Don't Tread On Me Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Omaha, Nebraska alt-rockers return with an eighth album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Every song is tightly wound and well-produced, even as the overall feel is lighter than previous 311 efforts, save a couple of ill-advised ventures into social consciousness and hard rock.
  2. There are no missteps on the album, and the group's faithful will have plenty to rock with. But Don't Tread on Me still feels like one to grow on instead of one to remember.
  3. Fans of albums such as 2001’s From Chaos and 2003’s promising Evolver will likely find Tread familiar and perhaps even comforting, but it’s unlikely to invite a new horde of fans as the album often sounds like an imitation of the bands 311 helped inspire in its decade-plus career.
  4. Intermittently catchy numbers help a bit, but not enough to counter the overwhelming aura of by-the-numbers blandness. [19 Aug 2005, p.143]
  5. Things start out strong... [But] the rest of the material is basically an easy-listening version of the band, with vocals weak enough to be distracting and an over-reliance on multilayered, kitchen sink production. [20 Aug 2005]
  6. 40
    Barely breaks a sweat as it revisits the lukewarm metal riffs, barely passable rapping and sunny Caribbean choruses of [their] previous seven studio albums. [Oct 2005, p.145]
  7. Instead of seeming angry or inspired, 311 just end up sounding like the pop world has passed them by.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 10 out of 26
  1. brookso
    Dec 12, 2005
    311 have been my favorite band for years and this is album is great. Some songs "Solar Flare" and "Waiting" are a little bland and get old after a few listens. "Frolic Room" is the poppiest song 311 has done in awhile, but it delivers as an essential party song. "Speak Easy" is a beautiful love song and gives me the chills everytime i listen to it. "It's Getting OK Now" is probably the best song on the album lyrically and musically..I hope hard-rcokers like this are the future of 311. "Getting Through To Her" is a solid song that grows on you after each listen. If your expecting another Grassroots, then you'll probably think this a pop-sellout album. If you keep an open mind and enjoy great reggae music, then this album is great. Soundsystem is still 311's best album imo, but this right up there. Expand
  2. RockfellerBalls
    Oct 13, 2005
    The fact that only two people voted on this thing and both gave it at 10 should tell you a lot about 311's fanbase. I mean, a new 311 record...isn't that the punchline to a joke? It rokz, dood Expand
  3. LukeS
    Dec 17, 2006
    This album is good. But 311 has been around for so long, and changed so much over the albums, that its becoming almost impossible to find somebody who likes all of their albums. I don't see how somebody could say that this album is weaker than any of their other last few albums. Expand
  4. Mark
    Oct 16, 2005
    As a 311 fan I'd say the album is decent. Some songs are good but others are lame. Most of the songs are either hit or miss, it just seems like they're trying to re-create 'Amber' and hopefully get on a soundtrack. Expand
  5. j30
    Mar 22, 2012
    Don't Tread On Me is a mixed bag. They're trying so hard to grow out of the sound that made them extremely popular in the 90's (311 and Soundsystem, considered classics by die-hard fans).The music is pretty dull and lifeless. It's like watching your dad hopelessly trying to be cool around a younger crowd. Embarrassing. Expand
  6. AlSharpton08
    Oct 21, 2005
  7. bob
    Nov 11, 2005
    I love 311. Please believe the critics, this is a bad album. Good for pop- culture tools, bad for real 311 fans. Pretty much like every album since From Chaos. Re-release Soundsystem! Expand

See all 26 User Reviews