Don't Believe The Truth

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: May 31, 2005
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Spin
    91
    Leanness and vitality have replaced the cokey bloat of their last few studio trips. [Jun 2005, p.103]
  2. It's confident, muscular, uncluttered, tight, and tuneful in a way Oasis haven't been since Morning Glory.
  3. Filter
    86
    The most immediate tunes are undoubtedly the headbobbing rockers, but it's when Oasis stretch themselves that they are at their most interesting. [#15, p.91]
  4. Q Magazine
    80
    The Gallaghers sound more comfortable than ever in their skins. [Jun 2005, p.102]
  5. Mojo
    80
    Their best in almost a decade. [Jun 2005, p.100]
  6. It is, in fact, what almost every other Oasis album has been: Not nearly as bad as overhyped sufferers might fear, not nearly as good as its enthusiasts want it to be.
  7. Alternative Press
    80
    Don't Believe The Truth strips away the layered excess of albums like 1997's Be Here Now to revisit the streamlined pomposity of the group's earliest discs. [Jul 2005, p.182]
  8. Yes, the rumors are true: Oasis has--for the first time in a decade--made an album worth hearing.
  9. Rolling Stone
    70
    It's the first Oasis album in years that doesn't sound like pale self-imitation. [2 Jun 2005, p.70]
  10. Better than the first two? Course not. Better than the last three? Definitely.
  11. For a few glorious moments, our beloved Mancs have that swagger back.
  12. It lacks the raw energy and tunes that made people want to hum uncontrollably in the shower. Worse yet, the brazen confidence the Gallagher brothers displayed during the early years has faded.
  13. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Sure, for 11 songs, these blokes can grind out toe-tapping Britpop, but there are no heart-pounding anthems here. [10 Jun 2005, p.107]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 334 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 216
  1. NoelG.
    Oct 3, 2007
    0
    Absolutely Pathetic. This is how you de-rail a career, and yes I think other people out their could write better songs - and they're Absolutely Pathetic. This is how you de-rail a career, and yes I think other people out their could write better songs - and they're probably not being obnoxious, they're just being honest. Maybe you should listen to people who play instruments, and not rich rock stars who's day has come and gone long ago. Altogether, if you haven't heard this album, I'm being dead truthful here - your dead lucky - cause its pathetic. If I could turn back time, I would off happily have had the band call it quits after "Heathen Chemistry", the fact that it took the band so long to write and record this, and scrap so many sessions is just ridiculous and laughable. After all Oasis is about honesty, and I swear to god, their is no honesty in this music anywhere Full Review »
  2. kazuhirok.
    Jul 12, 2007
    0
    oasis is dead.
  3. carl
    May 25, 2007
    1
    The entire album is really boring , the only song in the entire album that isn't terrible is the importance of being idle.