User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1551 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StevenD.
    Oct 18, 2007
    5
    Worst Radiohead album since Pablohoney. Pleasant enough in the blandest possible way. Clearly they're settling in for middle-aged rockstar MOR retirement, all obvious string sections, airy synth sounds and copious amounts of reverb. Also, the songs all seem weirdly simple. It's a pity but I guess hardly unexpected.
  2. Time
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    I can't possibly give a bad review to an album I can get for free. God bless Radiohead
  3. AlexB.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    It's a great album clearly is the album of the year and a great return to form for radiohead
  4. ReasonablePerson
    Oct 18, 2007
    6
    Disgustingly overrated. It's not bad album, but some of the comments here are absolutely insane...Better than OK Computer? Best album of all time? Perfect in every way? Give me a break for God's sake! Do you people even listen to any other bands, or do you just crawl out of your basements every 4-odd years to heap praise on Radiohead? Get a grip.
  5. DaveK
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    The most toe tapping emotive Radiohead album ever made...Trust me that's a good thing
  6. JosephB.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    I love this album so much.
  7. HitG
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    Best work since Kid A. Radiohead have gone back to a more formal song structure, which provides for more listenable music. Not the breakthrough of OK Computer ot Kid A, but still a new direction for the band and one that I approve of. Remember, The Bends was not a groundbreaking album but an album of great songs that was a huge step up from Pablo Honey. In Rainbows is an evolution and not Best work since Kid A. Radiohead have gone back to a more formal song structure, which provides for more listenable music. Not the breakthrough of OK Computer ot Kid A, but still a new direction for the band and one that I approve of. Remember, The Bends was not a groundbreaking album but an album of great songs that was a huge step up from Pablo Honey. In Rainbows is an evolution and not a revolution. Expand
  8. EdwardM.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Amazing.
  9. TheRimRider
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    For those very few musically backward people who just dont get them, you're really missing out on probably the best band since the Beatles. There have been other great albums by Pink Floyd, Velvet Underground, Led Zepplin, Nirvana etc. but In Rainbows has reaffirmed that they were not just a great band with a two year magical peak (96, 97). If your frustrated trying to decipher For those very few musically backward people who just dont get them, you're really missing out on probably the best band since the Beatles. There have been other great albums by Pink Floyd, Velvet Underground, Led Zepplin, Nirvana etc. but In Rainbows has reaffirmed that they were not just a great band with a two year magical peak (96, 97). If your frustrated trying to decipher Yorke's lyrics youre missing the point. Be carried away by his vocals and the music instead. Far and beyond anything anyone else has done for decades. Expand
  10. kriss
    Oct 21, 2007
    6
    Well I'm going to be honest, I've listened to this about four times already and I'm not really digging it. I don't know if it is because this is a "grower" or whatnot (I love OK COMPUTER, but I'm not a hardcore Radiohead fan), but this being a Radiohead record I'd more than to listen to it a few more times, but this being the best record of the year and all Well I'm going to be honest, I've listened to this about four times already and I'm not really digging it. I don't know if it is because this is a "grower" or whatnot (I love OK COMPUTER, but I'm not a hardcore Radiohead fan), but this being a Radiohead record I'd more than to listen to it a few more times, but this being the best record of the year and all those 10s and 9s I see, I have to disagree with, though oddly enough I still say "Person Pitch" is the best thing to happen this year. Expand
  11. MyOpinion
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Well like others on this review, I love it. Every negative review on here bashes not only the album, but also the people who liked it. Something is wrong with the hundreds of people who gave it good reviews, and the 4 who gave it bad reviews know music. I don't think so. This album grips you from the very beginning and keeps you interested through out. Better than OKC? I think it may Well like others on this review, I love it. Every negative review on here bashes not only the album, but also the people who liked it. Something is wrong with the hundreds of people who gave it good reviews, and the 4 who gave it bad reviews know music. I don't think so. This album grips you from the very beginning and keeps you interested through out. Better than OKC? I think it may be too early to tell for me. I'm going to wait for the second half on Dec 3rd to make that decision. IT IS right there with the quality of tunes we have always got from Radiohead. Greatest album of all time, na, But that is just my opinion, and if another person says it is, I will respect that view. Expand
  12. dj=riv
    Dec 12, 2007
    7
    5 out of 5 for the means, plus 4 out of 5 for my first few impressions, plus so very much respect and thanks from me equals 7/10?
