Encore

Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. His verses sound lazy and unfocused... Nevertheless, "Encore" does prove one thing: that even half-trying, Eminem is still better than most of the rappers beside him with plenty of personality to spare.
  2. Encore is a fourth fascinating record from Eminem, but it's also easily his weakest and, in many ways, tamest album to date.
  3. Encore isn't as astonishing as The Marshall Mathers LP. Few albums by anyone ever will be. But in the time-honored manner of mature work, it showcases a phenomenally gifted musician and lyricist doing all the things he does best.
  4. Funny, catchy, clever, and irreverent past his allotted time.
  5. His scattershot approach at taking on everyone and everything gets a wee tiresome after a while.
  6. It's true that Encore represents a drop-off in lyrical attention to detail from Mathers, and even 2002's The Eminem Show. But Mr. Shady is still the best MC on the planet, and Encore is still a lyrical tour de force, even if there's not as much de force as on previous records.
  7. For the most part, Encore's strained, vaguely sad, regressive wackiness makes a lucid and compelling argument that Eminem should retire Slim Shady and let the real, serious Marshall Mathers stand up and be heard.
  8. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    The pedestrian half of 'Encore' only serves to underline how awesome the other half is. [20 Nov 2004, p.53]
  9. Los Angeles Times
    75
    The album has a familiar shortcoming: Once again, Eminem is guilty of not knowing when to stop in the studio. [8 Nov 2004]
  10. Uncut
    90
    The standard is so consistently high, sides so conclusively split, even after six years' familiarity with his schtick, that genius is the word. [Jan 2005, p.116]
  11. Blender
    80
    With Encore, Eminem rediscovers his sense of play and lets it run naked and screaming across the stage. [Jan/Feb 2005, p.100]
  12. Spin
    75
    It includes some of the most thoughtful music of Eminem's career, and some of the butt-stupidest, and while there's a lot to like about both, the album feels transitional and muddled. [Jan 2005, p.95]
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 441 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 180
  1. wiggettyw.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Keeps getting better and better. Second only to The Eminem Show.
  2. JimmyB
    Mar 8, 2005
    3
    Wow, what was so good went so wrong. Em, this CD is horrible. Lyrical content and effort sound as if they were written by a 4th grader. The Wow, what was so good went so wrong. Em, this CD is horrible. Lyrical content and effort sound as if they were written by a 4th grader. The beats on this album suck too. Its a shame that one of the best lyricists of our time puts out crap like this and hurts his legacy. I listened to this crap only once and have not listened to it again. Its sad, but I think the 3 bonus tracks are the only good part of this album. All the recent CD's After math has released have been garbage except Game's CD. Don't believe me that Em's lyrics on this album are weak, take a look for yourself: BRAIN DAMAGE (Slim Shady LP) These are the results of a thousand electric volts A neck with bolts, "Nurse we're losin him, check the pulse!" A kid who refused to respect adults Wore spectacles with taped frames and a freckled nose A corny lookin white boy, scrawny and always ornery Cause I was always sick of brawny bullies pickin on me And I might snap, one day just like that I decided to strike back and flatten every tire on the bike rack (Whosssssh) My first day in junior high, this kid said, "It's you and I, three o'clock sharp this afternoon you die" I looked at my watch it was one twenty "I already gave you my lunch money what more do you want from me?!?" He said, "Don't try to run from me, you'll just make it worse..." My palms were sweaty, and I started to shake at first Something told me, "Try to fake a stomach ache it works" I screamed, "Owww! My appendix feels like they could burst! Teacher, teacher, quick I need a naked nurse!" [N] "What's the matter?" [E] "I don't know, my leg, it hurts!" [N] "Leg?!? I thought you said it was your tummy?!?" [E] "Oh, I mean it is, but I also got a bum knee!" [N] "Mr. Mathers, the fun and games are over. And just for that stunt, you're gonna get some extra homework." [E] "But don't you wanna give me after school detention?" [N] "Nah, that bully wants to beat your ass and I'ma let him." BIG WEENIE (Encore) Alright listen, I need you to focus I need you to go dig deep in your mind, this is important We are going to perform an experiment of the sorts I'm going to have to ask you to bear with me for a moment Now I need you to open your mind-your eyes close them You are now about to be placed under my hypnosis For the next four and a half minutes We are going to explore into your mind To find out why you're so fuckin' jealous Now why did they make Yoo-Hoo? Hippity ga-ga boo-boo Psych, I'm kidding I just wanted to see if you're still listenin' Ok, now I need your undivided attention Sir I have a question Why do I always sense this undeniable tension From the moment that I enter into the room It gets all quiet and whispers Whenever theres conversation, why am I always mentioned? I've been dying to ask, it's been itchin' at me Is it just because If you can honestly tell me that the Encore lyrics are as good as the Slim Shady LP lyrics, you do not deserve to listen to hip-hop. Nuff said. Full Review »
  3. VeronciaF
    Jan 30, 2005
    8
    althugh some may say Em is out of ideas and has nothing to rap about, this CD prooves america's shallow oppinion wrong with it's althugh some may say Em is out of ideas and has nothing to rap about, this CD prooves america's shallow oppinion wrong with it's brilliant lyrics and dancable tunes. Full Review »