Get Behind Me Satan - The White Stripes
Get Behind Me Satan Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 254 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The duo's fifth long-player, destined to be known as GBMS in record reviews everywhere, was recorded in their Detroit studio. While not a total departure from previous efforts, it does find them expanding their sound away from their usual guitar+drums formula.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. One of the most fascinating things about the Stripes' fifth album is that on first listening it is likely to baffle fans of the Detroit duo as much as it will eventually delight them. [5 Jun 2005]
  2. The finest album of the White Stripes’ career.
  3. Get Behind Me Satan may confuse and even push away some White Stripes fans, but the more the band pushes itself, the better.
  4. 80
    When a guitar hero abandons guitar, it can be because he's bored or because he's a provocateur, or, in the case of Jack White, likely both. But he pulls it off. [Jul 2005, p.113]
  5. Even with a generous handful of tracks that easily rank alongside the White Stripes' best work, Get Behind Me Satan remains a confounding record, one that wears its "transitional album" tag like a heavy peppermint-striped crown.
  6. Get Behind Me Satan lacks the confidently muscular (if sonically overreaching) ambition of Elephant, the raw, bruising intensity of White Blood Cells and the appealing hooks of De Stijl.
  7. [It] tries putting everything from the buffet on your plate, even the Jell-O you're not going to eat. C'mon, sounding like a stripped-down version of the Stooges wasn't such a bad thing, was it?

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 166
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    The White Stripes, like The Strokes are a band who can completely change their sound for one record and it will be just as good as their other work. It's a strangely relaxing album and is a breath of fresh air from 21st century **** Collapse
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    Very nicely done! I just adore The White Stripes. Jack White is so amazing, and the songs on this album just do not disappoint. It was very sad to see them break up, but I'm glad that we still have albums like this around. Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    Really strong follow up to their mulitple hit spawning Elephant record. This album see's the White Stripes try some new tricks, being experimental while at the same time retaining their blues rock core. Although it doesn't have as many catchy numbers as it's predecessors and it may not always be as consistent as we're used to hearing from them, it's got some of their finest moments on it. Red Rain, Take Take Take, Blue Orchid and The Denial Twist would all walk onto any rock album out there. To compliment those tracks you've got the more peculiar ones like The Nurse and Little Ghost. Much better than it's follow up Icky Thump. Expand
  4. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    7
    An average follow-up to their classic album Elephant. It's like they're trying to pull a Kid A on us and it nearly works. Some of their best songs to date are a product of the record, which include Blue Orchard, Denial Twist, and My Doorbell. Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    6
    There is a reason why in 2005 The White Stripes received a Grammy nomination for Best Pop Vocal Performance by a Duo or Group instead of Best Rock Vocal Performance or Best Rock Song. The opening Blue Orchid may not suggest it but Get Behind Me Satan is the bandâ Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2011
    5
    Get Behind Me Satan will divide fans, and it sure has divided me. I loved White Blood Cells and Elephant. But Get Behind Me Satan does not sound like a White Stripes album at all. This album has some good ideas, but ultimately it just doesn't have that feel the previous two albums have. The first three songs are great, so I was feeling hopeful about it, but it really falls flat after that. All In All, I love that they're trying new sounds, but The White Stripes need to stick to their basics. C Expand
  7. May 31, 2014
    5
    A few good songs on it but I just didn't care for a majority of this album. Didn't click with me as well as their other work. It's bound to happen I guess. Expand

See all 166 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Albums Featuring Jack White (The White Stripes)

    Ranked: Albums Featuring Jack White (The White Stripes) Image
    Published: May 11, 2010
    "Sea of Cowards," the latest album from Jack White's side project The Dead Weather, is out this week. How does it compare to White's other albums, including output from The White Stripes and The Raconteurs?