Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jet storm the new rock pack with the diverse appeal and catchy compositions. [Nov 2003, p.112]
  2. The overall aesthetic is young, loud, and snotty. [17 Oct 2003, p.82]
  3. Jet has more fun with songs like "Cold Hard B****" than most bands do during their entire careers.
  4. Comes off as a mix between the White Stripes' bluesy insouciance and AC/DC's cockeyed swagger.
  5. There's a raw urgency to the album that belies its dated influences. [Oct 2003, p.108]
  6. There's nothing on this record that has any danger of keeping you from your beer. There are two gears: fast and slow, shoutalong and sobalong.
  7. 70
    Jet frequently manage to turn in the kind of bulgy-veined, streamlined gonzo rock that [Oasis] haven't managed since the mid-90s. [Nov 2003, p.114]
  8. 67
    If this album had been released five years ago, it would've been a blast. Today, it's the same new same old. [Nov 2003, p.117]
  9. There's no denying the disc's unbridled energy, and those who pine for a return to the booze-fueled days of '70s rock must find immense pleasure in Get Born's finer moments.
  10. A quartet that lives, dies and drinks to Exile on Main Street.
  11. The best tunes here have that boys'-club vibe of the best early-to-mid-'70s hard-rock bands, dead-on and nailed.
  12. 50
    If you dig the likes of the D4 and The Datsuns, you'll dig Jet, even though Get Born is the over-hyped sound of a few old records stuck in an all-too-familiar groove. [#23, p.93]
  13. At least they're better than The Vines.
  14. 40
    An efficient if fairly joyless hybrid of the Stones, AC/DC and Oasis. [Nov 2003, p.109]
  15. We sound like everyone's favorite old rock bands, we have insipid lyrics, we say 'Come On!' and 'Oh Yeah!' every five seconds, we have no discernable identity, and we're from Australia. What could people possibly dislike about us?
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 7 out of 34
  1. May 16, 2011
    10
    Chill out pitchfork, it's just a bit of fun xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  2. maxj
    Feb 7, 2009
    7
    Theres a good explanation why jet are getting the cash. the hit's such as "rollover dj" and "are you gonna be my girl" must have been huge and this album got big which i think off these traks should have made more. Full Review »
  3. SeanM
    Oct 2, 2006
    0
    I would give this album a "monkey drinking its own urine," but apparantly zero is the lowest you can go.