 31, 2005
    4
    Noel's only good song on this one is "Part Of The Queue". The standout tracks on the album are actually Andy's "Keep The Dream Alive" and Gem's "A Bell Will Ring". 10 years is way too long a time to be continually mediocre.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Yes, the rumors are true: Oasis has--for the first time in a decade--made an album worth hearing.
  2. Mediocre melodies ride atop formulaic songwriting.
  3. In the end, it's Oasis's attempts to capture former pinnacles, from trying to re-create the simple sunny-side-up pleasures of "Live Forever" to trying for another album-ending mountain like "Champagne Supernova," that keep their latter-day output so entirely forgettable.