  13. CameronD.
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    They continue to keep my attention.
  14. conrada.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    astonishing album. they seem to touch on almost every type of musical genre while delivering an emotional yet powerful record. the band is at its best. his voice is incredible. they get better and better.
  15. lawrenceh.
    Oct 22, 2007
    7
    Not bad, overhyped though. Aren't these songs outtakes from REM's Automatic for the People, recycled through laptop wizardry?
  16. GiuseppeM.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    simply the beauty!!! This is a perfect landscape of all our souls. Thank you, Radiohead !!!
  17. SonnyW.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    I agree with everyone who gave this album a 10. It's a Classic in my world (and those of my friends, family colleagues and acquaintances) - a REAL record by a REAL band. I think the music speaks for itself and any music lover who keeps their mind open and gives it the attention it deserves will be rewarded with a positive experience. I just don't know how they keep doing it.
  18. GarrettR
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Not a rotten song in the batch--all songs are stripped of their illustrious excess leaving Yorke's voice to create the intimacy and fright not heard in the band in some ten years.
  19. DavidT.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    OK... Jonathan H? I have no idea where you're coming from... There must be at least one track you liked? No? Ok. For me, this is definitely a grower, just like every other Radiohead album. I can't believe these guys manage to come up with so much fantastic material! The opening few moments of the album are reminiscent of the Thom Yorke solo album (Another fantastic "grower") but OK... Jonathan H? I have no idea where you're coming from... There must be at least one track you liked? No? Ok. For me, this is definitely a grower, just like every other Radiohead album. I can't believe these guys manage to come up with so much fantastic material! The opening few moments of the album are reminiscent of the Thom Yorke solo album (Another fantastic "grower") but as soon as the guitar sets in you realise this is A-grade Radiohead musical diversity. Constantly shifting and changing this album feels so raw yet built up with layers that can be dissected whilst listening. Which,in my opinion is one of the fantastic things about Radiohead. While most bands use a stock string section with a simple chord progression, r.h fill their music with parts that would be equally as interesting to listen to alone! And YES it is just you! To me Radiohead embodies what is so GOOD about music now! The marriage of so many different techniques and styles of music to create something that is truly incredible.BUT i guess i have to respect your opinion! I just find it hard to believe there isn't ONE thing you like about the album so i find it hard to believe you can justify the 0. Expand
  20. RyanA.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Epic. I'm finishing the last song as I'm writing this. This album is epic. To be honest, it wasn't what I expected, but I think that was part of what made this album so good; it was a step, mind you not a large one, into their more down-tempo work. Sweet stuff. Go buy it.
  21. Francesco
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    Almost perfect.
  22. MarkK.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Awesome!
  23. seans.
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    Beautiful, full, calm, captivating music. Radiohead return to a more synergistic approach to an albulm. More together than hail to the thief, more approachable than the brilliant Kid-A. Not for everyone but a must have for Radiohead fans and those who love beauty in music.
  24. frankfurter
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    The best album of the year. Maybe the best album of the last five years. Certainly Radiohead's best since Kid A. Oh, and Reckoner....do I need say more?
  25. brunom.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    It´s simple music made good. There´s no doubt about it. Radiohead gives you the chance to rediscover their music as it was meant to be listened, and with good timing too. Thom keeps singing with his soul, suffering less or not, it sure seems we're all much quieter.
  26. ThomasM.
    Oct 23, 2007
    8
    A good album. By no means the band's best, it seems that, given the length of time it took to arrive, and the method of its release, the press had already decided this was going to be great. And it is, but all these 'return to form' or 'best album since OK Computer' reviews are ignoring the fact that Radiohead made three interesting and diverse albums after that. A good album. By no means the band's best, it seems that, given the length of time it took to arrive, and the method of its release, the press had already decided this was going to be great. And it is, but all these 'return to form' or 'best album since OK Computer' reviews are ignoring the fact that Radiohead made three interesting and diverse albums after that. It is good to hear the band doing something different again, whilst still having a pop aesthetic, but it still is not as good as Kid A or Hail to the Thief. Expand
