For Screening Purposes Only

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Jan 24, 2006
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. The UK trio is hard, fast, and viciously catchy, but above all scary.
  2. This is a record that wipes the board clean. It's a record that will invigorate and re-energise.
  3. Mojo
    80
    Sheer liquid mayhem. [Dec 2005, p.98]
  4. If you can get past the hype, you'll find that For Screening Purposes Only is a solid, sometimes spectacular debut from an exciting group of young'uns.
  5. Urb
    80
    The songwriting here is stellar enough to overshadow the caustic manner in which Sam Merrann screams simply for the sake of screaming. [Mar 2006, p.119]
  6. A highly enjoyable album... one that’s louder than the Liars, more fun than the (new) Strokes, and ten times more dynamic than the Arctic Monkeys.
  7. Without question, for all its eclecticism, "For Screening Purposes Only" is a dumb, disposable record that no one will listen to in 12 months' time.
  8. Q Magazine
    70
    Bristling with invention. [Dec 2005, p.156]
  9. For Screening Purposes is worth checking out for those who like their music prickly but with an undercurrent of pop to it, too.
  10. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Half the time it's a match made in hipster heaven. [27 Jan 2006, p.85]
  11. Spin
    67
    The frail bodyslams on the band's debut album throb and stagger as if throbbing and staggering were against the grain. [Feb 2006, p.88]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. DelroyFunk
    Apr 26, 2006
    1
    wow, this is just noise, worst album ive heard in the past 5 years
  2. BrandonH
    Apr 15, 2006
    9
    I love it. Everything sounds like it could fall apart at any second, and that's exactly the kind of loud, decadent, new noise I've I love it. Everything sounds like it could fall apart at any second, and that's exactly the kind of loud, decadent, new noise I've been looking for while I wait for the next Blood Brothers release. Full Review »
  3. BenL
    Mar 16, 2006
    9
    Experimental, Dangerous, and Brilliant. Test Icicles re-invent music with a daunting future-sight. Probably the best record I've bought Experimental, Dangerous, and Brilliant. Test Icicles re-invent music with a daunting future-sight. Probably the best record I've bought over the last 6 months. Shame it's gonna be their last. Full Review »