I'm with You - Red Hot Chili Peppers
I'm with You Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The California rock band releases their 10th album produced by Rick Rubin and the first since 2006 and with new guitarist Josh Klinghoffer, who replaced John Frusciante.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    90
    Perhaps for the first time ever on a Chili Peppers record, it is Flea who takes the reigns as the lead instrument here, going Jaco all over this mofo so to speak, which ultimately proves to be this album's saving grace.
  2. Aug 31, 2011
    80
    Some may have written them off already, but on the strength of their best album in a decade, I'm with them.
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    70
    The peak moments on I'm With You balance swagger and sensitivity.
  4. Aug 19, 2011
    60
    Amid this poor material, the Chili Peppers still manage t deliver a handful of very very good songs. [Sep 2011, p.86]
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    60
    While I may appreciate this album despite some of its fundamental flaws, I'm still not exactly clamoring for another Chili Peppers record. As stated before, I'm With You doesn't suggest a future for the band: instead, it showcases one stuck in the mud, capable of churning its wheels but not moving forward.
  6. Aug 26, 2011
    60
    Nevertheless, I'm With You is a strong record, with Brendan's Death Song and Police Station among the highlights, especially considering the challenge of replacing Frusciante's creativity.
  7. Aug 30, 2011
    37
    The rest of it, though, is stuff that will probably sound just fine beneath NFL highlight reels but fails to gel when the volume is up and California 2011 beckons.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 45
  2. Negative: 6 out of 45
  1. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    Upon first listen it struck me as a collection of some tracks you would hear on generic mainstream rock radio, and it still sounds that way. Repeated listens have proved more enjoyable, but let me make one thing absolutely clear. This is not a Red Hot Chili Peppers album. At least in the conventional sense. As is obvious to everybody, the Chili Peppers are a VERY different band then they were in the late 80's/early 90's, and since By the Way have proceeded to evolve into basically a different band. This is not necessarily a bad thing. By The Way and Stadium Arcadium have been criticized, and I can see why but I found both of those albums to be very good. This one really is an exception however. There is just no funk in this record, an element which is (or I guess I should say were) very important to the Chili Peppers music along with their whole image. The music borders on cheesy acoustic ballads at times and it just makes me and I'm sure many others wonder what happened to this innovative band. I'm not criticizing the band for maturing or experimenting with different types of music. As long as the artists are doing what they want and are happy with it, that is perfect. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    One of the most underrated albums of all time. Although a few decent tracks are in the first half of the album, the majority includes superb ballads that come from Kiedis' personal experiences. Meet Me at the Corner is beautiful and Rain Dance Maggie has one of the best grooves the band has ever written. Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    One of the more unique RHCP records of late. Kinda a mix of everything they we have heard from them in the past to create something entirely different. Josh does a great job filling in for John and adds something unique to the band. The textured feel of the guitar in I'm With You is something new and awesome at the same time. Fans that only enjoyed that last three records may feel alienated, but I love this new direction. Hope to hear more songs from them soon. Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    I was very surprised at how much I actually enjoyed this album. The Red Hot Chili Peppers sound both very funky, yet very mature also. All In All, I thought it was a pretty great record. B+ Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2011
    7
    i love this new sound. the album has many flaws but it has many strengths including there new guitarist who is superb at his instrument and fleas lines are very much so amazing Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2011
    7
    I bought the album and well i liked it, to be honest their album wasn't their best i felt that the songs on here weren't as catchy and as moving as many others. If you like songs like "Californication", "Under the Bridge", "Can't Stop", and "Dani California". Well Unfortunately you won't find those on here. Most songs on here have some relaxed funk feeling but there missing the edge! and the Catchy-ness. Also most songs rely alot on Flea with his awesome bass lines to make up for not having Frusciante on the album. The best song on the album has to be " The Adventures of Raindance Maggie" no song on this album is better than this one. no other song has that "get up and dance, funky feeling" to it. Other good songs are "police station", "monarchy of roses", and "brendans death song".... on their next album i hope they have more edge, more hard rock to it....like dani california or around the world for example. Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2011
    0
    I wanted to listen to this, wasn't hoping for any surprises though...Then, in a nutshell: I'm shocked they're still around and wonder the existence of this album. Being now in my 20s, I can barely imagine myself enjoying this even if I was 14. This is all sorts of crap, RHCP simply have nothing more to show us. Face the facts. Collapse

See all 45 User Reviews