  27. SoniaB.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    WOW!
  28. JosephA.
    Oct 23, 2007
    7
    After much listening, I personally am torn between and 7 or a 6. It is quite lovely to see Radiohead back, in some cases I wonder what the f*** went on about the recording sessions. Most of the tracks seem quite much like filler if anything, lush depressing romantic filler (as opposed to lush depressing political filler from Hail to the Thief.) Nevertheless, it almost makes me believe After much listening, I personally am torn between and 7 or a 6. It is quite lovely to see Radiohead back, in some cases I wonder what the f*** went on about the recording sessions. Most of the tracks seem quite much like filler if anything, lush depressing romantic filler (as opposed to lush depressing political filler from Hail to the Thief.) Nevertheless, it almost makes me believe that I am listening to a Coldplay record, in a mehish way. As such, the winners here are Bodysnachers, Nude, and Videotape with their Radiohead-esque melancholy. Sadly, when this album suck, it sucks hard. Especially concerning some of the other lyrics ("I am the holidays you choose to ignore," Thom what have you been drinking.) seem childish, selfish, and in some cases (despite the album's claim of being more user-friendly) unintelligible thanks to horrible balancing of sounds, drowning out Yorke's vocals. Granted, thought at first I regretted being short of change when I downloaded the album. (Which I believe has led to some review whoring, and I am saying this as a fairly ardent Radiohead fan.) I don't feel as conflicted due to the quality (or lack there of.) Expand
  29. Austins
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    I think they finally found a happy medium between the electronic experimentation from their last couple of albums, and have revealed their true genius for great song writing, ala OK Computer and The Bends. They are miles beyond most bands in overall talent. I hope this is the beginning of the end for all these crummy emo and pop bands that dominate teeny boppers Ipods. That music (along I think they finally found a happy medium between the electronic experimentation from their last couple of albums, and have revealed their true genius for great song writing, ala OK Computer and The Bends. They are miles beyond most bands in overall talent. I hope this is the beginning of the end for all these crummy emo and pop bands that dominate teeny boppers Ipods. That music (along with modern country) has single handedly dumbed down our culture to primitve levels. Thank God for Radiohead!!!! Expand
  30. JosephO.
    Oct 23, 2007
    6
    I don't think this comes close to the big 3 - Bends, Ok Computer, and Kid A. I wouldn't even put it in my top 10 for this year yet. I get the same feeling that I had when I first heard Amnesiac...slightly bored.
  31. BD
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Excellent. I was initially unconvinced, felt it was not their best work, but every time I listen to it I like it more. One of the best albums in many years.
  32. RogerS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    The album of the century! beautiful!
  33. ChrisH.
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    So much smoother and less pretentious than OK Comp, the focus has returned to the music for these blokes.
  34. MattD.
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    Not quite as good as OK Computer, but is their best CD since that album. It is somewhat mellow, and not overly artsy - just finely crafted, beautiful songs.
  35. happyhappy
    Oct 26, 2007
    2
    When Radiohead is good they're one of the 10-20 best bands ever, and are one of a very few recent acts to have produced more than three albums that are "near-classic" or better. But that doesn't The lyrics and concepts are AWFULLY cliched. No, SHOCK, the music here isn't all that revolutionary or innovative either (if you think it is, that just proves you've ignored an When Radiohead is good they're one of the 10-20 best bands ever, and are one of a very few recent acts to have produced more than three albums that are "near-classic" or better. But that doesn't The lyrics and concepts are AWFULLY cliched. No, SHOCK, the music here isn't all that revolutionary or innovative either (if you think it is, that just proves you've ignored an AWFUL lot of stuff), but lyrics about "Cheshire grins" and a "house of cards" are just STUPID. There's no other word for it. Radiohead is at their best when expressing the confusion of the modern world. Here they only express their OWN confusion. That's a distinction listeners can only hear if they aren't the sort of "mindless sheep" (another cliched term) that Radiohead has loved to rail against the last few years. None of these songs aren't about anything. But use them if you're the sort of person whose personal psyche NEEDS Radiohead to always put out classic albums, or who NEEDS there to be at least one classic album every year, or quarter, or whatever. Here "the Emperor has no clothes"--another terribly boring cliche that Thom will probably use on his next album. I gave this a 2. That means it's still twice as interesting as most other albums I've heard. Expand
  36. MikeB
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Ignore the dusted review, written by a wannabe muso just out of college. This is an album of the year.
