Goodbye Alice In Wonderland

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: May 2, 2006
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Uncut
    60
    Fortunately, the sturdy rock instrumentation of Green Day producer Rob Cavallo serves to tamp down her pervasive air of self-importance while minimising the cringe factor in her lyrics. [Jul 2006, p.98]
  2. Q Magazine
    60
    While these acoustic poems are often twee and contrived, the woman remains ultimately unpretentious. [Jul 2006, p.114]
  3. Paste Magazine
    50
    Although Goodbye winds down after the brilliant power pop of "Only One Too", Jewel never appears to be going through the motions. [Jun/Jul 2006, p.131]
  4. We find Jewel going through the motions rather than providing us with a noteworthy movement and in the end these songs here are less artistic pronouncements and more the conclusion of a specific product line.
  5. Rolling Stone
    40
    A handful of songs... work up some palatable L.A. pop, but those moments are surrounded by singer-songwriter cliches and painfully precious asides. [4 May 2006, p.59]
  6. While Goodbye Alice In Wonderland is a return to form for Jewel, said form is bland, mostly colorless, and devoid of any truly memorable cuts that elevate the album to a disc worth spinning more than once.
  7. Blender
    40
    The new songs are excessively polished and precisely drawn, and relentlessly deliver an uplifting message. [Jun 2006, p.145]
  8. Spin
    40
    Her insights plumb poetic shallows. [Jun 2006, p.81]
  9. New Musical Express (NME)
    40
    The sort of glossy folk-pop that makes you want to usher Alice down the rabbit hole, and roll out the cement mixer. [10 Jun 2006, p.41]
  10. Mojo
    40
    Many are banal love songs, devoide of narrative impact, or even identity. [Aug 2006, p.90]
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Jun 18, 2016
    0
    Personally, I feel like a score of 0 is too generous for an album this terrible. Ever since I had the misfortune of listening to the first 3Personally, I feel like a score of 0 is too generous for an album this terrible. Ever since I had the misfortune of listening to the first 3 seconds of "Pieces of You", Jewel Kitlchelenemaner's ugly face has been burned into my memory, her cataract-laden eyes piercing my very soul as she bares her hideously misshapen teeth. I would send her my therapy bills, but this album (like the rest of her discography) was such a gigantic commercial flop I doubt she'd even be able to afford them. Full Review »
  2. GK
    Oct 24, 2006
    9
    Back to her best.
  3. DianeB
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    I have listened to Jewel's music since the first and it has always been emotionally moving. I listened to 0304 many many times because I have listened to Jewel's music since the first and it has always been emotionally moving. I listened to 0304 many many times because that was her newest cd, however, now I can't stand listening to it. Goodbye, Alice in Wonderland is deep and mind-bending it wants to make you look at the world very much like many songs on 'This Way'. Full Review »