Hesitation Marks - Nine Inch Nails

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    It was a given that Hesitation Marks would provide Nine Inch Nails with a future. But what's so impressive here is that it's given then a future every bit as promising as their illustrious past. [31 Aug 2013, p.52]
  2. Sep 11, 2013
    There’s a master at work, no doubt about it, but he’s already living in the future writing complex symphonies, letting the rest of us know that everything’s going to be ok.
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    Hesitation Marks makes it quite clear that Trent Reznor is no longer an angry young man but rather a restless, inventive artist who is at peace with himself, and the result is a record that provides real, lasting nourishment.
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    This is the most important artistic statement from NIN leader Trent Reznor since the late '90s.
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    Sure, the societal spying and corruption Reznor forecast in The Slip has played out, but Hesitation Marks is a triumphal I-told-you-so, still whispering for rebellion.
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    It’s obvious on the rest of the album that the fear of living isn’t holding Reznor back anymore. This outlook has given a huge boost to NIN’s creativity, and helped the group re-emerge as a relevant, vital, and still weird band.
  7. 83
    Both Hesitation Marks' lead single, "Came Back Haunted," and the propulsive, New Order-nodding "Everything" rank among Reznor's finest. His one vice is an obsessive attention to detail, which has served him well in the past but here suffocates the more delicate melodies of "In Two" and "All Time Low."
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    Is this a bad album? No.
    Is this a good album? Sure.
    Is it a great album? No.
    Is it a Nine Inch Nails album? No!
    Gone are the type of
    songs from albums such as Pretty Hate Machine or Downward Spiral or The Fragile or With Teeth that had hard hitting personality riding passenger to those awesome Trent Reznor yells! So what, he's "no longer angry"! If you're not a band in the traditional sense, and NIN never was, then you don't have to call this a new "Nine Inch Nails" album. Nothing wrong with calling this the new "Trent Reznor" album. That's what it is to me. Not the Nine Inch Nails that changed the medium. Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    Having listened to this album pretty much non stop from release date, I'm still not tired of it. This is Reznor's best album since 1999's The Fragile. Boasting a more electronic sound than his last few albums, at times almost danceable, with undeniable nods to Prince at times, but still with great dark undertones. Highlights include In Two, All Time Low and Find My Way. Best album released in a year of great albums. Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    Hesitation Marks isn't industrial, and it's not really comparable in quality to earlier NIN albums. It lacks the harsh edge that made everything between Pretty Hate Machine and With Teeth so great. Most importantly I want you to know that it isn't another The Fragile like I've seen some people comment online. That is delusional.

    Overall Hesitation Marks is a bit too repetitive and feels generic given the unique sounds found on earlier NIN albums. What I loved about Trent's earlier work was his ability to evoke visceral emotions. Hesitation Marks is catchy but I don't actually feel anything listening to it. One thing that ticks me off is that the darkest and best track on the album is that freekin outro and it only lasts a minute and a half. It's a complete tease. It's like the album finally start to feel like it's getting somewhere awesome and then it just ends.

    Don't bother with the extended version. 2x the cost for 3 weak remixes wasn't worth it. The album art was nice though.

    It's better than Ghosts I-IV, but a weaker installment in the NIN discography.
    Full Review »