  37. AyrtonL
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    This is not simply a collection of songs. This is a lush sonic landscape. Welcome to the sounds of the future.
  38. MarcoA
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Just art. Beautiful
  39. LuisJ
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    The new album is amazing just like its predecessors, every song is a doorway to a mystery, to an emotion you have felt it unlocks memories that you thought were dead. Radiohead have always been geniuses when it comes to music and this album proves it, to anyone who thought otherwise.
  40. TheCritic
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Simply Put: best Radiohead album since OK Computer... All the tracks are great and what wasnt expected: Radiohead is continuing to evolve. Gone from the Kid A and Amnesiac sounds and even abandoning some of the Hail to the Thief sounds, Rainbows is driven by jazzy guitar, Yorke's vocals, and hardly any drum loops. GET THIS CD! YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPPOINTED!
  41. AlexJ
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    Once again, they have done it. One of the best of 2007.
  42. IainMacM
    Oct 28, 2007
    8
    One of the best albums of 2007
  43. EdwardM.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    Amazing.
  44. JeremyS
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    WOW! I have never been disappointed with a Radiohead but "Amnesiac" and "Hail to the Thief" just didn't really do it for me in terms of being great complete albums. I love "Pyramid Song" and "Knives Out" on Amnesiac, but I questioned the direction and effort on some of the other songs. Likewise, on HTTT I liked the entire album but I really only loved "Sail to the Moon", "Where I End WOW! I have never been disappointed with a Radiohead but "Amnesiac" and "Hail to the Thief" just didn't really do it for me in terms of being great complete albums. I love "Pyramid Song" and "Knives Out" on Amnesiac, but I questioned the direction and effort on some of the other songs. Likewise, on HTTT I liked the entire album but I really only loved "Sail to the Moon", "Where I End and You Begin", and "Scatterbrain". The rest of the album was good and didn't really leave my CD player for the entire summer of 2003. Then comes "In Rainbows" and to be honest I didn't really know what to suspect. Well after my first spin through the disc I knew that this was one of the best Radiohead CD's I had ever listened to. There isn't a single wasted track on the album. It is like Radiohead took all of my favorite parts from previous albums and mixed them all into this CD. "15 Step", "Body Snatchers", "Reckoner", and "House of Cards" would have all been great songs on HTTT. Meanwhile, "All I need" would have been a great follow up to "Exit Music" on OK Computer. Album of the year. Expand
  45. TomJ
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    It's wonderful, a range of emotion, fluid with pop sensuality but true to their inate sense of the bizarre. Song deconstruction here has beaten the efforts of Amnesiac and Hail to the Theif, with Bodysnatchers, Arpeggi, and Jigsaw Falling Into Place each having their essential melody torn down with new harmonies over steady rythym. It's magnificent writing, and yet the best part It's wonderful, a range of emotion, fluid with pop sensuality but true to their inate sense of the bizarre. Song deconstruction here has beaten the efforts of Amnesiac and Hail to the Theif, with Bodysnatchers, Arpeggi, and Jigsaw Falling Into Place each having their essential melody torn down with new harmonies over steady rythym. It's magnificent writing, and yet the best part is there's something for everyone, and fans of pop, blues, electronic, and rock. I don't know where to place it in their pantheon of work, but it suits me as the best album of the year. Radiohead did again what we hoping, shock us. Expand
  46. Sergio|G.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    The entire album its fucking amaizing, Reckoner Wow Beautifull
  47. timmylittle
    Jan 11, 2008
    9
    it's great...well im sure not all of u will love it cuz this album got a very weird taste....but if u like it u'll love it... but overall it's great...very pretty melody and great singing
  48. ke
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Best Radiohead album I've heard. Better than Ok Computer and Bends. All the songs are great. Love Nude and Weird Fishes. Best album of the year
  49. JeremiahT.
    Jan 17, 2008
    9
    The record is free; well if you want it for free. This is like the best free record ever! It has all of the trademark Radiohead tricks, plus a little more. It's worth a very good listen for any Radiohead fan and it's free!
