Dreams and Nightmares Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After a number of well-received mixtapes, the Philadelphia rapper releases his debut full-length studio album featuring guest appearances by Mary J. Blige, Drake, Kirko Bangz, John Legend, Louie V, Nas, Rick Ross, Trey Songz, and Wale.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    Meek surpasses expectations of his own personal Dreams and Nightmares with a youthful appeal, especially for today's misconstrued generation. [Dec 2012/Jan 2013, p.88]
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    74
    Meek has made the move from mixtapes to the majors with a solid vision.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    Hip-hop's bountiful fall continues with this taut, often terrific, major label bow from the Philly native.
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    On Dreams and Nightmares he mostly keeps things gritty, telling--that is, yelling--hardscrabble street stories, in a voice big and brassy enough to be heard 20 blocks away.
  5. Nov 1, 2012
    60
    There's a hidden level of responsibility in his words, with Mill striking a balance between the glorification and the lamentation of his actions.
  6. 60
    If Meek wants to maximize his potential, he'll have to step out from his boss' (er, bawse's) shadow and further develop his own identity.
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    58
    Everything is executed competently enough, but the album's stuffy backward focus hardly complements an excitable rapper whose best work comes from rapping in the here and now.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Typical Meek Mill release here, which is good for fans and bad for non-fans. As a Meek fan, I loved this album in its entirety and will beTypical Meek Mill release here, which is good for fans and bad for non-fans. As a Meek fan, I loved this album in its entirety and will be buying it as soon as possible. Keep it up, Meek! Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    The intro song, literally made the album amazing to me.
    Lyrically, it is the same Meek Mill everyone loves, however the guests somewhat
    The intro song, literally made the album amazing to me.
    Lyrically, it is the same Meek Mill everyone loves, however the guests somewhat reminded me of two other albums this year in "God Forgives, I Don't" and "Based On A T.R.U Story" This might just be because of John Legend being on all of these albums, but to me, there was no difference between Meek's Dreamchasers mix tape series and the album. I think everyone looks forward to the next Dreamchasers and I was disappointed by Meek. Fortunately the album still has some solid hits ("Maybach Curtains" and "Young Kings") and a couple of catchy tunes, including the Rick Ross assisted "Believe It" and of course, "Young and Gettin' It" I look forward to Meek Mill growing as an artist and believe that one day his skills as a rapper will challenge those of his captain, Ricky Rozay.
    Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    Pretty decent album and worth the wait. I found Meek's Dream Chaser mixtapes a mixed bag, but this album is pretty good. Definitely not thePretty decent album and worth the wait. I found Meek's Dream Chaser mixtapes a mixed bag, but this album is pretty good. Definitely not the classic he wants it to be (ala Get Rich and Die Trying, Illmatic, etc.). I think anyone who is into the whole MMG scene won't be disappointed. I think Meek is just getting started. Collapse
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    Very solid album. Some might say it sounds like his mix tapes, well yeah that's because it does. But isn't that a good thing too? At least heVery solid album. Some might say it sounds like his mix tapes, well yeah that's because it does. But isn't that a good thing too? At least he didn't do a Cole World. Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    The album was a pretty solid debut. The standout tracks like Tony Story 2 and Traumatized, had me sold on the album, until i heard the rest.The album was a pretty solid debut. The standout tracks like Tony Story 2 and Traumatized, had me sold on the album, until i heard the rest. Tracks like Young & Gettin It, Lay Up, and Believe It, should've been left off the album and never thought of. Overall Id have to give the album a 6 at best. You can tell this album was built specifically for the streets and sound systems. Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2012
    6
    The album is decent. The Dreams and Nightmares track (the intro), Traumatized, Tony Story Pt. 2 & Burn (which was also on Meek's mixtape) areThe album is decent. The Dreams and Nightmares track (the intro), Traumatized, Tony Story Pt. 2 & Burn (which was also on Meek's mixtape) are the stand-out tracks. There's nothing really revolutionary or game changing going here. The beats and rhymes are all pretty standard for MMG (with exception of Rockie Fresh and Stalley). Like, I said, this is decent. If you like banging (not necessarily GOOD or original banging beats, though) and energetic rapping, then this is for you. If you like creativity, originality, lyricism and dope MCing, check out Good Kid, m.A.A.d. City by Kendrick Lamar. Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    This album, Dreams and Nightmares from Meek Mill, sucks donkey dick. Seriously, this is one of the worst rap albums of the year. There's basicThis album, Dreams and Nightmares from Meek Mill, sucks donkey dick. Seriously, this is one of the worst rap albums of the year. There's basic rapping skills, the content is the same repetitive **** money, women, drugs, real **** **** etc., and Meek just yells too damn much. Don't buy this ****ty album and spend your hard-earned money to buy that good kid, m.A.A.d city by Kendrick Lamar. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews