Get Born Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Get Born' marks the debut of the Australian garage-rock quartet Jet.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jet storm the new rock pack with the diverse appeal and catchy compositions. [Nov 2003, p.112]
  2. Jet has more fun with songs like "Cold Hard B****" than most bands do during their entire careers.
  3. The overall aesthetic is young, loud, and snotty. [17 Oct 2003, p.82]
  4. 67
    If this album had been released five years ago, it would've been a blast. Today, it's the same new same old. [Nov 2003, p.117]
  5. There's no denying the disc's unbridled energy, and those who pine for a return to the booze-fueled days of '70s rock must find immense pleasure in Get Born's finer moments.
  6. A quartet that lives, dies and drinks to Exile on Main Street.
  7. We sound like everyone's favorite old rock bands, we have insipid lyrics, we say 'Come On!' and 'Oh Yeah!' every five seconds, we have no discernable identity, and we're from Australia. What could people possibly dislike about us?

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 7 out of 34
  1. FrankM
    Sep 18, 2004
    10
    It's got those songs on it that are just hard to not like. (favorite-Lazy Gun, Look What you've done
  2. MattA
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    I think this CD is one of the best that i've heard for a long time. Im happy that some bands are actually still upbeat and like to rock, I think this CD is one of the best that i've heard for a long time. Im happy that some bands are actually still upbeat and like to rock, instead of being so emo and punk. It's good to get back in touch with the old. Expand
  3. May 16, 2011
    10
    Chill out pitchfork, it's just a bit of fun xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  4. BrittZ
    Feb 9, 2004
    9
    Finally, some good music comes out of the stagnant stream of others. They go through fast and slow songs, and rock the whole way through. Finally, some good music comes out of the stagnant stream of others. They go through fast and slow songs, and rock the whole way through. With this album, Jet's future looks pretty promising. And it's only 9$, so what are you waiting for? Expand
  5. oprahwinfrey
    Jul 2, 2004
    8
    its a great album, that takes a long time to get bored of.
  6. jacj
    Nov 28, 2003
    8
    very refreshing; thoroughly enjoyed it! Ta! go Jet luv Jac xoxo
  7. chris
    Jan 17, 2005
    0
    when most of jets fans (and it will be sooner than later) get sick of these souless retreds i will still be listening to sexy sadie.

See all 34 User Reviews