  50. KevB.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    This is their best album since OK Computer. There may not be some over-arching theme to it, like with OKC and KidA but this album represents a maturity in the band that we haven't heard before. There's a level of comfort to their songwriting now that is refreshing to hear and yet they manage to sound like a completely new band once again.
  51. ntiaga(None)
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    A year later and it still blows my mind.
  52. AlexW.
    Feb 15, 2008
    7
    I think its very very very well recorded / performed - I mean they are great at using their instruments and creating tension etc - i think this album is fun and some songs are naff and some a brilliant - reckoner is by far my favourite song ever - doesn't mean I like the album haha - i think radiohead aren't as good as everyone has dug themselves into a hole with over praising I think its very very very well recorded / performed - I mean they are great at using their instruments and creating tension etc - i think this album is fun and some songs are naff and some a brilliant - reckoner is by far my favourite song ever - doesn't mean I like the album haha - i think radiohead aren't as good as everyone has dug themselves into a hole with over praising them - they were just lucky with the timing of their arrival onto the music scene - and everyone who think ok computer rocks - there is 2 good songs on it! what the hell are you on ... o_o ? Expand
  53. MikeC
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Every song takes hold and sends you on an individually unique journey. Yet the songs also retain a real sense of unity and flow. It's quite unbelievable how they've pulled this off. This album means something different to me every time i hear it. They've equaled Ok Computer and Kid A in my book.
  54. PaulM.
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    Marketing eccentricity aside this is a truly unique effort that not only satisfies high expectation but exceeds it.Delicatly and deftly balanced in it's delivery, expertly subtle in it's instrumentation.The arrangements and the duration are as close to perfection as possible and the melodies are endearing,enchanting and downright touching.This is a charming work of art that Marketing eccentricity aside this is a truly unique effort that not only satisfies high expectation but exceeds it.Delicatly and deftly balanced in it's delivery, expertly subtle in it's instrumentation.The arrangements and the duration are as close to perfection as possible and the melodies are endearing,enchanting and downright touching.This is a charming work of art that proves that despite their constant longing for evolution Radiohead haven't changed at heart.Brains meets beauty to make one of the most memorable albums of recent times, but more importantly to make sure we haven't forgotten about the genius that Radiohead are capable of producing. Expand
  55. ThomasJ
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Like most Radiohead albums, gets better with repeated listening. Unlike some of their recent efforts, accessible enough to be enjoyed by non-RH fanatics.
  56. SethA.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    I generally don't give out tens so easily. However, I think that this album has rejuvenated the current music scene in an astonishing way. The studio work and overall construction of this album deserve the world's praise. This might just be Radiohead's best album so far, which is a statement that I will not take lightly, as I think that OK Computer and HTTT are instant I generally don't give out tens so easily. However, I think that this album has rejuvenated the current music scene in an astonishing way. The studio work and overall construction of this album deserve the world's praise. This might just be Radiohead's best album so far, which is a statement that I will not take lightly, as I think that OK Computer and HTTT are instant classics of their times. Expand
  57. Bman
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    My favorite Radiohead album. A soft, soothing listen that gets better every time I listen to it. Yorke's piano work is a stand out here. A beautiful work.
  58. RobbieC
    Apr 23, 2009
    6
    Is this really their best album? I don't get it!
  59. hugom
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    Really, I actually think who voted less than 9 or 8 for this album did not understand it. . .that's the only reasonable explanation . . a piece of art of the best band!
  60. BiancaH.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    In Rainbows is another proof for the thesis that you have to listen - and I mean to REALLY listen - to Radiohead artwork. Maybe there has never been any other band except RH that builds a huge iron gate in front of its music and hides the key to it deeply in people's minds.
  61. JavierR.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    One masterpiece = rare (OK Computer) Two masterpieces = extremely rare (Kid A) Three masterpieces = impossible...but true. In Rainbows is it.
  62. JonathanC
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Without a doubt the most amazing album i've ever heard.
