Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    90
    Hesitation Marks makes it quite clear that Trent Reznor is no longer an angry young man but rather a restless, inventive artist who is at peace with himself, and the result is a record that provides real, lasting nourishment.
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    83
    It’s obvious on the rest of the album that the fear of living isn’t holding Reznor back anymore. This outlook has given a huge boost to NIN’s creativity, and helped the group re-emerge as a relevant, vital, and still weird band.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    90
    There’s a master at work, no doubt about it, but he’s already living in the future writing complex symphonies, letting the rest of us know that everything’s going to be ok.
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    90
    This is the most important artistic statement from NIN leader Trent Reznor since the late '90s.
  5. 83
    Both Hesitation Marks' lead single, "Came Back Haunted," and the propulsive, New Order-nodding "Everything" rank among Reznor's finest. His one vice is an obsessive attention to detail, which has served him well in the past but here suffocates the more delicate melodies of "In Two" and "All Time Low."
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    84
    Sure, the societal spying and corruption Reznor forecast in The Slip has played out, but Hesitation Marks is a triumphal I-told-you-so, still whispering for rebellion.
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    100
    It was a given that Hesitation Marks would provide Nine Inch Nails with a future. But what's so impressive here is that it's given then a future every bit as promising as their illustrious past. [31 Aug 2013, p.52]
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Having listened to this album pretty much non stop from release date, I'm still not tired of it. This is Reznor's best album since 1999's TheHaving listened to this album pretty much non stop from release date, I'm still not tired of it. This is Reznor's best album since 1999's The Fragile. Boasting a more electronic sound than his last few albums, at times almost danceable, with undeniable nods to Prince at times, but still with great dark undertones. Highlights include In Two, All Time Low and Find My Way. Best album released in a year of great albums. Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    6
    Is this a bad album? No.
    Is this a good album? Sure.
    Is it a great album? No. Is it a Nine Inch Nails album? No! Gone are the type of
    Is this a bad album? No.
    Is this a good album? Sure.
    Is it a great album? No.
    Is it a Nine Inch Nails album? No!
    Gone are the type of songs from albums such as Pretty Hate Machine or Downward Spiral or The Fragile or With Teeth that had hard hitting personality riding passenger to those awesome Trent Reznor yells! So what, he's "no longer angry"! If you're not a band in the traditional sense, and NIN never was, then you don't have to call this a new "Nine Inch Nails" album. Nothing wrong with calling this the new "Trent Reznor" album. That's what it is to me. Not the Nine Inch Nails that changed the medium.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    7
    "Sonic train wreck" is how I like to describe The Downward Spiral. And while Hesitation Marks is definitely "sonic," I felt I was often"Sonic train wreck" is how I like to describe The Downward Spiral. And while Hesitation Marks is definitely "sonic," I felt I was often waiting in vain for the trademark "wall of sound" to hit my headphones like it often felt it should... and they simply do not come. Most songs pretty much stay "safe" from beginning to end, and there are none of those blissfully angst ridden sucker punches that blew your mind as a college freshman. I'm okay with a happier, fitter, more productive Trent Rezner. But I'm also wishing this album could get just a bit dirtier once in a while. All in all, it's a return to form and offers the intricate sonic layering you come to expect on the best of NIN. Good album. But still.... too safe. Full Review »