Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. There are no missteps on the album, and the group's faithful will have plenty to rock with. But Don't Tread on Me still feels like one to grow on instead of one to remember.
  2. Every song is tightly wound and well-produced, even as the overall feel is lighter than previous 311 efforts, save a couple of ill-advised ventures into social consciousness and hard rock.
  3. Intermittently catchy numbers help a bit, but not enough to counter the overwhelming aura of by-the-numbers blandness. [19 Aug 2005, p.143]
  4. Fans of albums such as 2001’s From Chaos and 2003’s promising Evolver will likely find Tread familiar and perhaps even comforting, but it’s unlikely to invite a new horde of fans as the album often sounds like an imitation of the bands 311 helped inspire in its decade-plus career.
  5. 40
    Barely breaks a sweat as it revisits the lukewarm metal riffs, barely passable rapping and sunny Caribbean choruses of [their] previous seven studio albums. [Oct 2005, p.145]
  6. Instead of seeming angry or inspired, 311 just end up sounding like the pop world has passed them by.
  7. Things start out strong... [But] the rest of the material is basically an easy-listening version of the band, with vocals weak enough to be distracting and an over-reliance on multilayered, kitchen sink production. [20 Aug 2005]
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 10 out of 26
  1. brookso
    Dec 12, 2005
    311 have been my favorite band for years and this is album is great. Some songs "Solar Flare" and "Waiting" are a little bland and get old after a few listens. "Frolic Room" is the poppiest song 311 has done in awhile, but it delivers as an essential party song. "Speak Easy" is a beautiful love song and gives me the chills everytime i listen to it. "It's Getting OK Now" is probably the best song on the album lyrically and musically..I hope hard-rcokers like this are the future of 311. "Getting Through To Her" is a solid song that grows on you after each listen. If your expecting another Grassroots, then you'll probably think this a pop-sellout album. If you keep an open mind and enjoy great reggae music, then this album is great. Soundsystem is still 311's best album imo, but this right up there. Full Review »
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    They're sound is beginning to tire, but Don't Tread On Me manages to pack just enough punch to stay afloat.
  3. j30
    Mar 22, 2012
    Don't Tread On Me is a mixed bag. They're trying so hard to grow out of the sound that made them extremely popular in the 90's (311 and Soundsystem, considered classics by die-hard fans).The music is pretty dull and lifeless. It's like watching your dad hopelessly trying to be cool around a younger crowd. Embarrassing. Full Review »