  63. TedR
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    The more I listen to Radiohead, and it is no different with In Rainbows, the more I appreciate their classical and baroque approach to composition and song strucutre. Thom Yorke might as well be humming the phone book. His voice is the flute, floating above, the cello grounding below. Like classical music, RH can sound deceptively simple one moment, messy and noisy the next. Then the The more I listen to Radiohead, and it is no different with In Rainbows, the more I appreciate their classical and baroque approach to composition and song strucutre. Thom Yorke might as well be humming the phone book. His voice is the flute, floating above, the cello grounding below. Like classical music, RH can sound deceptively simple one moment, messy and noisy the next. Then the subtle melodies, and bonus quirks, beeps, and hums sink in. No other music is so layered, so discovered in waves. Expand
  64. JarenF
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Amazing. better than anything else out there. gets better with every single listen.
  65. TN
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I thought that maybe I was jumping on the Radiohead bandwagon and just liking this because it is Radiohead as some have suggested. I love most of their work, but I do admit that some of their music sounds like crap to me. Especially most of Amnesiac. But this one is beautiful and extraordinary. I have a horrible commute and when I put this on while driving I get so absorbed by the music I I thought that maybe I was jumping on the Radiohead bandwagon and just liking this because it is Radiohead as some have suggested. I love most of their work, but I do admit that some of their music sounds like crap to me. Especially most of Amnesiac. But this one is beautiful and extraordinary. I have a horrible commute and when I put this on while driving I get so absorbed by the music I just want to stay in my car and drive around all day! This definitely the best album of the year, and you can get it for free! Expand
  66. ShannonM
    Dec 12, 2007
    9
    Finally! Balance! Not one note out of place, not one piece of gratuitous electronic noodling. Never does a song outstay its welcome (I'm looking at you Hail to the Theif), always leaving you satisfied yet still wanting more. It's phenomenal the a band, in this age of disposable celebrity, can still blow everyone else in popular music away. Name a more affecting, well rounded Finally! Balance! Not one note out of place, not one piece of gratuitous electronic noodling. Never does a song outstay its welcome (I'm looking at you Hail to the Theif), always leaving you satisfied yet still wanting more. It's phenomenal the a band, in this age of disposable celebrity, can still blow everyone else in popular music away. Name a more affecting, well rounded album made in the last half-decade. Thought so... Expand
  67. AustinB.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Absolutely great album from start to finish.
  68. chrisd
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    simply magnificent. from the second i heard "15 Step" to the end of "Videotape" i was floored. if you get the bonus disc, it is a continuation of the album. "Down is the New Up" might be the best song i've ever heard. everyone needs to listen to this album
  69. JaredG.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Best album of year!
  70. KyleL
    Dec 24, 2007
    9
    Incredible CD! Reckoner is an amazing song, hard to stop listening to it!
  71. LukeG.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    The proper follow-up to the songcraft and confident musicianship of "OK Computer." They've returned to their instruments and written excellent songs to boot. "Bodysnatchers" is perhaps the best Radiohead song yet.
  72. ChristofferV.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Excellent album. The best yet in my opinion.
  73. AndreyK.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    Best!
  74. LaneC.
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    I downloaded this album when it was free. Listened to it and couldnt get into it. A month later, i was sorting my mp3's and wondered if i should delete or keep. After listening to it again, i couldn't believe how good it was. Best Radiohead Album ever. Best album with Bon Iver and Lil Carter 3 for the year.
