Goodbye Alice In Wonderland

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: May 2, 2006
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 3 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. izata
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    the best album that i've ever heard... Again n Again is the best track ever!!!! she's back!!!!
  2. BobF
    May 4, 2006
    9
    More than makes up for the appalling 0304. Jewel's best album yet.
  3. AkseliK
    Jul 24, 2006
    7
    she is trying to forget her last album, which was a mistake, but she should have tried harder. This is music for insurance-commercials
  4. GK
    Oct 24, 2006
    9
    Back to her best.
  5. DeboA
    May 14, 2006
    9
    I agree with most of the sentiments already expressed by MetaCritic Users. Yes, Rolling Stone is way off on this one. This is easily Jewel's most honest and ambitious record yet! It surpasses the goodness of "This Way"! The highlights are too many to mention and of course there are few misses. The artiste proves her relevance, highlighting truth, humor and good musick! Jewel Rock On!!!
  6. PaulG
    May 26, 2006
    10
    Jewel back to her brilliant best. The title track is breathtaking musically and lyrically. There are no weak songs, and the autobiographical lyrics add a personal dimension. The best record I've heard by anyone since she released "This Way" a few years ago. Ignore the poor reviews of some critics - you will not be disappointed by this album.
  7. PaulB
    May 30, 2006
    10
    This album is absoutley gorgeous,an artist who improves with every release.
  8. kd
    May 4, 2006
    9
    its like her older stuff
  9. MattD.
    May 5, 2006
    9
    After the disappointing 0304, Jewel is back in form. This doesn't mean that she's exactly the same Jewel she was on Pieces Of You, though - it's an edgier effort. Adding more production makes Jewel seem less precious - and at the same time, she's lightened up in her lyrics. While she sounds forced on "Satellite," "Only One Too" and "Words Get In The Way" rock nicely. After the disappointing 0304, Jewel is back in form. This doesn't mean that she's exactly the same Jewel she was on Pieces Of You, though - it's an edgier effort. Adding more production makes Jewel seem less precious - and at the same time, she's lightened up in her lyrics. While she sounds forced on "Satellite," "Only One Too" and "Words Get In The Way" rock nicely. And "Stephenville, TX" goes beyond her earlier coffeehouse folk. Expand
  10. LawrenceL
    May 7, 2006
    9
    This cd is a greatly reminescent of her older works, something that I, personally, welcome. Again and Again is one of the highlights of this cd and I'd definitely recommend it. I wouldn't trust RollingStone's opinion on this, if any, cds. They lost their credibility long ago. Buy this cd.
  11. DianeB
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    I have listened to Jewel's music since the first and it has always been emotionally moving. I listened to 0304 many many times because that was her newest cd, however, now I can't stand listening to it. Goodbye, Alice in Wonderland is deep and mind-bending it wants to make you look at the world very much like many songs on 'This Way'.
  12. David
    May 12, 2006
    9
    I gave 9...but in fact it's 9.5. So good!! Almost perfect!!!
  13. noanarchy
    May 13, 2006
    10
    Jewel of Jewel
  14. FernandoD
    May 31, 2006
    10
    perfect
  15. DineshP
    Jul 12, 2006
    9
    Awesome. It one album you can listen from top to end. Then relisten to the ones you thought u liked the most. Then figure out hey i like those i thought i didnt like and listen to the whole CD over again and again. Every song has its little moments of connecting with her. her voice, her honesty. Brilliant. Gllad she is back.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. "Goodbye Alice in Wonderland" returns Jewel to her folk/pop roots, serving up her usual host of poetic metaphors for lessons learned and observations on humanity.
  2. Unfortunately, Jewel... chooses to revert to the soppy musical formula of her 1995 debut, Pieces of You.
  3. As a writer she's never been stronger.