Goodbye Alice In Wonderland

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: May 2, 2006
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. As a writer she's never been stronger.
  2. "Goodbye Alice in Wonderland" returns Jewel to her folk/pop roots, serving up her usual host of poetic metaphors for lessons learned and observations on humanity.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Somewhere beneath the Lilith earnestness glints something sharper. [28 Apr 2006, p.135]
  4. What's changed is that maturity has granted Jewel, now in her early 30s, greater perspective.
  5. A surprisingly substantial return.
  6. Unfortunately, Jewel... chooses to revert to the soppy musical formula of her 1995 debut, Pieces of You.
  7. Uncut
    60
    Fortunately, the sturdy rock instrumentation of Green Day producer Rob Cavallo serves to tamp down her pervasive air of self-importance while minimising the cringe factor in her lyrics. [Jul 2006, p.98]
  8. Q Magazine
    60
    While these acoustic poems are often twee and contrived, the woman remains ultimately unpretentious. [Jul 2006, p.114]
  9. Paste Magazine
    50
    Although Goodbye winds down after the brilliant power pop of "Only One Too", Jewel never appears to be going through the motions. [Jun/Jul 2006, p.131]
  10. We find Jewel going through the motions rather than providing us with a noteworthy movement and in the end these songs here are less artistic pronouncements and more the conclusion of a specific product line.
  11. Rolling Stone
    40
    A handful of songs... work up some palatable L.A. pop, but those moments are surrounded by singer-songwriter cliches and painfully precious asides. [4 May 2006, p.59]
  12. While Goodbye Alice In Wonderland is a return to form for Jewel, said form is bland, mostly colorless, and devoid of any truly memorable cuts that elevate the album to a disc worth spinning more than once.
  13. Blender
    40
    The new songs are excessively polished and precisely drawn, and relentlessly deliver an uplifting message. [Jun 2006, p.145]
  14. Spin
    40
    Her insights plumb poetic shallows. [Jun 2006, p.81]
  15. New Musical Express (NME)
    40
    The sort of glossy folk-pop that makes you want to usher Alice down the rabbit hole, and roll out the cement mixer. [10 Jun 2006, p.41]
  16. Mojo
    40
    Many are banal love songs, devoide of narrative impact, or even identity. [Aug 2006, p.90]
  17. A lilting acoustic-y record with ethereal leanings, plenty of canned, overproduced studio gloss and occasional dangerous forays into mild rock.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Jun 18, 2016
    0
    Personally, I feel like a score of 0 is too generous for an album this terrible. Ever since I had the misfortune of listening to the first 3Personally, I feel like a score of 0 is too generous for an album this terrible. Ever since I had the misfortune of listening to the first 3 seconds of "Pieces of You", Jewel Kitlchelenemaner's ugly face has been burned into my memory, her cataract-laden eyes piercing my very soul as she bares her hideously misshapen teeth. I would send her my therapy bills, but this album (like the rest of her discography) was such a gigantic commercial flop I doubt she'd even be able to afford them. Full Review »
  2. GK
    Oct 24, 2006
    9
    Back to her best.
  3. DianeB
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    I have listened to Jewel's music since the first and it has always been emotionally moving. I listened to 0304 many many times because I have listened to Jewel's music since the first and it has always been emotionally moving. I listened to 0304 many many times because that was her newest cd, however, now I can't stand listening to it. Goodbye, Alice in Wonderland is deep and mind-bending it wants to make you look at the world very much like many songs on 'This Way'. Full Review »