  75. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    Song for song, likely my favorite Radiohead album: there isn't a single mediocre track on the album. I bought it when they originally offered it for whatever you wanted to pay (I believe I put in 5 pounds, something like 10-11 dollars then). This is the first Radiohead album I ever listened to (have bought all the others except Amnesiac since then) and it still continues to amaze me withSong for song, likely my favorite Radiohead album: there isn't a single mediocre track on the album. I bought it when they originally offered it for whatever you wanted to pay (I believe I put in 5 pounds, something like 10-11 dollars then). This is the first Radiohead album I ever listened to (have bought all the others except Amnesiac since then) and it still continues to amaze me with the quality of the music. It's often been described as a "lush" album, and I couldn't think of a better word. The album is an interesting counter to the cold sadness of "Kid A". I love electronic rhythms of Kid A, but it's nice to see Radiohead come full circle from the experimentation of that album to a more familiar sound that still stands apart from the rest. Expand
  76. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    It's difficult to know where to start with this album. For me it's Radiohead's finest hour. Beautiful melodies, stunning compositions and a fluidity that is unparalleled. It flows. It really does. From one track to another it brings out a sense of wonder and connectivity that you rarely find these days. I've seen Radiohead live many many times and every time I hear one of these tracks itIt's difficult to know where to start with this album. For me it's Radiohead's finest hour. Beautiful melodies, stunning compositions and a fluidity that is unparalleled. It flows. It really does. From one track to another it brings out a sense of wonder and connectivity that you rarely find these days. I've seen Radiohead live many many times and every time I hear one of these tracks it gets better and better and better. Radiohead are without doubt the greatest band of our generation and I challenge you to find better. Expand
  77. Sep 5, 2010
    7
    It's a great album, but I think Radiohead has done better. I like how it's much different from what they've done before, but I hope they go back to melting faces on the next record
  78. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    another amazing album by radiohead. this album is very diverse and has that ok computer- rock feel to it, and thats what makes it good. i cant stop listening. easily one of the best albums of the 21 century.
  79. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    a truly great album, start to finish full of atmosphere and gloom, every song reflects a deep feeling and provokes happiness, sadness or depression. great album.
  80. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    Another perfect Radiohead album. Absolutely beautiful. First listen is amazing and it improves with each subsequent one. Songs like "All I Need" and "Reckoner" especially impress, and the album doesn't have a weak spot.
  81. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    maybe its not their most revolutionery album...but its certainly their loveliest and cachiest one.
    every single track is right thing to hear.....and headphone effects just blow your mind...... in fact its just an amazing masterpiece!
  82. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    In Rainbows is Radiohead's second best album. (Kid A being first). It sounds like nothing you'll ever hear. Really smooth and soft on the ears. Thom Yorke's beautiful voice sings his most intense love songs ever. "All I Need" is a perfect example of that. All In All, Radiohead have created a great album once again. A-
  83. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    I loved this. It's my favorite Radiohead, second to OK Conputer. This is different than most music out there. I recommend this for people who like alternative and indie rock.
  84. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    Although Radiohead has developed somewhat of a reputation for being everybody's favorite (really that means everyone who is into their variety of music), this does not mean that they should be written off in any way. They produce what is quite possibly the best music I've come across to date. In Rainbows is them at their best.
  85. Feb 24, 2011
    9
    Though it has some weak tracks like Reckoner and Faust Arp, the rest of the album is very solid. Easily one of Radioheads most colorful and beautiful albums. You can feel the level of personality and warmth thom yorke and the rest of the band puts in the songs.
  86. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    Writing this in 2011 I can honestly say this is the album that best represents the 2000-09 decade. Tracks like Nude, Weird Fishes/Arpeggi, and Videotape show Radiohead at their most raw emotionally.
  87. May 7, 2011
    10
    Absolutely stunning from start to finish - there is not a dull or skippable track in my opinion. In every way this is a perfect album: I can't fault it.
  88. May 6, 2011
    9
    radiohead has no bad albums but this album is breakthrough self-released which had a pay what you want system.radiohead is a people's band true artist.this album is honestly almost perfect.not to mention way they incorporated the fans in there music.
  89. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    To all you **** giving negative scores...You really are idiots, enough said.
    One of the finest albums ever written and recorded. Highly recommended
  90. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    A beautiful, innovative mixture of rhythms, sounds, and much more. Everything flowed together best in this album than past albums. It's Radiohead's high point for me as of now. I still can not pick my favorite song, and if that happens it means the album definitely has potential... and it does!
  91. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    One of those perfect albums. Every song is memorable in some way, the lyrics are amazing, and the band plays their instruments flawlessly. Definitely the best album in the past 10 years and Radiohead's best work yet.
  92. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic album, there are two songs that I'm not quite feeling, but they're not bad songs. This is Radiohead at their best, and Radiohead at their best is Alternative Rock at its best imo. From 15 step to Weird Fishes/Arpeggi is perfection. All I need is a decent song, but night quite as good as the four before it. Faust Arp is short and sweet and wonderful. Reckoner is probablyThis is a fantastic album, there are two songs that I'm not quite feeling, but they're not bad songs. This is Radiohead at their best, and Radiohead at their best is Alternative Rock at its best imo. From 15 step to Weird Fishes/Arpeggi is perfection. All I need is a decent song, but night quite as good as the four before it. Faust Arp is short and sweet and wonderful. Reckoner is probably my second favorite song on the album after the stellar weird fishes/arpeggi and then we get House of Cards. Probably my least favorite song on the album, but still one I can never skip. The last two songs, Jigsaw Falling into place and videotape are polar opposites, but both wonderful. I can't praise this album enough. Expand
  93. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    A stunning album all the way through. Transcends any specific genre placement. In Rainbows gets better with every play and is a consistent experience without ever providing the same sound twice. As usual, Thom Yorke provides amazing and insightful lyrics. The album progresses in an entirely natural way starting with the upbeat 15 Step and closing with the surreal Videotape. A standoutA stunning album all the way through. Transcends any specific genre placement. In Rainbows gets better with every play and is a consistent experience without ever providing the same sound twice. As usual, Thom Yorke provides amazing and insightful lyrics. The album progresses in an entirely natural way starting with the upbeat 15 Step and closing with the surreal Videotape. A standout track would have to be Jigsaw Falling Into Place but because this album is strong beginning to end that choice is subject to change on a daily basis. Just a beautiful experience. Expand
  94. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Oh we all know Radiohead. Describe it however you want it wether you'd say beautiful, crazy, incredible, original, etc/ This album and this band is a masterful work of art
  95. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Radiohead was reached its maturity, making the perfect balance of synths, acoustic instruments and hard driven guitars. The feeling is so true, honest, sad, melancholic; makes me think they still leave music flow through their feelings to create what we have now in this album. This is my favorite album of the decade and a one that defined this time of my life. Thanks Radiohead for such aRadiohead was reached its maturity, making the perfect balance of synths, acoustic instruments and hard driven guitars. The feeling is so true, honest, sad, melancholic; makes me think they still leave music flow through their feelings to create what we have now in this album. This is my favorite album of the decade and a one that defined this time of my life. Thanks Radiohead for such a great album. Expand
  96. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    A fully-realized new style for Radiohead in '07 lead to one of the best albums ever made, a rich, textural paradigm appropriately composed of an emotional juxtaposition of equal parts melancholy and joyous exploration of new ideas, new feelings. Instrumentally, you can't do better and Thom's voice on this thing has literally brought me to tears.
  97. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    As for yes this is true Radiohead as always with always changing rhymes, clearer and sophomore instruments making our brain constantly searching for something. The talent of the band's members here comes to life in a strategic way to make us feel hidden pleasures, desires and wants.

    Concluding in a great Radiohead way.
  98. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    A set in stone classic in my opinion. Undoubtedly one of the albums of the 00's. 10 tracks and not a weak one to be found - Faust Arp is the only thing that is not completely sublime on it. This Radiohead's strongest work since Kid A. 15 Steps, Nude, All I Need, Reckoner are all masterpieces. Perfectly balances the best parts of old and new Radiohead, rhythmic experimentation with tunesA set in stone classic in my opinion. Undoubtedly one of the albums of the 00's. 10 tracks and not a weak one to be found - Faust Arp is the only thing that is not completely sublime on it. This Radiohead's strongest work since Kid A. 15 Steps, Nude, All I Need, Reckoner are all masterpieces. Perfectly balances the best parts of old and new Radiohead, rhythmic experimentation with tunes and melodies. Phenomenal. Expand
  99. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    There's just something about this album. Each song is unique, but somehow connect. Vastly underrated when compared with Kid A and OK Computer. Where each of these albums had amazing high points, they both had some forgettable tracks. This album has spread its genius out throughout the whole album, peaking with "Reckoner", one of the most haunting songs ever recorded.
  100. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Outstanding, as expected. Probably Radiohead's most accessible effort; definitely good to start with if you're looking to get into them.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. In Rainbows really does present Radiohead at their most full-blooded and confident.
  2. Overall, the material feels more human, more honest, more assured.
  3. Happily, In Rainbows is pretty, pretty good.